We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cessnock Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cessnock Motel to your Saves list
Cessnock Motel
13 Allandale Road, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cessnock
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Fantastic for a motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a wonderful motel when passing through, as we were, on our way to the Hunter Valley. Found this place by accident and so glad we did. The motel was spotless, owners were friendly, helpful and eager to please. We could park right outside our room which is great when carrying in suitcases.The bed was clean and comfy and the towels soft and thick. If passing by and in need of somewhere reasonable to stay this is the motel for you.You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
62
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Quaint little Motel on the doorstep to Hunter Valley wining and dining... Across the road from McDonalds, KFC, Oporto Chicken, 5min from main street, public transport at your door, close to local club's and pubs!

Our room was nicely furnished, modern furniture, although I still cannot work out why some Motel owners still insist on older small or bulky televison set's, crikey you can get a 42inch LCD Flat Screen TV for under $400.00 .AUD. However, our room was extremely clean and the bathroom was also new, well equipped and immaculate.

The bed was was fine and comfortable. And the curtains did an ok job to block any intruding light's from outside. Can get a little noisy at night with front to unit style parking, but for the price and just to be entertained by magical host's, Celeste and Bernd is worth it.

Summary: If you want to save money, great little place to bed down for the night!!!

Thanks Celste and Bernd

Room Tip: Closest to Celeste and Bernd Unit :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Yes! aside from the fact that the motel is conveniently located and the owner/managers very helpful and friendly, the towels were soft and fresh! Better than most 4 star accomodation that I've stayed in! The rooms were a bit crampled but have modern furnishings.
Would stay again and would recommend to people looking for a 4 star budget accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

friendly, helpful and wonderful hosts. We had a nice stay and the service provided is good.
Ben & Family

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

It is like staying over at your friends's home. Celeste and Bernd are very welcoming. We were not staying long in Hunter Valley but with their advice, suggestions and recommendations, we cover the area very well. Without their prompting, we will bv missed a good meal at Verandah. The motel is clean and tidy. Location convenient and accessible. Will recommend my friends to stay there when they visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed the week-end here. The room was smaller than I would have liked it, but very clean. Towels were changed daily, and room serviced thouroughly. No noise from traffic, even though it's on the main road. Celeste, the owner was extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was surprisingly cheap, and very nice.
Macdonalds and Opporto opposite motel, and a few minutes walk to the main shopping centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadine, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I took a senior citizen group of 32 to the H V Gardens & stayed at this motel. We had a wonderful stay, everything was spotlessly clean & very comfortable. The managers were fantastic, very friendly & attended to our every need. Would definately stay with them again whenever travelling up that way.

Room Tip: rooms at front had some traffic noise but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cessnock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cessnock Motel

Address: 13 Allandale Road, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cessnock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cessnock Motel Australia - Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cessnock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.