We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Variety of Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian at Hunter

Indian at Hunter
13 Vincent St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325 , Australia
(02) 4991 1773
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 77 Restaurants in Cessnock
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Variety of Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Menu has a very good and interesting choice of dishes at reasonable prices. The 4 of us ordered a variety of meals all of which were excellent in flavor, however the lamb and chicken ones were very low in quantity of meat. BYO means that you can drink the wine bought earlier at the nearby Vinyards.
Easy to find location in main shopping street.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Best Option in Cessnock for Indian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Came to the Hunter Valley and was pleasantly surprised to find an Indian outlet, so despite the comments, had to try it out. The facilities are very basic and so is the decor. The service is a bit slow because everything is freshly cooked, as I asked later from the Chef, as nothing is precooked, so service does take time.
It's a bit pricey but given the location ie Cessnock, it is good value. The food is quite good, given that its freshly cooked. Would recommend Palak Paneer, Butter Nans, and the chilli prawns.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food but it's expensive & takes forever!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I miss living in the city where I can walk down the street & choose from over 30 different styles of cuisine so I was pretty excited to have Indian food again. We decided on take away as the children were tired so I went into town & ordered butter chicken, lamb korma, rice & naan bread. It wasn't a big order so I was surprised when the waitress said it would be 30 minutes. I was even more surprised when it was closer to 50 minutes!

The restaurant was empty. There was one other take away order ahead of mine (which the kitchen got wrong). The kitchen wasn't busy so there's no reason the food should take so long.

Also, the price was too high. Over $70 for what I ordered is scandalous! I think they're cashing in on the tourist element in the area but if the tourists are from a city they won't be impressed by the price either!

Anyway, we won't be back. The food was good but not worth the price or the wait!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got takeaway from Indian at Hunter. I love my food really hot and they didn't disappoint. The chicken Tikka Masala was really good, as was the Naan bread, papadums and condiments. Very tasty and well priced

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Worst Indian Restaurent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a very bad experience at this restaurent.
Service was very poor, I had ask for water 3 times and i had to wait for 20 approx to place an order.
Food was even worst, Oily food, not even near to authentic taste, worst curry taste ever.

I ordered the Coke and in glass there was flyes.
waste of money!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian at Hunter also viewed

Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Indian at Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian at Hunter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.