We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy noisy noisy.buy earplugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AeA The Coogee View

Save Saved
You added AeA The Coogee View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AeA The Coogee View
56 Carr Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy noisy noisy.buy earplugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We met friends here in a 3 bedroom appt and overall had a good visit to Syd. the traffic noise was constant on level 2 so if you are not a heavy sleeper. ...WE ALL bought earplugs which were positioned near the front door of the chemist, obviously a strong seller

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGolightlySydney, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing AeA The Coogee View as your accommodation provider in Sydney for your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Your feedback is very important to us and we really appreciate you letting us know that you found the apartment you were in was a little noisy for your liking, due to traffic on Arden Street. We consider the comfort of our guests to be paramount so I would like to apologise that you felt the apartment was noisy.

However, we are glad you let us know and we will be looking into this matter further, especially for our Coogee View type apartments on the lower levels of the building, as they are the closest to Arden St, which is one of the busier streets in Coogee. We do have double glazed windows in most of our rooms and will definitely be attempting to ensure it is installed in all rooms. We want our guests to have the best stay possible, so we will be taking measures to ensure the noise is reduced to the best of our ability.

With Coogee’s vibrant beach side atmosphere it is, at times, difficult to prevent all the noise caused by beach goers and travellers alike, but we are glad that for the most part, you did enjoy your stay with us. Our apartments on the other sides of the building do face quieter streets and we would be happy to organise your next stay in one of those apartments, as an alternative. We would like to thank you again for your feedback and I can assure you we will be looking into the matter to try and provide the best possible outcome for all of our guests.

We would like to welcome you back at any time and thank you again for choosing AeA The Coogee View Beachfront Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Coogee view seemed very appealing, especially as they were described as "Executive Apartments". I booked a 2 bed room with sea view and balcony and was hoping for one of the apartments shown looking directly onto the beach. Admittedly, there was one photo of a corner view window and I presumed it was just another view from one of the front apartments.

However, all we could see from both bedrooms were what I would describe as "back alleys". The balcony attached to our apartment was in my opinion very narrow and not pleasant for the 4 people who were sharing. We didnt feel there was enough room for us all to sit round the table unless no one wanted to try to get back in through the patio door. BBQing was a challenge. The view from this balcony was of the side street and more apartments.

When I said I wasn't happy I was told (rather abruptly, I felt) there weren't any others available.

I just wish there had been more honest photos on the website.

It was clean, but could have been better equipped with kitchen utensils. There is no pool and the waves are often high at Coogee, but there is a small oceanside pool at one end of the beach. It is convenient for buses into Sydney which can take between 30 and 45 minutes, depending on the time of day and whether it is the express one. Quite a steep hill to the supermarket Woolworths, Coogee is at the bottom of 3 steep roads.

Room Tip: doubt there are any guarantees of not getting an "alley" view, and I personally would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback on your recent stay. We hope for the most part you did enjoy your stay here at The Coogee View but we apologise that you felt displeased with some things also. Your comments are very important to us and I can assure you we will be taking them into consideration.

We are very glad you were able to utilise our close proximity to buses and taxis for transport to other areas of Sydney. We are also glad you experienced the beautiful Coogee rock pools and famous Wylie’s Baths. Coogee Beach really is a wonderful place to stay and experience here in Sydney!

We have shared your feedback regarding the view from your room with our General Manager and we will ensure that it is clearer to guests which rooms they are booking and the exact view from each room is expressed. Our 2 bedroom beach view apartments are listed on our website as facing Kurrawa Avenue with beach views to the side, but in future we will make sure this is clearer to guests booking these apartments. If you prefer a more frontal view of the beautiful Coogee Beach, we would like to invite you to try one of our 3 Bedroom Beach View apartments, which are located at the front of the building with unobstructed views of the ocean!

I would like to further apologise that you were unhappy with the size of your balcony. Unfortunately, due to the structure of the building, some rooms offer a larger terrace area than others. We will always do the best we can to accommodate any requests made by our guests so please feel free to request a larger terrace when you return and we will do everything we can to accommodate you.

We apologise that you felt you were spoken to abruptly and I assure you that we do not consider this to be typical behaviour. We want all of our guests to feel welcome and special and for the most part we hope you did.

We would like to invite you back and hope to make your next stay a much better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

stayed here for 3 days in a 2 bed beach view apartment. arrived late at night, so the keys were left for me in a safe at the entrance, and we had no problems there at all with getting in to the place. the place was amazing, really big, clean, with a HUGE balcony with a great view of the beach. TV was excellent, with loads of foxtel channels. the only negatives were when next door had a shower it sounded like a pneumatic drill coming through the wall, and all the apartments bins being collected really early in the morning (well 6am is early in my books, but maybe not by aussie standards!) and the noise of the refuse truck outside the complex emptying said bins. but these negatives will not take away from a really pleasant experience. i would defo stay again and thought it was great.

