We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ink Cafe

Ink Cafe
109 Vincent St, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 84 Restaurants in Cessnock
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great choice for a quick, inexpensive and very tasty lunch.
We were pleasantly surprised at how good the quick bite to eat was. The service was fast, the coffee tasty and the wrap that I had was delicious, the toasted Turkish bread open sandwich my husband had was great too.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but ok place to have breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would prefer Mama's over Ink for breakfast in Cessnock. My eggs on toast were just eggs on toast. A bit dry to swallow and the below average coffee didn't help to wash it down. Just a little bit of avocado or tomatoes would have made this dish a lot better! That being said, my table partners all had the eggs benedict and really liked them.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Value Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been in Cessnock for a few of days for work. I had breakfast at the Ink Cafe the last two mornings. The food is simple and fresh. The staff are great. I turned up this morning and walked in before I realise they were not open and still getting ready but this was not a problem and they still got me my order. Flat white and eggs on toast for about $13 is heaps better value than the big resort up the road where I was staying and the same meal was $35!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The food felt so homely and rustic- it was delicious!! We were greeted straight away and as a large group, were told we could move the furniture outside in order to help us feel more comfortable. Was good value for money and I was so full afterwards. The big breakfast sure is big! I would highly recommend this restaurant to visitors of the Hunter!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had breakfast here and it was GOOD! My husband had the classic breakfast, which he really enjoyed, and I had the Eggs Benedict with bacon instead of ham. My two eggs were perfectly poached and were a 'bursty' deep orange. There was heaps of English spinach and heaps of bacon too, all on two thick slices of sourdough bread. My only complaint was that there was a little too much Hollandaise sauce ;-) Both breakfasts came to about $30.

My husband had a mug of long black coffee, which he said was super hot but good.

The only negative was that the table and chairs didn't seem to have been thoroughly wiped down -- the table was a little sticky and the chairs had crumbs etc. on them from previous occupants.

A tiny little cafe slap bang in the heart of Cessnock's main street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ink Cafe also viewed

Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Ink Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ink Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.