We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who wants to stay in Sydney CBD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Southampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Who wants to stay in Sydney CBD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have stayed in Sydney twice before in the CBD and decided to go for something different and so decided on the Crowne Plazza. We selected a Sea View Room, very glad we did as the view from the balcony was very relaxing.

We arrived at 11:00 as we had an early flight from Melbourne and thought we would just leave our bags until check in time. However the great staff on reception were able to allocate us a room and we checked in straight away.

Room clean and spacious with a bed looking straight out to sea, and a desk behind. Balcony was great with a fully opening door for easy access.

Room cleaning was great, we did go back one afternoon at around 3 and the room had not been made up. I spoke to the front desk staff and they said rooms were made up till 4:30, however they sent a maid up straight away to service the room.

We had a late flight on the last day and as we were club member (free to join) we could have the room until 2PM for no extra charge. They even provided a cost effective shuttle back to the aiprort.

We would stay again, would suggest a sea view room, would ask for one looking straight out o sea. Not sure what the rear facing rooms are like.

Did not eat in the Hotel Restaurant as many good places to eat around town Moo Burgers very good. We did have a couple of picnics in the room (there is a Fridge / Bar in the room).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. The views from our Ocean View Rooms are quite spectacular at any time of the year and it is pleasing to note, that you found the Coogee vista restful. I hope to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in the near future and suggest that next time you’re here to sample the menu at Bluesalt Restaurant - another excellent dining option in Coogee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    190
    81
    22
    10
See reviews for
84
160
31
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed there with 2 teenagers so had two rooms which we wanted colocated. they were able to arrage this no fuss. Lovely people at reception helpful anf friendly.
The rooms were top class, spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds.
Great position overlooking the beach and close to restaurants and shopping in the village.
The gym was dissapointing as there were only 2 machines working, and there is no working spa at the swimming pool, but the pool was spotlessly clean. For help at the pool, they ask you to ring 9, but no one answered despite trying for about 15 minutes...you wouldn't want to be drowning !!!!!

Overall, a high quality hotel in a nice position, would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. I was pleased to note that you were impressed with our check-in service, hotel position, guest room facilities and the general ambience of the hotel on your recent stay with us. Our gym facilities are limited so we do have a partnership with a fantastic local gym for those who wish to maximize their workout! Again thanks for this review, I hope to welcome you and your family back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

You can't beat the view and location, and the views and rooms are suburb, if you are facing the right direction. It also has a lovely pool and bar. I would not however go out of my way to eat here, when there are beautiful cafes and restaurants of much higher quality within seconds walk. Also the service was a mixed bag, most were incredibly helpful whilst one staff member seemed to go out of her way to be dismissive, whilst smiling at me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We’re very fortunate to have both wonderful views and food options within the hotel and throughout the general Coogee area and I’m pleased to read that you sampled some of the local fare. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are a family of 4 with two kids 11 and 9, and stayed for 5 nights. We are award members but booked online not using points and were pleasantly surprised to receive an free upgrade when we checked in. The staff were EXCELLENT- at reception, on the concierge, even on the phone (when I spoke to housekeeping). They were friendly and there seemed to be a genuine 'we are here to help' attitude.
Our room (for 4) overlooked the pool and had a balcony- we couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful- use the Coastal walk or a jog along the beach to burn off the calories!! Loads of fabulous restaurants in the area, the Banana Palm is one of our favourites, just around the corner from the hotel for a great BYO Vietnamese.
One small gripe was that the gyms machines seemed to be a little outdated... and one was out of order completely so that effectively there was only a bike and a treadmill to use. They definitely need replacing. We did enjoy the tennis court with the kids and of course the pool (very clean) so all was not lost.
Parking at $25 per night was a little pricey we felt- hotel guests should have that included. It adds up when that cost is tacked onto the bill.
All in all an excellent stay in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff do a great job here at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach, I’ll certainly pass on this positive feedback. I’ve noted your comments regarding the gym and parking and was delighted to read that this didn’t deter you from having an ‘excellent stay’. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My friend and I arrived about midday and were able to check in immediately. We had pre-booked and the check in staff member gave us an option to upgrade to either 'pool view' or 'ocean view', both of which had balconies, for some extra money (our booking was 'village view' with no balcony). We opted to pay $30 extra per night for pool view instead of $80 per night for ocean view - and it turned out we had a view of most of Coogee beach anyway even from the 2nd floor!
Rooms were fine in size, the bathroom a little dated but clean and functional. Beds were comfortable and noise an absoluted minimum.

Room Tip: Choose pool view and you should get a good view of the ocean anyway for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback on your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. As noted in your review we’re well positioned, located directly across the road from the beach. And, yes the pool view rooms are good value for money as they offer a wonderful view. Again thank you for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our family including two young children 6 and under stayed here just prior to Xmas for 3 nights as we were visiting family located in Bronte.

Checkin was quick and easy, and we were allocated a city view room with 2 queen beds. We booked using our award points so weren't expecting anything more. We were offered to upgrade to a ocean view for about $60 a night extra but was we were spending everyday at our relatives beachfront house we didn't see the need.

The room was a great size, well maintained with a good bathroom. Enough room for our family,
but we were only there to sleep and spent minimal time there.

We had buffet breakfast one morning which was great, a fantastic selection of food with everything well replenished.

We were surprised to find there was no valet parking offered, as we do utilize this service at all the Crownes we stay at.

There is a sectioned off area near the buffet for kids only featuring bean bags and a wii which is a wonderful idea. More hotels should do this to help parents enjoy a drink without bored children complaining too them, thank you!

It was also a surprise too see a few newborn babies and their mothers accommodated in the hotel, obviously transferred there from a nearby hospital. They in no way bothered anyone, and it was sweet to ohh and ahh over the brand new tiny babies!

Only negative was we did not get a newspaper delivered or offered a late checkout as we normally do as a Gold Priority Club member.

Yes, we did notice the flight path over the hotel when we were outside but didn't notice it or hear them whilst inside the hotel.

I did not get a chance too see the pool or use the gym as it was raining and I ran the bondi to bronte coastal walk instead!

A good hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Many thanks for this review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. It was great to read your positive comments regarding our fantastic service, breakfasts, room setup and child minding facilities at the hotel during your vacation. Thank you also for your reviewing the external flight path noise within the local area. As noted this occurs only during certain weather conditions and should not affect any guests whilst inside the hotel. Coogee is certainly in a great location, central to many things including Kingsford Smith airport. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Friendly pleasant staff. We arrived 4 hrs before check.in expecting to leave or bags and wander and were given our room straight away. Also offered late check out. Beach towels provided. We had an ocean view room which was fantastic. Coogee beach 2 mins walk and great to be able to escape the beach crowds in our room. Cocktail bar very good. Great walks along the coast and loads of eating choices in and around the hotel. Recommend the Thai massage place a few doors down. Our service overall was terrific and this is good value for money without going into the Sydney CBD which we didn't want to do. If you want a nice hotel close to the beach this is it!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay. I’m thrilled to read that everything at the hotel was terrific, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coogee
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.