We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for NRMA discount” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Motor Inn

Cumberland Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cumberland Motor Inn to your Saves list
Cumberland Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 - 61 Cumberland St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Cumberland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Cessnock
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ask for NRMA discount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this motel last night as we were in the Hunter Valley for a wedding. Staff at check in were very friendly and recommended places to eat. We stayed in room 12 on the ground floor and it was very quiet. We heard no road noise at all and no noise from other rooms. The room was very big and contained a queen size bed, 2 seater lounge and a small table with two chairs. It looked as if it had been freshly painted. The room was clean but there were a few cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling but that didn't worry us. We found the bed to be quite firm and the pillows were a bit lumpy but we still slept well. There was a ceiling fan and air conditioner. The bathroom was very spacious, clean and had been lightly renovated. I would stay here again as the location was very central yet quiet. I booked on line and pre-paid but didn't realise that they offered NRMA discounts. Maybe call to get pricing and compare to that offered on line.

Room Tip: The rooms to the right of Reception may be quieter as they are away from the hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for a night only, both the location and the room impressed us. The size and facilities in the room was definitely that of a high rated hotel (not motel). The location is perfect - central yet peaceful. We could reach some of the good vineyards in 10mins or so (driving), there was a good restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our stay was really comfortable and the excellent A/C in the rooms was extremely welcome as temperatures were very high following the rally driving experience we had booked. The salt water pool was also great (although it needed a bit of a vacuum) and our 6month old twin grand daughters had a ball! The adjoining room facility was invaluable. Quiet end of town was appreciated and the bed was wonderfully firm and supporting. Great sized bathroom and shower. Furniture and decor updating will certainly enhance the stay. The friendly and helpful staff have ensured a future visit when required.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 &10 are very quiet and although a bit darker, were very useful as the sun didn't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed for a night, overall good place - central location, clean and well maintained albeit with old furnishings. Rooms are not facing the main street so it was pretty quiet.

There are plenty of places to eat around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Cumberland Motor Inn with some friends and it was really lovely. Great location, about a 10 minute drive from wineries and is just just behind the main shopping strip in Cessnock so it was very easy to go walking to Coles or to find lovely cafés. Room decor & bathroom was a little dated but everything was exceptionally clean. Service was really friendly. And best of all, it was really cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After several visits to Cessnock we came across this Motel by chance and now wouldn't stay anywhere else. Maybe a bit dated but its spotless, and even though its in the middle of town with short walk to everything you want, "Nowhere Near any Noisy Traffic".
Our room was spacious with a large bathroom and huge shower and our friends had a similar big disabled room next door all on the ground floor. Bed was firm the way we like it and the peaceful location ensures a decent nights sleep, all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This motel was a great choice for our stay in Cessnock. The hotel is very central to the town center, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. We will definitely stay here again when travelling through Cessnock.

Room Tip: Great pubs nearby for food and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
0.3 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#5 of 15 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.6 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#2 of 15 in Cessnock
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Motel
Hunter Valley Motel
#11 of 15 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Travellers Rest Motel
#8 of 15 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Motor Inn

Address: 57 - 61 Cumberland St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Cumberland)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumberland Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cumberland Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cessnock
Cessnock Comfort Inn
Cumberland Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.