We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay At Coogee Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AeA The Coogee View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AeA The Coogee View to your Saves list
AeA The Coogee View
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   56 Carr Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay At Coogee Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I booked a 3 bedroom Coogee View apartment for my family so that we could attend a wedding at Coogee Beach around 4 months ago and from reading the reviews I was a little skeptical about the place. I have to say though it was fabulous! We were in room 905 and it looked like it had been done up and we had a fabulous view of both Coogee Beach as well as "downtown Coogee". The rooms were big and we had 6 adults staying and plenty of room to move around as well. The bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows. Security was very tight. Public transport right at your front door and a 3 minute walk to cafes, restaurants and the Coogee Beach Hotel and 100 meters to the beautiful Coogee Beach. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEAManagement, Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and recommendation of our apartments at The Coogee View. They are very spacious and roomy and great for families that are in town for functions or just a lovely getaway on Coogee Beach. We look forward to having you return when you choose to come back to Coogee. With warmest regards, AEA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in a beach front 3 bedroom apartment for a girls weekend away. After looking at the AEA website, we were really excited about the luxurious looking apartment. Unfortunately the only part of the apartment that looked like the photos we had seen was the view of beautiful Coogee Beach. Everything else about it was disappointing! Carpet was extremely stained and whilst it had obviously been vacuumed, it just looked filthy because it had so many stains. The beds were clean and comfy but the bedroom furniture (bedside tables, chest of drawers etc) were very dated and worn. The bathrooms were clean but in desperate need of a revamp. The whole apartment needed reprinting. The kitchen was basic, clean but again very worn and dated. Especially the cheap lino floor-scratched, faded, stained. The television had Foxtel channels which was good, but to watch free to air channels, or a DVD you basically required a university degree in hi-fi operation!
The balcony was huge and the view spectacular. The outdoor furniture was FILTHY! We had to wipe it down with warm soapy water and cloth before we could sit on it. Overall, not what one would expect after viewing the pictures of these apartments on AEA website. And certainly not worth the money. If you can get a really discounted rate through last minute booking then it would be ok but so not book these apartments expecting luxury. They are far from it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed with family of 5 during Aug 2012.

2 BR with balcony, views of Coogee beach.

Surroundings:
Plentiful of eateries.

Heater:
Heater was not working well as apartment was left cold during winter. AEA does not operates 24/7.

TV channels:
Good but reception was poor.

Views:
Had beautiful views of Coogee Beach. Was awesome!

Parking:
Free and parking was underground.

Laundry:
Had dryer, washing machine and minimal laundry powder.

Not as gorgeous as what it seems online.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEAManagement, Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay back in 2012.
Our 2 bedroom apartments are lovely and spacious and we always offer free undercover parking for every stay. Though our housekeeping staff provide items for bathrooms and laundries, these can run out and we are always to happy to assist and replenish for you.
I am unaware of your heating issue at the time, but if reported to the office, we would have maintenance or a technician repair as soon as they could.
We hope to assist you in the future and look forward to you coming back to stay with AEA at The Coogee View apartments.
With warm regards
AEA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in a 2BR apt with huge balcony and gorgeous view. It was impeccably clean. Couches and beds were very comfortable and exactly as advertised. Bus to Sydney stops at doorstep. It is right on beautiful Coogie Beach. Kitchen is fully equipped. We loved everything about it and were very glad we chose it. We could enjoy the beach and the lovely town of Coogie, but could be in Sydney with an easy bus ride. It was awesome and worth the money !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEAManagement, Guest Relations Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Firstly, let me thank you for leaving us this review. As a brand, customer service is paramount, so your feedback is vital. Further, our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read the feedback provided by previous guests before booking their own accommodation.

We are so glad to hear how much you loved your stay with us! Thank you for pointing out how clean and comfortable our apartments are. We work together with our Housekeeping Staff to ensure our apartments are kept to a very high standard. We do also pride ourselves on supplying larger than normal apartment sizes and this includes having very large balconies, providing our guests with a true home away from home.

