We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Encore Dandenong

Ramada Encore Dandenong
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Dandenong to your Saves list
Ramada Encore Dandenong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 - 52 McCrae St, Dandenong, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We recently were in Dandenong for a basketball carnival and spent 3 nights at the Ramada Encore and were very pleased. The staff were very friendly and professional towards us and our teams. The rooms were clean, the showers were hot, the beds were comfortable and hotel was conveniently located across from a shopping centre. My only gripe, and it's just a trivial one, would be the size of the fridge in the rooms was too small!

We will definately stay there again when next in Dandenong

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
12
19
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

There are two good places to stay in Dandenong. Here and the Quest. I have stayed here a few times and the rooms are clean and modern, although a little small. Secure parkign and free internet is a bonus

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I stayed here as I had a meeting in Dandenong - perfect location for this as it is in the centre of town next to a shopping centre/supermarkets nearby. The parking is very large and secure. Check in was friendly and quick. The room itself was clean and new - nothing luxurious, but comfortable with a LCD TV, tea/coffee, a small fridge (so noisy I turned it off) and good lighting. The internet is free which is unusual in Australia. The bathroom had a nice glass design with an unusual bowl made out if moulded glass. Good water pressure. Breakfast was included in the rate - when I booked it said continental breakfast, but there were eggs, bacon, hash browns, mushrooms as well as cereal, fruit and bread. My only issue was on checkout - the rate I had booked was pre-paid, but on checkout they tried to charge me. Luckily I had a copy of the print out from the website so had to show this to the manager. Then I had joined the Ramada guest program, but they had no idea what it was and said they did not participate... Very odd as I quoted the number in the booking process on their own website. The staff member at checkout got all flustered and confused... Pity as if this hadn't happened I would have given a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyAT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel has some problems. The worst is that the drain in the shower has no trap, so the bathroom smells like moldy sewer.

There are also some odd aspects to the hotel design: clock radio is on desk across the room from the bed (no snooze alarm for the guest); no place for towels when one is in shower; only a tiny shelf in shower for toiletries. No closet; two hooks holding three hangers each. (OK if you are not on a long business trip so you don't have much to hang up.) Very short Ethernet cord -- hardly reaches from wall to laptop.

The service was disappointing in the following ways: I had three travel-size bars of specialty soap with me. The first one ended up in the shower across the room from where I left it on the counter. (There is no soap dish.) Apparently the cleaning person did this, for some reason. The second bar of soap disappeared on the third day. I took to posting a note by the third bar, so it, too, did not disappear or get destroyed. On some days, it seemed that debris on the bathroom floor was merely swept under the counter. The corners of the bathroom looked like the place needed a good deep cleaning. (The hotel is only four-years old, I am told.)

The room also had some of the features of less-desirable hotels: uncomfortable pillows, uneven cooling system.

Sadly, this may be the nicest hotel in Dandenong. There is a new Chifley at Doveton Road about five minutes away. I haven't stayed there but did work with clients there, and I found the service for the meeting space to be excellent. If I need to stay in/near Dandenong again, I'll check out the Chifley.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed for leisure a basketball tournament locally. Clean hotel, with breakfast included . Staff were friendly and helpful, however on checkin the family room we had booked was not available, they upgraded me to 2 rooms, not located next to each other, this was then changed to 2 queen rooms one smoking room and one non smoking room next to each other without interconnecting doors. Great if I had teenage kids but they are 10 and 7 and did not want to sleep in their own room, nor was I impressed about allowing them, there were no roll away beds available so we ended up with one kid in bed with me and one on the floor in a makeshift bed out of extra quilts, no compensation offered, free internet access and mall accross the road, but overall I was disappointed with the stay. I know they were busy this time of year but I had a long term booking and would have made alternative arrangements if I had known they couldnt offer what was booked.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

OK - was not my no.1 choice of location, though with easy access down to Phillip Island, and then up in the Dandenongs, also being 40mins from the city centre by train, the practicalities of this hotel were superb! I stayed for 3 nights over Jan - though the hotel offered conference facilities, it was not busy, as high season.

Stayed here with family for very cheap price. After an initial problem with 1 room, we were switched to another, but the hotel is modern (about 4yrs old), and feeling of space when walking around. Rooms are modest, have the essentials, and have the benefit of great bathroom facilities, FREE high speed internet (wired), and yes - they included the cable. Had a room with double and a single, so a bit limited on space. LCD tv more than adequate with Fox Sports, Nickelodeon (good for the kids), National Geo and the standard free to air channels.

Breakfast was included (and a good spread of fruit, yoghurt, cereals as well as hot food), in the price - indeed was the cheapest night of a 4week stay in Australia, though had great extras! Parking was secure in a locked garage above street level, so was safe there too. Hotel opposite shopping centre and local cinema.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed here for 1 week during April 2009 - stayed in a 'courtyard' room - definately liked the extra space as the rooms are reasonably small. Definately need more desk space if you are staying for business as their LCD TV's take up pretty much the entire 'desk'.

Room service and onsite restaurant available for breakfast and dinner - food was very good. Undercover parking a plus along with large shopping centre and cinema complex across the road.

Staff were excellent. Rooms are very spartan but I love the complimentary slippers - keeps the noise down on the wooden floors I'm guessing.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Encore Dandenong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Dandenong

Address: 50 - 52 McCrae St, Dandenong, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Dandenong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Encore Dandenong 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Encore Dandenong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dandenong
Dandenong Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Encore Dandenong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.