We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off.
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel right on the beutiful Coogee Beach. Got the room on the top floor with town view. Room was clean and spacey, beds very comfortable. There is nice clean pool on the 1st floor. Bus stop to the City is right in front of the hotel.

Only thing i REALLY didnt like, is their internet connection policy. It's 2013 and wifi should be standard in the hotels of this type. Had free wifi in the hotels of the lower categories all around the world. However, coogee crown plaza is going to charge you unbelievable 29 AUD for 24 hours and what is even worse, after 200MB of traffic (!!!), speed is decreased to the stone age(broken dial-up kind) speed. I can not understand it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Save_The_Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Save_The_Cookie
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will however acknowledge that our internet offering is not for everyone. With that in mind, IHG has recently announced that from July 2013 internet will be free for all Elite IHG Rewards members and all remaining members from January 2014. Currently, we offer 20 minutes per day free WiFi for all guests.
I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you again to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in room 109 last Thursday and was lovely.
Nice views.

The staffs were great: from the reception, conceige, and restaurant.

Hoping to be able to stay again soon with hubby.

Staff advise if ring direct can possibly request room or room type directly with them.

Coogee really pretty place and great bus services near by.

Deidre

Room Tip: As said in my earlier brief if you ring them directly and can request particular type of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallets21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Pallets21
We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. You can absolutely call us and request a particular room type or number but we will advise that its not guaranteed however will do all possible to ensure we meet your request.
We look forward to showing you more of what Coogee has to offer next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Clean tidy hotel in a good location for beach lovers. Great swimming pool. Nice bar. Did not try the restaurant. Free wifi in lobby or internet room but that was always busy. Internet in room pricey. Comfortable beds and nice balcony with a great sea view. This is a nice hotel with some friendly staff but it lacked the personal touch that a Crowne Plaza normally offers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear nitsi
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We appreciated your comments and are sorry to hear that you didn’t feel that we offered a personal touch. Please be assured that all comments are shared with our team and we will continue to work hard towards making every guests stay a great experience.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got reasonable rates as husband has a loyalty card. Got upgraded to a wonderful room on the top floor. Breakfast is very good indeed and competitively priced. We had one evening meal which was fine. Hotel lobby was a bit noisy when they had big corporate groups in.

Room Tip: 720 is a brilliant room! The higher rooms have better view. Rooms near the "inside corner&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memsaabkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear memsaabkali
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach and we're pleased we were able to upgrade you to room 720. We are fortunate enough to be located on Coogee Beach and many rooms have spectacular views. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and dinner. We have recently introduced a two course dinner special and a seafood platter for two that you might like to consider next time you stay.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice views over coogee beach. If you like the beach, then this is for you. Read the fine print about the unexpected fees that will be added to your bill. Dining experience was enhanced by ocean views.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcilrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Mcilrath
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. I’m sorry to hear that you felt charges were added to your account without your knowledge. This was unintentional and we will reconsider our signage as you enter the hotel carpark to ensure our charges are clearly posted.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fairly simple, a little tired and a bit overpriced, but hey thats Sydney. What you also get is one of the best locations for a family holiday - anywhere! The breakfasts were particularly good - except one - where a well know visiting A League soccer team took up most of the restaurant because they didn't want to sit with each other - they also took over the pool. lucky we had the beach.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgmainridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear rmgmainridge
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach for your family holiday. We do have a great location and we’re pleased to hear that you got to enjoy Coogee Beach. I appreciate your comments with regards to breakfast and acknowledge that perhaps we could make this experience better for our guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Maybe I am being a bit harsh here. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel. It is in an outstanding location and close to cafes and restaurants. I found most of the staff very friendly and helpful and hotel has some lovely views. The pool looked decent (if small) and there are some lovely views from the lobby. Bus transport is bang opposite the hotel and plenty of buses going to Circular Quay and Bondi Junction.

However, there were a few downsides. It appears that the carpets in the hallways have not been updated for years and is heavily stained and gives a grungy look to the whole place. The bathroom, while very clean has a very dated look to it and having paid over $220 per night, you would expect that the shower over the bathtub will at least have some sort of a glass screen instead of a dingy shower curtain.

As is the norm in Australia, no free wi-fi in the rooms. And they wonder why the tourists stay away. The beds felt very ‘springy’ and the pillows were the worst I have experienced in hotel rooms for a long time. The pillows provided were so soft that it hardly provided any support and we had to request firmer pillows which hardly made much difference and felt like cheap 10 dollar ones from Kmart.

The room was spacious and had plenty of sunlight streaming in and the views looking over Coogee Village was perfectly OK for us considering we were out and about for most of the day. We had requested a crib for our baby and it was provided with some sheets in it for which we were very grateful. Parking is $25 dollars a night and you have to come to expect it in an expensive city like Sydney.

In all, it is an expensive hotel which does not really provide the luxury as the daily rate may suggest. However, it is tough to top the location as it is bang in front of one of Sydney’s premier beaches. I would stay here again if I get a special online rate just for the hotel's proximity to beaches, cafés and transport.

Room Tip: If you don't want to sit inside all day and take in the views, get the cheaper 'coogee villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear orangestreet
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your honest and thoughtful feedback. The corridor carpet is indeed in need of replacement and this is scheduled to be done in April and May 2013. All guest corridor carpets will be replaced during this time. As for the bathrooms, your feedback is imperative since we are in the very early stages of upgrade planning.
Glad to hear though that you love the location. The hotel is well placed to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer. Please keep a look out for our web specials which are available at various times throughout the year.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.3 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.0 mi away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
2.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing