We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but that is where it ends” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect location but that is where it ends”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 years ago and checking in again earlier this week for a 3 night stay it was a surprise to see that the hotel really looked run down.Our room had a fabulous view right across the beach and all the way to Clovelly but that is where it ends.It has been a long time since I have stayed at a hotel and sampled such bad food - inedible,tasteless and without love.The Staff here for the most part are really friendly - with the Room Service team being a stand out.Upon check in our room was not ready so we had a bite to eat in the foyer bar and this was the best of the 8 or so meals we had over the three days - chicken caesar salad ok and the smoked salmon bagel average.I wondered over to the buffet to see what I was missing and was dumbfounded at what was being served and how badly it was being presented - glad I gave that a miss.I decided to order a Peroni on tap at the bar -" Sorry Sir we don't have that beer today" - I go back the next day and am told the same thing - when I pressed the Barman on the reason he called the cellar and attempted to get someone to change the keg !
This hotel could be great -the location right on the beach is exceptional but I just could not recommend this place in any way - it needs an overhaul from the very top !

Room Tip: avoid eating at this hotel - around the corner there are many great/affordable restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear audist
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate the feedback both positive and negative. Comments such as yours are discussed at our regular meetings. It’s clear that we didn't get it right on this occasion and I have certainly shared your feedback with the team.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and room service colleagues.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    240
    98
    26
    11
See reviews for
103
195
35
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uralla, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have stayed here quite a lot over the years and are IHG members.We booked an ocean view room,got a room with a partial(from the balcony) view and no IHG benefits such as upgrade,newspapers etc.We really like staying here but have found over the past few years that IHG membership is often ignored at IHG hotels.Perhaps it is time that IHG instructed front end staff in the aims of club membership.That being said,we enjoyed great breakfasts and the proximity to the beach and shops and IHG did apologize when we alerted them.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear 10Raindrops
Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and would welcome the opportunity to discuss further, in particular your experience with your membership. Our membership guests are our most loyal and I was disappointed to read your comments and of course would like to understand more so that we can improve for future.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location and its views. Most rooms have balconies and overlook the pacific; and most importantly, you're just minutes from the beach and the cliff walk . The rooms are clean, functional, and include a very usable desk. In fact, it's probably the best hotel desk I've had. The bathrooms are on the small side, but still adequate. The buffet breakfast was very good but on the pricey side. I probably would have gone out for breakfast, except it was included in the room rate. Finally, I kept the balcony door open and fell asleep to the sounds of crashing waves. Overall, a good experience and no complaints!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Fernando D
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our location is enviable and I’m pleased to read that you took full advantage! The coastal walk from Coogee to Bondi is a must and to hear the sounds of the ocean in the evenings is very special.
Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast and I appreciate that we are surrounded by alternatives. Our full breakfast however does include made to order items, a full selection of hot breakfast items, fruits, pastries, fresh juice and espresso coffee.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at crown plaza coogee for a few days before departing on our cruise. Found it to meet the standards you'd normally expect from a crown plaza. Only downside was that it was slightly dated and workout facilities were extremely limited.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear MKAdventures22
Thank you for posting a review and I hope you’re having a great time on your cruise. We recognize that our gym facilities need improving and are in the process of this right now.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Overall the stay was pleasant. We had a king suite with an amazing ocean view and private balcony over looking the beach and pool. The rooms are dated but kept well, though a slight patch of mould in the bathroom let it down. The cocktails were below average. Room service fast and delicious. Parking is expensive at $25 per day and no validation discount so that was and extra $75 ontop of our room rate which was $270 p/night (and tht was a big discounted rate). I'd definitely go back to coogee... But would spend my money elsewhere unless I got a really good discounted rate.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Lovemcb007
Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. It’s hard to go past the view and the amazing location and I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in Coogee. Thank you also however for your feedback regarding the room, cocktails and parking, all helpful as we continue to improve on the product and service we offer.
If you are a member of our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, keep a look out for regular great deals that we offer periodically throughout the year.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is a clean hotel at the south end of the beach, however it does not rate 4.5 stars and it certainly should not cost $300-400 per night for a basic room. The standard rooms are small, although each has a small balcony which is a good feature. The bathroom was VERY small, the shower is over a small bath tub and uses a shower curtain - something I loathe. Water pressure was really bad - it seemed to take a very long time to take a shower because there just wasn't enough water coming out of the shower head. The air conditioning was also quite poor - despite setting the thermostat to 21C the room always felt too warm and stuffy. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were like giant marshmallows; so soft in fact that they wrap around your face if you're not careful. Outside the room, the pool is again very small, and to describe the gym as tiny is being generous. While I stayed there, the treadmill was broken, making the gym next to useless for me. Food in the restaurant was very nice though, both at breakfast and lunch. And all the staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. The biggest disappointment for me was the price. At $300-400 per night, you should be getting a luxury resort experience; Crowne Plaza falls well short of that. To make things worse, WiFi will set you back another $9 for two hours, and breakfast (OMG it's not included in the price?!?) another $32 for the hot stuff. To me, this hotel is grossly overpriced for what you get. I'm not saying it's a bad hotel, just that the standard should be much higher if the room rates are any guide. I saw many other accommodation options around the same area, and I would be looking into those before staying at the Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Phil H
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry to read that the hotel didn't meet your expectations and I sincerely appreciate the constructive feedback that you have offered. Feedback such as yours is helpful so that we may improve on our product. I also appreciate the positive comments regarding the service you received and the food and beverage offering.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

