We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel for a real break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Coogee
adelaide australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The hotel for a real break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel many times and every time we have enjoyed our stay. The rooms are fantastic and most of the rooms have balconies that you can see the ocean, very beautiful.

We booked the Presidential Suite, it was beautiful. I would highly recommend this if you really need a break and time to relax, enjoy and watch the ocean.

The location is also very good as you can walk a few minutes and there are restaurants on both sides of the street, you can choose any kind of food you feel like.

Depending on what time of the year you travel the prices are very reasonable.

A hotel I would stay at every time we go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask them which rooms have balconies and which rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear cyrus22
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. The Presidential Suite does offer a great space to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer. Since we only have one of this room type you do need to book ahead. Luckily though we have other rooms that over look beautiful Coogee beach (they may not be as large but certainly still have a spectactular view).
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    171
    72
    21
    10
See reviews for
78
140
27
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
krablakistan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really? In this day and age internet should be free in a hotel of this price. It's free down the road when you stand outside a cafe. Just price gouging and a reason not to stay at this hotel. Other wise it was great service from the staff. Food was good but not amazing.

Room Tip: Look at all the things you would like before selecting the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jo B
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You’ll be pleased to know that we have listened to our guest feedback and IHG has this week announced changes to internet pricing from July 2013. Elite members of IHG Rewards Club will be able to enjoy free internet and from January 2014 free for all remaining members. I hope you will be able to consider us again once these changes take place.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne plaza for the night before and the night of our wedding and found our stay to be almost perfect.

The staff at the hotel were always friendly and helpful and given all the things that we had going on around the wedding everything just flowed seamlessly from booking to checkout.

Our room was beautifully appointed and modern as well as being spotless. The views from our room were spectacular as we overlooked Coogee Beach.


It is hard to point out any flaws from my two night experience at the hotel although I would suggest their breakfast is very overpriced, especially given the number of more reasonably priced cafes down the road on the beach front.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Eastern side overlook the beach as opposed to the houses at the back, although give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear J Fairbairn
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during such a special occasion. We sincerely appreciate your comments and while we would like to be ‘perfect’, I know the team really enjoyed reading your comments.
We wish you all the very best for your future together.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel right on the beutiful Coogee Beach. Got the room on the top floor with town view. Room was clean and spacey, beds very comfortable. There is nice clean pool on the 1st floor. Bus stop to the City is right in front of the hotel.

Only thing i REALLY didnt like, is their internet connection policy. It's 2013 and wifi should be standard in the hotels of this type. Had free wifi in the hotels of the lower categories all around the world. However, coogee crown plaza is going to charge you unbelievable 29 AUD for 24 hours and what is even worse, after 200MB of traffic (!!!), speed is decreased to the stone age(broken dial-up kind) speed. I can not understand it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Save_The_Cookie
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will however acknowledge that our internet offering is not for everyone. With that in mind, IHG has recently announced that from July 2013 internet will be free for all Elite IHG Rewards members and all remaining members from January 2014. Currently, we offer 20 minutes per day free WiFi for all guests.
I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you again to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in room 109 last Thursday and was lovely.
Nice views.

The staffs were great: from the reception, conceige, and restaurant.

Hoping to be able to stay again soon with hubby.

Staff advise if ring direct can possibly request room or room type directly with them.

Coogee really pretty place and great bus services near by.

Deidre

Room Tip: As said in my earlier brief if you ring them directly and can request particular type of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Pallets21
We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. You can absolutely call us and request a particular room type or number but we will advise that its not guaranteed however will do all possible to ensure we meet your request.
We look forward to showing you more of what Coogee has to offer next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Clean tidy hotel in a good location for beach lovers. Great swimming pool. Nice bar. Did not try the restaurant. Free wifi in lobby or internet room but that was always busy. Internet in room pricey. Comfortable beds and nice balcony with a great sea view. This is a nice hotel with some friendly staff but it lacked the personal touch that a Crowne Plaza normally offers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear nitsi
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We appreciated your comments and are sorry to hear that you didn’t feel that we offered a personal touch. Please be assured that all comments are shared with our team and we will continue to work hard towards making every guests stay a great experience.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got reasonable rates as husband has a loyalty card. Got upgraded to a wonderful room on the top floor. Breakfast is very good indeed and competitively priced. We had one evening meal which was fine. Hotel lobby was a bit noisy when they had big corporate groups in.

Room Tip: 720 is a brilliant room! The higher rooms have better view. Rooms near the "inside corner&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear memsaabkali
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and we're pleased we were able to upgrade you to room 720. We are fortunate enough to be located on Coogee Beach and many rooms have spectacular views. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and dinner. We have recently introduced a two course dinner special and a seafood platter for two that you might like to consider next time you stay.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.