Our kitchen and laundries are fully equipped so thank you for pointing this out! We do boast the perfect location, north facing and right on Coogee beach. We are so glad you loved everything about your stay with us!

Please feel free to contact us direct to make your next booking and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Photos in the hotel website look great but in fact it is totally different. Hair dryer not working, the sofa got red wine spot, the wall has a big repainting mark, the outdoor furniture is so dirty that we have to clean it before we can enjoy the balcony. I have booked the deluxe room but I cannot find where is the "deluxe" at all.

Weekend is quite noisy from the nearby pub and lots of flight keep flying over our hotel at night. But the hotel does come with a great view if you have booked your room in the correct side.

Overall i will not come back to this hotel and will not recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Only book the room which facing the beach. Go somewhere else if no beach view available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEAManagement, Guest Relations Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Firstly, let me thank you for leaving us this review, as our guest feedback is the most essential part of constantly improving our business.

Thank you for pointing out our amazing views of the beach and Coogee. We do offer different types of views from different apartments and these are all described on our website.

I apologise that you had some issues with your apartment. We do work together with our Housekeeping staff to ensure all facets of the apartment are up to scratch. However, on occasion, things are missed and we do rely on our guests’ feedback to get them rectified. We have spare blow driers and furniture on site, and if our guests notify us of a problem, we are more often than not, able to rectify the problem immediately. I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I would also like to apologise that you found the apartment noisy. Coogee boasts a vibrant beach side atmosphere, a stone’s throw away from restaurants, shops and the beach. We find most of our guests enjoy being a part of this atmosphere but I do apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. We do also have double glazed windows and we usually receive feedback that our apartments do offer a nice quiet escape when needed. However, after your feedback I will notify our General Manager and we will investigate the matter further.

Please feel free to contact us directly to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Disappointed to book a "luxury apartment" as a surprise for my girls weekend away to find nothing like what the pictures showed. Towel rail in shower fell down, broken recliner that didn't close, neat and clean but absolutely nothing like the pictures. I would have gladly paid twice as much if I knew what it actually looked like

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra D, Public Relations Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Firstly, let me thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. As a brand, our focus is on customer service so we are always glad to hear what you enjoyed about your stay and areas where we might improve.

It is good to hear that you found the apartment neat and clean as we do work together with our housekeeping staff to ensure all apartments are maintained immaculately. However, I am sorry to hear you didn’t find the apartment up to the standard you expected of it. We do have a maintenance team on standby, so had you informed reception of the towel rail and recliner, we would have been able to rectify this for you immediately.

I apologise that you didn’t have an experience here that is truly indicative of our brand. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wonderful view of the beach and ocean for my family from the country! Ideally located to eateries and great walking tracks along the beach and around the coastline of the area of Coogee. The apartments were of great size and comfort and met our family's needs. Beds / Pillows comfy, Parking was tight and secure , but with competent drivers in our family this was not an issue. A few little housekeeping issues which were passed on to Management, (which by the way were excellent to deal with....thank you to Mark and your lovely receptionist who was most helpful). We would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra D, Public Relations Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi Gemma S! Our guests always tell us how helpful it is to read the feedback of past guests, so we’d like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! As a brand, our focus is on customer service, so we always like to hear what you really enjoyed and where we might improve.

Thank you for pointing out the wonderful coastal walks around Coogee, which includes the famous Coogee to Bondi walk. This is a very popular activity for guests and residents alike, so we are glad you got to experience it. You are also quite right, we are ideally located, surrounded by an abundance of places to eat, drink and socialise!

Thank you for also pointing out the uniquely large size of our apartments and letting everyone know it was comfortable for your family. You are also correct in relation to parking; we do offer secure parking to all of our guests, included in the room rate. We also offer secure visitor parking for visitors of our guests!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this feedback, we are so glad to hear you will definitely stay again and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AeA The Coogee View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AeA The Coogee View

Address: 56 Carr Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AeA The Coogee View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your AeA The Coogee View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AeA The Coogee View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.