We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The warmest of welcome to the cleanest rooms in a beautiful setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset House Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Somerset House Farm to your Saves list
Somerset House Farm
Ingleby Cross, Ingleby Arncliffe, Northallerton DL6 3JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The warmest of welcome to the cleanest rooms in a beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We travel all over the country staying in all manor of accommodation and this was our second time staying here in 8 weeks. I was genuinely looking forward to returning. Ashley takes immense pride in providing top notch well equipped rooms that are immaculately turned out. The welcome is warm and your comfort and well being is the number one priority.
The Helicopter landing site is one of my favourites to land at too.
Be seeing you next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Absolute fantastic review, thank you :o)
Loving the fact we are becoming a heliport lol, Thank you again and see you soon :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    17
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
71
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here with friends during August 2012 and it was a really nice place to stay, very clean, friendly staff and not to expensive. The owner even gave us a lift down to the local pub, which was really nice of him after our long days walk. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to leave a good review, it's very much appreciated and really pleased you enjoyed your stay :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not sure about all the glowing reports, we thought this was pretty ordinary. Breakfast was less than ordinary, no yoghurt, orange juice the reconstituted type no alternative juices. Room was quite nice and for a b&b a reasonable size. Other people that stayed here that we met on the track agreed with us. Did not enjoy the traffic at 5.00 am onwards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Another fabulous review from Australia, lol. I suspect I know who's hidden behind their computer and left this so it's not worth being derogatory in my response. The other reviews speak for themselves :o) Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed with Ashley and Andy for a week whilst attending a course locally.
Hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Accommodation was in the barn conversion and breakfast was taken in the main house can't fault either. Ashley and Andy both go above and beyond the call of duty. The setting is lovely and peaceful (didn't hear the traffic that other reviewers complained about). I would not hesitate to stay again next time i'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you Daniel, we really appreciate the review.
It was a pleasure and we would look forward to seeing again if your over this way, cheers :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our host Andy was helpful throughout. We were made to feel welcome and a great breakfast set us for a day of exploring the surrounding areas. Rooms were modern, comfortable and ideal for what we required. Would recommend and go back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time & effort to leave us a review. I must have had a day off lol, but Andy is as keen as I am to make all our guests stay as comfortable as possible, thank you :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here in the middle of the floods of September 2012. Ashley & Andy could not have been more welcoming & helpful. Hot baths, hot radiators and the use of their tumble dryer, once we got into the house. If you arrive early as we did, the bothy is available, where you can dry off, make a cups of tea/coffee and relax in the sitting room. Also, Ashley gave us a lift to the local pub for our evening meal. Great place, great guys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Cracking review thank you. Lets hope we have a summer next year or it may become know as the canoe to coast walk, :o) best wishes Ashley x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well. What a place. My mum stayed here while visiting in September. As she is not interneted up she asked me to leave a review for her. She adored the place. Andy and Ashley couldn't have been better hosts. They even offered to give her lifts around the area when convenient. I was lucky enough to join my mum for breakfast on the Saturday. I must say it was truly delicious. The Annex room she had was very quiet considering its proximity to the A19 and if you can please my mum with cleanliness and hygiene you've cracked it (she's one of them that checks above picture frames for dust). Thanks Lads. By making her life easier you made my life easier :) Will recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all my friends from now on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Fantastic ! Thank you very much for your kind words, they really are appreciated. Please tell your mum so too, and we look forward to welcoming her back soon, she was a star. Your also welcome to join her for breakfast again :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Farm

Address: Ingleby Cross, Ingleby Arncliffe, Northallerton DL6 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Ingleby Arncliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleby Arncliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Walkers rest". A warm welcome awaits you at our converted 200 year old farmhouse. All our en-suite rooms are clean and contemporary yet in a traditional setting with a fabulous mix of old and new. Our fully licensed bar is the perfect place to relax, play pool or simply have a pint after your walk, you know you deserve one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Somerset House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.