We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views views and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Views views and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Excellent rooms especially the water front suites; we could spend the whole day out on the balcony just gazing at the ocean. The breakfasts are exceptional and the service is great.
Highly recommended and we stay there as often as we can

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Bobby_000Sydney,
Thank you for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and sharing your experience. Indeed, the views are amazing from our Ocean View rooms, and there is so much atmosphere and activity on the beach and in the water that one can watch all day. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing getaway in the future.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    190
    80
    22
    10
See reviews for
84
159
31
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Better than average hotel on a very nice beach. Great location, with a bus stop outside the door (I did not want to learn to drive on the left.) Service is very good. Concierge is helpful. Gym was shut down, but the outdoor pool was open. Beds are just OK.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Misheidi,
Thank for for visiting us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach during your holiday in Australia and sharing your experience about the great location and good service. We are in the last stage of replacing all beds in the hotel to ensure our guests enjoy utmost comfort. I hope you had a great holiday Down Under.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at this Motel last weekend - 4 adults. Parking great, check in quick, nice location and wonderful view. The rooms were not to the standard I expect for the $ and reputation of Crowne Plaza. Tiny bathroom - very claustrophobic as it steamed up terribly. 4 adults got 3 towels, two glasses, 2 mugs and only enough coffee and tea for one cup each. Beds were quite uncomfortable and the pillows really need a refresh, we had to put two in the cupboard they smelt so much.
Not saying the stay wasnt enjoyable, mainly due to helpful staff - just question the value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear AngeM2381,
Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your feedback. My apologies for the missing number of amenities in the room, I will follow up with our housekeeping team to ensure our procedures are followed. All of our rooms are in the process of getting new beds at the moment. Thanks for letting me know and we hope to see you back at Crowne Plaza in the future.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a recently refreshed property. During the summer months the local area is very busy (lots of food and beach). During the winter months the town is very quiet. The staff at the Crowne are accommodating. In recent years (have stayed here MULTIPLE times) the hotel has gotten much better at representing the Crowne product. I would recommend the property.

Room Tip: Tennis court view rooms are quieter than the pool view rooms. The ocean view rooms are best. Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear ppraino,
Thank you for returning to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach recently and thanks for your loyalty over the years. We continuously work on improving our services and product and adjust to the changing needs of our guests, which is why your feedback is so important to us. We hope to see you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was on business and CBD hotels were crazy money. Hotel is nice, needs updating but great position on the beach. Cool area around the hotel for food and drinks and a great spot for a morning run. Hotel staff ar really good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear JGN1970,
Thank you for choosing us over a CBD hotel for your recent business trip to Sydney. It might be a little extra trip to get to your appointments in the city, however the benefit of being so close to the beach and being able to re-energise after a busy day is worth while it. After all, we are closer to the airport and roads are less congested in our area, so time is made up quickly.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for sharing your thoughts.
Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend - Friday to Sunday. All staff seemed to go out of their way to make us feel that we were valued guests. We arrived very early but the check-in person moved things around to get us into a room straight away. Another person happily allowed us to extend our check out time by an hour, which gave us time to sleep in and still have a swim at the beach across the road on the Sunday morning. The hotel also left a bottle of cold sparkling wine and glasses in our suite to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary, which was much appreciated and enjoyed on the balcony in the evening. The location of this hotel was perfect for us. It's right across the road from Coogee Beach, which is better than Bondi if you want room to swim without the big waves (plenty of gentle swell though). It is on the Sydney Coastal Walk route and we went South to Maroubra one day, which is an easy walk and North to South Head on the second day, which is a more challenging 28 kms return. If you don't want to walk that far, Coogee to Bondi Beach is only about 6kms. The hotel's restaurant Blue Salt has a good breakfast buffet and offers a good choice for dinner as long as you are not coeliac or needing to eat gluten free for any other reason. In saying that I was able to eat there confidently gluten free but the choices are very limited. I made good use of vouchers and the card from my priority privilege membership during this stay to halve the cost of breakfast, dinner etc. In terms of the room, the bathroom was very small and the furniture a bit tired and grubby but the balcony for our suite had a great view and only morning sun, which suits us as it means we can sit outside in the afternoon in comfort, not heat.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Travelbugsbitten,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I am glad to hear you received a warm welcome by our team, enjoyed the comfort and views from your room and had the time to explore the famous coastal walk and other attractions around the area. Thanks for sharing more insight about what to do when in the area and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future, when you are able to visit from Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel whilst visiting our son in Australia. Arrived at 9.00am and found to our surprise that our room was ready and waiting. Very clean and tidy room with complimentary tea and coffe etc. Very friendly staff at the chek in, and they suggested we join the members club as then we got free wifi and morning paper.
We were on room only as we felt the extra for breakfast was expensive and we always eat out on holidays as we like to vary where we go.
Room was cleaned every day, and tea and coffe replenished, although for some reason, we only ever had five little milk cartons, and as there was two of us it would have made sense to have six.
Enjoyed Coogee, but we did have four days of rain and there is very little to do except go into Sydney where some of the attractions are vey expensive.
Also there are some nice cafe s in Coogee where food can be purchased at a reasonable price. Two to note is the Kitchen cafe, very clean and friendly and the Crumpet cafe which does very nice thin pancakes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Jcb2310,
Thank you for your visit to Coogee and staying with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. Indeed we had a bad run with the weather a couple of weeks ago and the first taste of autumn came early. I am glad you still were able to go out and about to discover what Coogee and Sydney has to offer. Thanks for the feedback on the service and room you have enjoyed.
Kind Regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coogee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.