We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position for exploring Hunter Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock to your Saves list
Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   137 Mount View Rd, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent position for exploring Hunter Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only had one night and our first visit to the Hunter Valley Region. The park was well placed to explore the region and will return to explore more and definitely consider staying here again. The ammenties block was lovely and bright, clean and modern. Well done. Sights rather ordinary but the vines between when covered in vines could look lovely. Maybe next time we will come when the vines have leaves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed only 1 night at hunter valley before we process to our next destination which is nelson bay. Everything is just perfect! Except for the rainy weather all day long when we were at hunter valley. So we stayed in our cozy little cabin most of the time while praying the rain would be stop. Our cabin was facing a little water pond where you can saw probably 1-2 ducks swimming at some times. I just love the view of it.

This park was just lovely. The cabin are clean and big enough for a family of five. Friendly and helpful staffs too. They even have washing machine and dryer machine too. A clean and complete kitchen for a quick lunch or dinner if you decided to cook for your own. Excellent facilities. Just a short drive to all the wonderful vineyards and also the nearest town. We still managed to done our shopping at the coles! Overall, it's just a wonderful stay at the BIG4 Valley Vineyard Tourist Park. I just love hunter valley!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The park itself is in a nice area of Cessnock however the van site slabs are rather small. Great in fine weather but when it rains the water tends to lie around near the van sites and on the pathways. This place has a fabulous camp kitchen. Office staff are friendly and helpful especially if you would like a tour of the vineyards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We love this park, it is the third time we have stayed here, lovely outlook, excellent shady caravan sites, cabins are also good. close to shopping centre (drive or ride bike) and vineyards. Excellent facilities, nice staff. On-site Thai restaurant s lovely, excellent food, very reasonably priced, nice friendly staff. A previous comment said restaurant was very tired looking, who cares, food and service are more important and we give them ticks for both. We recommend this park to everyone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a wonderful park, great layout and great access to all the vineyards in the valley. We stayed a week with a pay for 5 and get 2 nights free, what a bargain. Friendly staff and good facilities, with the camp kitchen being a great place to meet. It even boasts a pizza oven and large open fire place. The adjoining Thai restaurant was great. Food fresh, bit squeezy with the table settings but who cares if you are having fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We used this as a base for Hunter Valley Marathon events and for exploring some of the vineyards in the area. We were in a Mount View Cabin which was adequate space for a couple and with a kitchen that had all the necessaries.We found the cabin very cold overnight (in July) and a few extra blankets would have helped warm us up at night!
If you are on a budget and looking for reasonable place in which you can cater for yourself then give this place some consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and found the Park to offer all that we needed to be a comfortable base to explore the hunter valley. The cottage was a little old and the living area a little small but was very clean, pleasant and quiet. The master bedroom was of a good size and living area had good large plasma TV. The grounds were well kept and attractive with grape vines actually forming some of the borders in the Park which kept well with the vineyard and Hunter theme. If you have a car very close to all essentials and also major vineyards not far away. Had dinner at the Park's Thai restaurant which was very good. Prices were reasonable, staff friendly, food great and portions very generous. Don't be deceived into forming a judgment about the restaurant simply because it is in a caravan park as it is a great restaurant in its own right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock

Address: 137 Mount View Rd, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday at your leisure in the idyllic Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia with fine wine, superb restaurants, affordable accommodation and great entertainment. There is so much, to see and do in the Hunter Valley Wine Country when you stay at Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock. Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock's central location provides you with the perfect base to explore the vineyards, cheese factories, chocolate shops, galleries, Hunter Valley Gardens, restaurants, historical villages of Wollombi and Morpeth and much more. Our self contained villas, cottages and cabins are ideal for your stay. We also have ensuite powered sites and drive through sites available for caravans and tents. Pet friendly sites too. We look forward to welcoming you to Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock and all the Hunter Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock Australia - Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Active Holidays BIG4 Cessnock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.