Room Tip: try and get a beachside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGolightlySydney, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your time with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at AEA The Coogee View. As a brand we truly focus on customer service so we are excited to hear that you felt that we were helpful and you had no problems! We are also glad to hear that you were so pleased with your apartment. We really value all our guest feedback and it’s great to hear that you were so happy with your stay. As for the comment about the noise coming from the pipes and the garbage collectors we will take this into consideration and try to solve the problem to the best of our ability as your happiness is paramount to us. We would love to welcome you back whenever you please. Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks in this apartment with my Family. Apartment size and layout is very good. Big dinning and lounge area. The interior decor is a little old, but everything worked and the maintenance staff were good. Apartment Building is opposite coogee beach, at the southern end. Not all apartments have beach views, so make sure you book a beach view if that is what you are after.

Room Tip: Request beach view (apartments facing North East), on highest floor available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGolightlySydney, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your time with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at AEA The Coogee View. We have a huge focus on customer service so we are pleased that you were happy with our staff. It’s also great fantastic to hear that you were happy with the size and layout of the apartment and glad we could accommodate yourself and your family. Thank you for your advice, and you are correct, not all apartments have a frontal beach view. For the best beach view we recommend any of our 3 Bedroom Beach View apartments. We would love to welcome you and your family back to The Coogee View whenever you please and thank you again for your lovely comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We booked a 3 bedroom street view serviced apartment We could not have been happier. From check in to check out everything was perfect. The apartment had 3 bedrooms first with king and ensuite second with double and third with two single beds. The bedding was first class all white sheets The apartment was airconditioned and also had its own internal laundry There was a large lounge room and dinning room with a separate kitchen Even though we had gone for the cheaper option of not having a beach view we could still see the beach. Coogee is quite compared to Bondi and has lovely ocean pools and lots of eating options. A short bus drive from Central Station We were a stones throw from the beach.We could not have got anything like this on the beach in the Christmas school holidays anyway on the north coast. It was a great option

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGolightlySydney, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your time with us. We are so glad that you were happy with your stay here at The Coogee View for your 60th birthday! We have a huge focus on customer service so we are so pleased that everything was perfect during your stay, especially since it was such a special time for you. It’s also fantastic to hear that you were so happy with our room layout and bedding. We strive to ensure that our guests are happy with our amenities and are glad that you enjoyed them. There are so many wonderful activities to do in Coogee and are so happy that you had the chance to experience some of them! We would love to welcome you and your friends back to The Coogee View whenever you please (perhaps a 61st birthday?!?) and thank you again for your lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Some of the best views in Coogee and very spacious apartments. Not amazing beds or tables and chairs, but functional and roomy. Well run by the AEA group. Would recommend.

Room Tip: One with Ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGolightlySydney, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing with the Trip Advisor community your experience here with us. We are so glad that you were happy with your stay here at The Coogee View. We have a huge focus on customer service so we are pleased that you were happy with the running of our apartments and so glad that you would recommend us as a place to stay here in Coogee! We do consider the happiness of our guests paramount so would like to apologise for your displeasure at some of the furniture in your apartment. We’d like you to know that we have taken this into consideration and are currently undergoing refurbishments. We thank you very much for your comment and would like to welcome you back at any time! Hopefully on your next stay everything will be perfect for you. Thanks again for recommending us to the Trip Advisor community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very clean and spacious. Great beach views. Lounge needs updating but otherwise very clean. No milk provided which was disappointing... Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGolightlySydney, Public Relations and Social Media Manager at AeA The Coogee View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing with the Trip Advisor community your experience here at The Coogee View. We are so glad that you were happy with your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we are so glad that you found the apartments to be clean and spacious and with great beach views. We do consider the happiness of our guests paramount so would like to apologise for your displeasure at the lounge in your apartment. We’d like you to know that we have taken this into consideration and are currently undergoing refurbishments. We’d also like to apologise for the lack of milk in your apartment and will be looking into that. Next time please feel free to contact myself or anyone at reception and we will do what we can to accommodate you needs. Thank you again for sharing your stay with us and for your comment. We would like to welcome you back at any time and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AeA The Coogee View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AeA The Coogee View

Address: 56 Carr Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your AeA The Coogee View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AeA The Coogee View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.