We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is GOOD and Beautiful surrounding ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Stories 1938

Shanghai Stories 1938
405-419 Victoria Ave | Shop 4 & 6 The Concourse, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
02 9412 3880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 134 Restaurants in Chatswood
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food is GOOD and Beautiful surrounding ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We learned they are now offering Cantonese style plates with a new management chef so we returned to Shanghai Stories for a try out. We ordered both Shanghai and Cantonese food, including crab, and the standard of the food has definitely improved. The crab is beautifully cooked and very fresh - the price is very reasonable. We sat on the 1st floor overlooking the concourse on a lovely sunning blue sky day - beautiful!!! The bill for our party of 7 is only $240 which is very reasonable. We will definitely come back .... for dinner!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    27
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food uncooked, poor service, overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Been here a few times now. And had a few times where my food wasn't cooked thoroughly. Please check your food before consuming it!!! My partner and I both felt sick the two times we've had to return our food. We ordered the a chilli chicken with cashew nuts one time and found out the chicken was UNCOOKED! We bit into a few more pieces in half to check and they were all pink and juicy in the middle. We returned it and they DIDNT give us a new dish. Instead they recooked the dish we returned as you could still see the chicken pieces that we bit apart on the plate. We also ordered pork and chives dumpling a different time and we realised they were uncooked halfway through. They took it back and didn't charge is for it.

The interior of the restaurant is big and comfortable however the service is really poor. No smile, staff not attentive and they just seem like they're unhappy to help/be there.

Food menu has a lot of variety so that's impressive. It is however, overpriced. $19 for steamed vegetables (broccoli and beans). $20-$25 for a normal main. And a lot more for seafood/Peking duck. Usually spend $60 minimum there for 2 people and $80 on average. Good quality is great I must say, but again, make sure it is COOKED.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Average to good dumplings if you don't mind a wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went here over Easter and it was packed, which could have accounted for the lack lustre service. The menu looks promising with a wide variety of choices at reasonable but not cheap prices. We had a selection of dumplings and duck rolls, all of which were nice but not amazing. We had half our food brought out within half hr of ordering but then had to ask for other dishes after an hr long wait. We were told 7 mins but it was more like 25 when we finally got the other part of our meal. Came to $60 for 2 adults and 2 kids but we were all still relatively hungry on leaving, mostly because of the long wait. All in all pleasant but I think that there are better choices down the main strip of chatswood now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Food and service don't match the fancy looks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the outside this place looks very fancy, I'd even say luxury. The menu has impressive pictures and the variety seems great. Prices are noticeably above average and so, keeping it all in mind I was expecting food to be a good match... It was however quite ordinary. I had Peking stir-fry pork, which was delicious but not different from any other stir-fry you could get at any Chinese / Japanese place. It was just pork in sauce, with no vegetables, no "dish" so to say. My wife had chicken which contained 10 times more eggplant than chicken (which amounted to just a few small pieces), and it was quite flat as well... Just chicken, eggplant and sauce.

Service was below average, without any involvement - just writing down order and running away. We also had to actively wave and call people to notice us, which is understandable because the place was packed, but then, it's not our problem really... It is no good sitting there for 10 minutes trying to attract attention with no success and when you do, not getting even a friendly smile in return. In addition, we had to wait for ~45 minutes for our mains...

We paid ~$70 for a pretty small and ordinary dinner, and we didn't even order drinks. I find it expensive for the food quality and quantity we got. For that money you can get entrée+main+drink at many Asian places far better than this.

Overall, not impressed...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cost effective family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The two levels has lot to offer, well presented traditional Shanghainess cuisine, seasonal dishes always bring surprises. Popular place for casual meal and family gathering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Stories 1938 also viewed

 
Chatswood, Willoughby
Chatswood, Willoughby
 

Been to Shanghai Stories 1938? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Stories 1938, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.