We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Dandenong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Dandenong to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Dandenong
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 - 193 Princes Highway | Cnr. Edgewood Road, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night as it was close to a business meeting the following morning and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the experience.

The rooms are certainly small and very basic but the hotel doesn't pretend to anything more than a budget hotel and it was fantastic value at $75. I was impressed by the cleanliness and slept extremely well in the bed.

The hotel is situated on the main road with not much around but it is an easy drive in to Dandenong. An earlier review spoke about the grouping of long-term residents at the entrance and I have to admit that I was initially put off by this on arrival. However, it is all harmless and I there was no noise at all in the evening.

The reception staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for your review regarding our budget hotel and also many thanks for describing the hotel and service exactly as it is.We are a budget hotel with clean comfortable rooms .Being a budget hotel we do cater for a lot of groups throughout the year.I am glad that you found our long term guests to be harmless.Though our reception closes at 10pm we are onsite all the time to make sure you get a good nights sleep.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    20
    17
    9
See reviews for
15
24
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

very good friendly service very helpfull with close attractions close to dandenong shopping center that has all you need train into town and bus services hotel has heaps of free parking clean tidy rooms i highly reccomend the breakfast overall a very good value for money hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Brendon
We delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our budget hotel.We very much enjoyed having both of you here.Hope you enjoyed all the races around Australia.Looking forward to see you at the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I needed a good clean secure place to stay whilst visiting my daughter who is studying at Monash, Clayton. For the price of A$75 that the hotel charges, u really can;t do better, unless u want to stay in a motel, which is a far cry from the cleanliness n security I enjoyed at Formule 1. It's a great cheap place to stay the night if u are exploring the Dandenong area, but u definitely need a car.
The room is not large at all but with a double decker bed, u can sleep 3 pax. There is no wardrobe, no handtowels or washcloths, bath gels etc. No room phone either. There is a communal fridge n micro wave oven in the lobby area but that din bother me. In other words, no fancy frills. But that din bother me. I enjoyed the great value for money accomodation n simply bot whatever neccessities I needed. There was airconditioning n heating, TV n with the larger part of the day spent out, it was just what I wanted. I WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK !!
PS: the rooms are cleaned only every 4th day but towels are changed everyday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for submitting a review regarding our hotel.

We were thrilled to read that you found our property to be "Great value for money", clean and safe.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Would not stay here again. A lot of permanent residents that made me feel uncomfortable as they gathered and cooked their meals (using microwave) right in foyer entrance. They need a separate kitchen area for the perm residents I feel. Was glad my husband was with me as I would of felt unsafe as a woman on her own. Very much like staying in housing commission flat. The location was convenient to both our works for a business function we needed to attend - the only reason we booked here and seemed cheap, though after staying here, we now think $75 for midweek stay was way over the top for what we experienced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel.

I will be forwarding your remarks to the Hotel Management for review, it is our utmost priority for all of our guests to feel safe during their stay.

We offer a communal kitchen as an added service and convenience to all of our guests and we endeavor this to be a benefit to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel room small and clean (except the bed linen was a bit marked/stained but it was definitely clean and washed) and for $80 a night everything was to be expected. There was a tv, shower, toilet, sink, airconditiong, desk and beds. Everything was in perfect working order. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Traveller
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Formule 1 Dandenong. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Kusum Raj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Dandenong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Dandenong

Address: 185 - 193 Princes Highway | Cnr. Edgewood Road, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Dandenong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Princes Highway, 1km from the centre of Dandenong,local shops,restaurants and train station.Clean and cosy rooms,featuring television,air-conditioning,clock radio and a private en-suite bathroom.Slide into supercomfy bedding and enjoy a happy sleep without breaking your budget!Queen room,Queen/Bunk room and Twin room.Disabled access rooms also available.At ibis budget,you can come and go as you like around the clock.For your convenience, an arrival kiosk is located at the front of the hotel to check-in or access a room after hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Dandenong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Dandenong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.