We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In chatswood? You need to look at this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Residence Chatswood to your Saves list
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Victor Street, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chatswood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“In chatswood? You need to look at this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

they gave me a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment
Apartment style rooms allows for much more space than a typical hotel room.
Very good view over chatswood looking towards the chatswood train station
Very convienient, bus stops and 3min walk to the chatswood train station!!

The place looks like its certainly seen a few years but everything is very well mantained.
Very good value for money too!!

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback which I have shared with the Team. Glad you enjoyed what we have to offer in the heart of Chatswood and look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    68
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
20
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I caught the train to Chatswood from the airport and was delighted to discover The Sebel was close to absolutely EVERYTHING I needed to get to during my 2 day conference at The Concourse. Everywhere I needed to go - coffee, food, conference, pub seemed to be no more than 50m away. Travelling on my own, I was concerned about safety, but with everything so easy to get to, and the buzz of Chatswood as a community, quickly made me forget about this. Outstanding service by the staff, very polite and couldn't do enough for me. I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and had views out to Sydney City. It was a little cool the weekend I stayed so that was the only downer, I didn't get to enjoy more time out on my balcony. So roomy and so clean. I have a bad back, and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Highly recommend to all. Nothing negative to say at all. Well done to Sebel!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1201. All my needs were met and then some. I didn't utilise the spa nor breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello Shelley

Thank you for your evaluation. Your comments about our team and the service they provided have been passed on. Thank you for this as it severs are good encouragement. We look forward to welcoming you back and maybe next time you will get to enjoy the spa and breakfast.

Warm regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chatswood Sebel for a 3 night business trip in the area. I have also recently stayed at the Chatswood Mantra, and the Chatswood Sebel is the much better choice.

I found the Chatswood Sebel conveniently located to both the station, central business area, shops and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was a One Bedroom apartment, which was clean and comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable, and all of the facilities worked properly. There was also a balcony to my room. The hotel was quiet, which made for a pleasant stay and restful sleep.

It's also has a cafe next door that serves an excellent breakfast.

Note that the fit out is not brand new, but this did not detract from my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello SAust

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. So happy you enjoyed your stay and found our bed comfortable. We know how busy everyone is and the importance of sleeping well. We have put a lot of detail into our beds, it is good to know you slept well.

Thank you for taking the time to express you experience we do appreciate it.

Warm regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First i was expecting to see a typical hotel room but was pleasantly surprised when i walked in. I got a room overlooking the mall beside the hotel. You can see a hockey stadium (at least thats what i think it was) at a distance. At first i thought - this is it, not bad. then i walked into the living room area (which i did not expect to see by the way). The bed is very likely the best bed i have had the privilege of sleeping in compared to all the hotels i have slept in. Sleeping was pure bliss. Overall, my experience at this hotel was entirely pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I could not use the gym unfortunately as i was on a tight schedule but i plan on visiting sydney again soon and i will definitely stay at the Sebel - With my family this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello Ponwude

Thank you for staying at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, we are so pleased you had an amazing stay. Thank you for acknowledging our team this is great for them. I am so happy you enjoyed the bed and had a lovely sleep. We have put a great deal of though into our bedding and cloud toppers so hearing you slept well was lovely.

We look forward to your next stay and meeting your family.

Warm regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Traveling by train to the theatre at Chatswood the Sebel was an easy choice. Right near the station - just a few minutes - to a spacious foyer but small reception desk - greeted efficiently - entered our room. We walked into what I thought was a good sized room with spacious bathroom (separate bath), good city vista off a nice balcony. As we left I opened a door only to find a full kitchen and a very large lounge / dining with additional large flat screen TV, stereo and DVD - comfy couch - six setting dining table and more of the lovely view.

Wow. Overkill for just one night. It was in fact a one bedroom apartment.

There is no dining room but there is a snack menu (nothing cooked) and continental breakfast can be ordered - cook your own toast - but enjoyable.

We found a good pub nearby for a drink and quick meal before our show. I think if I was going to stay for just one night I may go right into the city next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your first stay in our apartments... we feel are the best kept secret in Chatswood with our location and comfy apartments. We look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is an apartment hotel and includes the normal range of accommodation you would expect. Our apartment was a 'premium' two bedroom and consisted of twin beds in the main bedroom ( you can have a King) and a queen sized bed in the other. The main had an ensuite and there was another bathroom. The Lounge /dining was a good size with views to the city. (There are smaller two bedroom apartments for slightly less). Kitchen was reasonably well equipped and overall the Unit was spotless and very comfortable.

The location was good. It is very near Chatswood rail station and opposite Wesfield Chatswood for all your shopping needs.

Lots of asian restaurants nearby and the area really caters well for those groups.

The only downside was the airconditioning. We could not divert the air to the bedrooms. This could have been our fault but it made sleeping stuffy. You should check this out before bed!

Reception is very small and they have limited staffing ( who have to be multiskilled!) So you may have to wait to check in or out but it was not a great problem for us.

Overall, a reasonable place to stay if you dont want or dont need to be in the city. Particularly good for families. However it is not cheap and now that Accor owns it the prices are likely to stay high with few discounts and extras.

Room Tip: Premium Rooms are about $10 extra and worth it if you are staying for any length of time. Overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We really appreciate your detailed feedback, our premium apartments are particularly good for a longer stay as they offer a spacious and comfortable experience. The AC does feature a day/night setting; I apologise that this was made clear. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great apartments with plenty of room for the family to spread out. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice outdoor pool area, small but big enough, and never crowded.
So close to great shopping you can reach out and touch it....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for your kind words... we are so fortunate with our location both within the North Shore, and only a short distance to the CBD too! Pleased you have enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Sandra Crisafi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Address: 37 Victor Street, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Residence Chatswood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.