We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility not available” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Save Saved
You added The Sebel Residence Chatswood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Victor Street, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Chatswood
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
16
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Sebel in Chatswood is a very comfortable and central apartment hotel. The rooms are clean and well kept for a reasonably older establishment. I was given a 2 bedroom apartment which was more than adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A less than 5 minute stroll to the train station and directly opposite Westfield made this an ideal place fo rmy wife to explore while I worked nearby. We had teh car there at a reasonable rate, considering rates elsewhere and they allowed us to leave it there until almost 4pm on the day of our departure at no extra cost. My wife is very happy to return so that is a plus for them, as she can be very critical sometimes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelChatswood, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Richard S

It was lovely to hear that both you and your wife enjoyed your stay.

The shops so close by can be a blessing or a sin depending on the amount of credit cards you have!!

Really pleasing to know our team looked after you thank you for acknowledging this.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Sebel Chatswood is a regular destination for our family when visiting Sydney - this must be our 15th or 20th time there. Location is perfect - opposite Westfield and a few minutes away from lots of Asian restaurants (we recommend Xiclo Vietnamese on the other side of the road behind Westfield, in particular the grilled beef or pork vermicelli). Train station is about 1 minute's walk.

Booked a 2-bedroom premium apartment (regular 2-bdrms were all taken), 22nd floor with a spectacular view to the city. Apartment was very large and clean, and although they're getting a little old now the maintenance is fine and they feel really welcoming to come back to. Good size bedrooms, excellent kitchen (crockery is showing its age too but is fine) and both bathrooms were fine. Fully airconditioned, nice quiet rooms and car parking is not too hard to access. Checkin/checkout in particular has always been nice at these apartments, the staff are noticeably friendlier than other places we frequent - it's a point of difference that makes us very inclined to stay again (so thanks!). Didn't use the pool this time - it's small but OK although a little too warm from previous visits.

The only very minor negative is since Accor took over management of the brand, the booking website is harder to use. When a Mirvac property, you were able to book type of room and more importantly bedding configuration (ie 2 x double or 1 x double and 2 x singles) online and take advantage of online rates. Now with the worldwide Accor booking engine you can't choose bedding configuration online - so I normally book over the phone to ensure we get 2 x singles in the 2nd bedroom for the kids (but it's a higher rate to book over the phone). It's a small point, but one that would be worth addressing by the complex to ensure more repeat bookings.

Still, this a a minor nitpick. The apartments are our favourite Sydney home away from home, and we look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelChatswood, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello CandN73

Thank you for your continued support by choosing stay with us. It is refreshing to know you enjoy your time with us. We will soon have a dedicated website for The Sebel Residence Chatswood you may find this more comfortable to use.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay in one of the Sebel Chatswood's 2 bedroom apartments. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and we would happily stay there again. It was the winter so we were unable to enjoy the lovely swimming pool, so look forward to returning to try it out during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelChatswood, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are refurbishing the pool area and this will be ready for summer and in time to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Address: 37 Victor Street, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Residence Chatswood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.