We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Residence Chatswood to your Saves list
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Victor Street, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The apartment is spacious and gives one the feeling of living in a home. It comes complete with a kitchenette, and a utility room complete with a washing machine, a separate drier, ironing board and iron. I like its location best as Westfield Shopping Mall is almost at its doorstep, Chatswood train station just round the corner 2minutes away, and the shops along the shopping best of Victoria Avenue round the other corner. The other big shopping mall Chatswood Chase is within 15 minutes walking distance from the Sebel Residence.
I would rate the apartment complete if not for the lack of free wifi in the apartment, the very old but working washing machine and the toilet cistern that needs three flushes just to remove a piece of tissue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Sydney Harbour Bridge if you are staying over 31 Dec to enjoy the firework...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello Chris997

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback.

Glad you liked our accessible location we are spoilt, we are currently working on a WiFi plan for our apartments and hope to roll this out in the New Year.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
20
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeton
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had been told by several people that the Sebel Chatswood was the place to stay on the North Shore. As a result we booked a two bedroom apartment. First the good things. Parking was on site and was free. The location is excellent, especially if you need to do shopping as you are right in the middle of the shopping precinct. Our room had a great balcony with a 90 degree view of the city/north shore. Now the disappointing things. The room was very tired looking and needed doing up. The carpet appeared stained and the table was worn. Glasses in the kitchen were dirty and needed cleaning before we could use them. The room was very expensive and the value for money was poor. After driving all day we had a cup of coffee but there wasn't a biscuit to be seen! Even the most poor run country town motel has a bikkie to have with your cuppa!! There was no mini bar, poor room service and no bar in the lobby to enjoy a quiet drink. What annoyed me was having to pay a $100 deposit on the room on top of the room rate and having to go through the payment process twice, both at check in and check out. At check out I had to wait while the staff member argued with a guest on the phone over a late check out. Very unprofessional. Overall I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms up higher are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello LizzyLeeton

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your stay. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.

I would like to discuss this further if you have the opportunity to call me on 02 9414 1600.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you don't want to be in the Sydney CBD - or want to be on the North Shore - Chatswood is ideal, and the Sebel is in an ideal location. Right in the middle of the primary shopping precinct, with a full supermarket just over the road. And the rail station is just a 5 minutes stroll.
The suites in the Sebel are all a good size, which is to be expected when the price is a little on the high side (yet still excellent value in comparison to the CBD).

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello FletchCol

Appreciate your comments and glad you liked the location of our property, we are very spoilt having everything so close by.

Pleased you were comfortable in our spacious apartments we are fortunate with the size of our rooms.
Hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sebel Residence.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is our first visit in Australia and we are very happy we stayed in The Sebel Residence in Chatswood! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 10 nights from October 20 to 30, 2013. I can say that the security systems in place is very cool. Without a room key, you won't be able to use the lift or you won't be able to enter the main entrance door after 10 PM without a room key! The location is very good as Westfield Mall is just in front of the hotel and there's a variety of restaurants outside - best area if you are looking for Korean, Japanese and Chinese food! The Chatswood train station is also just 2 minutes away! And the reception is knowledgeable when asked about public transport to and from tourist destinations.

The room is clean and housekeeping is cleaning the room everyday, however, they only fix the bed, kitchen and replenish toiletries, they don't vacuum the room daily and they don't clean the living room (not sure if it is a norm in Aussie hotel apartments). Quite strange that there's no doorbell and peephole - maybe designed intentionally due to the security systems in place at the main hotel door and lifts - but still found it strange.

Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay in The Sebel Residence Chatswood!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello xbs 128

Very special that you selected us to stay with as your first Australian experience, pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are a very secure property and you are right you need you security access with you at all times. Good to know you enjoyed our location.

Hope we get to welcome you back to The Sebel Residence Chatswood and Australia.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rooms are large with a fully functioning kitchen, lounge room and dining table, balcony and king size bed. There is also a full size fridge, but with nothing in it. No minibar, although there is a small selection of snacks and non alcoholic beverages that can be ordered to your room. No room service option for food either, except for the small selection of snacks. Is close to Chatswood mall and Westfield and there are many restaurants, pubs and shopping close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello RoundyAU

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Good to know that you enjoyed our spacious apartments. As you could see from our location we have so many cuisines and food options available so very close by.

Appreciate your feedback and hope we get to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family stayed in a 2BR apartment at this property. An very good property, well-located, very spacious and excellent customer service from the Front Desk. Although a little dated, it was well-presented, well-equipped and very clean. Other good points include parking available, directly opposite an entrance to Westfield Shopping Centre and only a few minutes walk to Chatswood Station. A couple of minor negative points though - 1. At time of booking I was confirmed for a 2BR apartment for 4 adults and 2 children, however prior to arrival I received a phone call from the Sebel to confirm my reservation and I was then told I would have to pay extra if I wanted the sofa bed to be set-up, which I found to be contradictary to the reservation. 2. Also at time of booking, it was stated that breakfast was included and available in the cafe adjacent to the Hotel. On arrival, we were advised that breakfast was only delivered to the room (again contradictory to the reservation details), and we were advised to nominate what time we would like it delivered each morning (which we did). Breakfast arrived the first morning, but did not get delivered the second morning. We could not wait around due to other commitments, so I advised the Front Desk on check-out and they very kindly waived our parking charge to compensate for the oversight, which I felt was excellent customer service. Back on a positive note, once we got back home I realised that I had left my new blouse behind in the room. I rang the hotel and a gentleman got back to me very promptly advising the blouse had been located and he offered to have the hotel post it back to me for a small charge (which was very reasonable). Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello mrschalky

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

I take note of points raised and appreciate that your stay was overall of a positive nature. Glad our location was good for you as we are spoilt for having everything around us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sebel Residence Chatswood.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#2 of 5 in Chatswood
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Ryde
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Address: 37 Victor Street, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Residence Chatswood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.