We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a bit weird” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Bankstown International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Bankstown International to your Saves list
Breakfree Bankstown International
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Chapel Road, Bankstown, New South Wales 2200, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bankstown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is a bit weird”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not my worst experience but it felt weird. We had a two bedroom unit in the adjacent block of mixed break free / residential / restaurant. It was basic and not the cleanest. The fridge was loud, we turned it off, it defrosted and left a puddle. The room had plenty of space, did the job while I was travelling for work with the family in tow. It was fairly good value. Overall this place is a bit tired and needs some love.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    26
    18
    14
See reviews for
23
14
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am currently on a bit of a long term stay at this hotel for business purpose. Spending so much time away from home means I expect a place I can come to that feels like, if not better, than home.

Upon arrival, I received mediocre service from the man at reception, as well as a lack of offered help with baggage, etc.

I get into my room, and see that it's looks poorly maintained. Bathroom was not very well cleaned and floor needed a vacuum. Some of the TVs also have very poor reception and show a lot of static.

I decide to tour around the place. And I end up at the laundry facilities... Not a clean room at all, but they seem to be okay. And nearby is the pool and gym. Well! That pool that I saw online and in the brochure looks NOTHING like what I saw in real life. Extremely unclean, murky water... I couldn't see the bottom of the pool! I wouldn't even let my dog swim in that. Then I come to the gym.. 4 pieces of equipment in a disgustingly unventilated room which absolutely stunk like I fell into a bag of gym socks and sweaty shirts.

My team and I (who travel for work together) decided to have dinner in the hotel's acclaimed "Cocktail Bar and Restaurant", which is hugely stated on their sign out the front at street view. And much to our disappointment, there was no cocktails! They infact don't sell them anymore... And haven't, for months. We also drank their last 3 beers, and their last bulmers cider... Our waiter was uninformed about the menu and didn't seem enthusiastic about his job. Then after a 30 minute wait for our average dinner, and being the only people in there, a hair was found in a colleagues meal. When pointed out to the waiter, the waiter simply took the hair and claimed that it didn't belong to their "chef".

Another colleague was also electrocuted by the hair dryer that is provided in the room. Nothing was done about the dryer until a formal complaint was made to the Mantra Group. I must admit, their haste to rectify that situation was probably the only stand out thing about this place. It's only such a shame that it wasn't looked at so seriously when the customer told them herself.

Regardless, I appreciate the bed to sleep in and the fresh towels everyday... But I would not return to stay here again. Highly disappointed and embarrassed that my team had to leave their creature comforts for this.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin O, General Manager at Breakfree Bankstown International, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

We have already corresponded regarding the issues raised and these have been rectified. The hairdryer has been replaced and the pool which when you saw it did was being doused with chlorine and had a murky residue but this has since cleared and the pool, as before, is certainly usable.

I have spoken to the F&B staff regrading the lack of beer and the food and have addressed these issues also.

I sincerely apologise that the experience you have had thus far is not in keeping with our usual high standards, i hope you will enjoy the remainder of your stay with us and should you have have any other issues you can speak to me directly.

Regards
Fahad Hayat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Conveniently located within a short walk of shopping centres with buses stopping right out front. The reception staff were most welcoming and helpful, especially Antonio (hope I got his name right). Lovely foyer, room very nice although the switch for the bedside lights didn't work, neither did the clock. Had a beautiful bath with perfectly hot water. Bed was very hard, but, despite being on a busy road, the room was very silent and I slept well. Breakfast was satisfactory, no complaints, but nothing to write home about. Unfortunately room service ends at 9pm which didn't work for my schedule, so I was stuck with Maccas. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin O, Manager at Breakfree Bankstown International, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your feedback to Antonio who was delighted to hear you enjoyed his service.