In our three week, multi location stay in Australia, we only stayed in one place where we had cause for complaint. In all other places service and standards have been outstanding. Unfortunately we were very unhappy with our one night stay at the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. The following were of particular concern:

- Dressing gown cord had some undescribable filth on it
- room service meal - Mashed potato cold, mushroom sauce that was ordered, didn't arrive at all
- Room not ready on arrival, had to wait until 3pm. We arrived with two exhausted children having just come off the early flight from Noosa, and had wanted to put them down to bed straight away. Unfortunately only one of the two interconnecting rooms were ready so we would have had to sit in the dark with them. A 10% discount was offered, and accepted upon complaint to manager, but it should not have come to that.
- Refusal by concierge to wash up our baby feeding bottle, either through dishwasher or giving it to the kitchen to wash by hand, citing health and safety. When pressed, he agreed to provide washing up liquid - then left us a thimble full which was not enough for our 24 hr stay. We complained to the manager who subsequently agreed to wash up whatever we needed and also to microwave the bottles in our steriliser for us.
- Refusal to warm baby food in microwave, again citing health and safety. The food was in a plastic bowl which would have taken forever to warm by putting it in a bowl of boiling water (which is what was initially suggested). My baby was hungry and crying for food. The staff member did eventually agree when I complained strongly. I am entirely able to test the temperature before giving the food to my son and of course would take responsibility for the temperature. There seems to be no recognition of the needs of families with babies, or with small children. Another example being the in room dining kids menu, having 4 out of 5 items served with chips.
- room keys stopped working hours before our agreed late check out
- wifi in room expensive - this is outdated as in many places it is now free
- $19 to watch in room movie - again inappropriately expensive
- I rang down to ask if the outdoor pool was heated enough for a two year old (as it was in the shade and a not particularly hot day). The concierge - same one who'd refused to wash our baby bottle - said 'oh yeah it's fine, there are always little kiddies in it'. Upon trying it we found it to be absolutely freezing.

On plus side, the hotel is in a fantastic location, right on coogee beach and not far from the airport (that being the reason for our stay). Our rooms had great views of the beach. The in room dining menu for adults was very good and the food well prepared and delicious (aside from part of my meal being cold and part missing, as per above!). The beds are large and comfortable, and the bathrooms adequate, albeit outdated and a little small. The manager was very helpful when we complained.

On balance I would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone with young children.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, but go for the east end of the hotel as they have the fullest view of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear iamtigger
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. Of course we are all disappointed to read your review and agree that we could have done far better to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Each of the items that you have raised has been discussed in our recent operations meeting and the wider team have been briefed accordingly. However difficult it may be to read and see this review on our site, I still appreciate the feedback and know we will improve.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.3 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.0 mi away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
4.8 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.