We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Smiles and Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Dandenong

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Dandenong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Budget Dandenong
185 - 193 Princes Highway | Cnr. Edgewood Road, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Dandenong
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    11
    14
    8
See reviews for
10
20
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Would not stay here again. A lot of permanent residents that made me feel uncomfortable as they gathered and cooked their meals (using microwave) right in foyer entrance. They need a separate kitchen area for the perm residents I feel. Was glad my husband was with me as I would of felt unsafe as a woman on her own. Very much like staying in housing commission flat. The location was convenient to both our works for a business function we needed to attend - the only reason we booked here and seemed cheap, though after staying here, we now think $75 for midweek stay was way over the top for what we experienced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel.

I will be forwarding your remarks to the Hotel Management for review, it is our utmost priority for all of our guests to feel safe during their stay.

We offer a communal kitchen as an added service and convenience to all of our guests and we endeavor this to be a benefit to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel room small and clean (except the bed linen was a bit marked/stained but it was definitely clean and washed) and for $80 a night everything was to be expected. There was a tv, shower, toilet, sink, airconditiong, desk and beds. Everything was in perfect working order. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Traveller
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Formule 1 Dandenong. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Kusum Raj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My expectations of F1 are not five star but on this stay there were a number of areas where the standard was unacceptable.
The first room we were given had not been cleaned.
We had 3 of us in the room and every day they left 2 towels. so we had to go ask for another.
On the upside the staff that were on were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Traveler
Our apologies for the housekeeping errors.
Though our rooms accommodate for 3 persons, linen is only provided for 2 persons.Please let us know the correct number of guests that will be staying.
Our reception staff are friendly and very helpful.They are always happy to assist you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

no fridge ,when you showered toilet evrything got wet cubicle to small if you were a big person you wouldnt fit in there,no kettle you had to buy coffe from vendor machine you had to buy three cups just to make two cups as the machines didnt fill them properly and the tvs well they were as old as me and im 48 yrs old wont recommend at all

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam
Please accept our sincere apology regarding facilities in our rooms.Our rooms are not advertised to have fridges,kettles or microwave.These are communal and located on ground level.
We suggest you view a room before making a reservation.
At Formule 1 we offer clean comfortable BUDGET accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Might as well stay in a backpacker hotel for the price..... Very very basic and feels less than a value stay. It was situated in the middle of knowhere and had to drive 5 - 10 minutes to find somewhere to eat.............................I wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Traveler
We are a budget hotel located less than 5 mins drive or a 20min walk from the city of Dandenong.The Dandenong Plaza and Market offers great shopping experience.Being a very multicultural suburb you will find numerous restaurants and eating places to suit your taste.
Please do not mistake us for backpackers,we are a budget hotel offering clean comfortable accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Dandenong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Dandenong

Address: 185 - 193 Princes Highway | Cnr. Edgewood Road, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Princes Highway, 1km from the centre of Dandenong,local shops,restaurants and train station.Clean and cosy rooms,featuring television,air-conditioning,clock radio and a private en-suite bathroom.Slide into supercomfy bedding and enjoy a happy sleep without breaking your budget!Queen room,Queen/Bunk room and Twin room.Disabled access rooms also available.At ibis budget,you can come and go as you like around the clock.For your convenience, an arrival kiosk is located at the front of the hotel to check-in or access a room after hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Budget Dandenong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Dandenong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.