I have had Maintenance rectify the problem with the clock and bedside light, my apologies for this.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had 1 queen size bed with my daughter for 2 nights $350
Anthony at the front desk was very nice. Restaurant closes early Breakfast was toast pastries ham sausage eggs potatoes cereal fruit yogurt juice of several kind coffee and tea for $15
WIFI didnt work the hotel goes up to 2nd floor but the elevator didn't work so, I had to carry my bag up the stairs. The teacups where not cleaned also the bathtub NEEDs improvement for the housekeeping But if you don't mind for few days its OK
To Sydney downtown is 45 min to International Airport by taxi was about $50 30 min at 6 AM
10 min walk from banks town station Supermarket across the street Shopping mall with food court in walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our apartment was huge for two people with an exceptionally large balcony. We had a few problems with access to the basement car park but other than that no problems. I'd certainly go back if I needed to be in this part of Sydney again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment ($375 for 2 nights) which is in the building next door to the main complex - which seemed to be residential units turned to holiday accommodation. Kitchen and bathroom (shower was great) have been renovated, though no effort has been made to the rest of the apartment. Apartment has no carpet so was really cold and had only one air con unit in the living room. Furniture and furnishings old and dated. Location was okay with free parking available. If you are looking for a basic place to sleep/bathe etc. then it's okay, but it's not an apartment which you would enjoy lounging around in. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment and my friends had an executive room in the hotel next door. The entrance to the apartments, elevators and corridors are musty and dirty. The apartment however was spacious, comfortable and everything we used was in working order. As per previous reports, housekeeping needs to improve here, there were hairs in the bath, glassware in cupboard was not very clean and some dirty old piece of material on our balcony which overlooked the trash area and building next door. The shower in this apartment was one one of the best ever but our friends next door in the hotel said they had no water pressure and that was because our shower had it all. Beds were comfortable but not enough blankets or doonas. Breakfast in the hotel was reasonable with a good selection and friendly staff, reception staff were okay. The executive room was small but comfortable. Overall it is Bankstown and for what we paid for the night was okay. Would I stay again, not if I didn't have to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin O, Manager at Breakfree Bankstown International, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Tezza1965

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Housekeeping Manager & Maintenance will certainly address the issues reported in your review. This is not the standard we are working to archieve and I apologise for any disappointment you have experienced during your stay. We are happy to hear that you are happy with the breakfast selections and found the staffs to be friendly.
Once again my apologies for your less than ideal stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Breakfree Bankstown again soon.

Regards
Godwin Oparah
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bankstown
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bankstown Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rydges Bankstown
Rydges Bankstown
#2 of 2 in Bass Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Enfield
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
6.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta
4.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Bankstown International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Bankstown International

Address: 477 Chapel Road, Bankstown, New South Wales 2200, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bankstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bankstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Bankstown International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney's fastest growing industrial and business precinct, BreakFree Bankstown International is ideally suited to the corporate and conference traveler, but also caters for the leisure traveller who is looking for quality accommodation in Bankstown. BreakFree Bankstown International offers hotel style accommodation in our Executive Room, Deluxe Queen Room or Discovery Queen Suite. For those after more space, we offer 2 Bedroom Apartments located next door to the hotel. All room features include a full size bath and shower, cable TV, ISD/STD telephones, desk/work area, individually controlled air-conditioning, and hair dryer, iron & ironing board. The 2 Bedroom Apartments also offer guests a fully equipped kitchen with microwave and stove, and a living and dining area with a balcony. Guests can enjoy a host of facilities that include a heated swimming pool, spa and gym, undercover car parking and dining facilities located onsite at the hotel. (During low occupancy periods, the restaurant and bar may not be open. Please ring the hotel after booking to enquire about restaurant opening hours.) For our corporate guests, BreakFree Bankstown International offers three well-equipped conference rooms that can accommodate up to 130 delegates. When staying at this hotel, you are within close proximity to a range of local attractions such as the Olympic Stadium at Homebush, State Sports Centre and Dunc Gray Velodrome. Bankstown's most picturesque tourist attraction, the Bankstown City Gardens, are also just a short walk away as are many other natural parklands and community parks for those that enjoy a morning or early evening stroll. Shoppers will relish the chance to visit Centro Bankstown, Compass Centre, Bankstown Plaza, Bass Hill Plaza and Chullora Market Place. So whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, BreakFree Bankstown International is the perfect choice for your next South West, Sydney escape. Any charges incurred during your stay and paid for using a credit card will incur a 2% surcharge. Cash and EFTPOS payments do not incur the surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Breakfree Bankstown International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Hotel Bankstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Bankstown International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.