We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coaster Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Coaster Motel to your Saves list
West Coaster Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This motel has to be the best in Queenstown, and after arriving home, one of the best in rural Tasmania. Beautifully clean, well appointed with very usable amenities, quiet with undercover parking, and close to everything.
The pizza served to room was top class, delivered with a smile and like the restaurant (we had breakfast there) was very good value for money, no pre-packaged here..
Great value for money in a very charming old mining town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our Motel (and town!) and thank you for taking the time to give us this review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
24
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed in Queenstown many times and at this hotel but since it has changed ownership we have found many things changing and not for the better,after traveling many hours to get to Queenstown for work purposes we found we couldn't access reception until 2pm "hotel not open" when in our room a chainsaw worked outside our window for hours and after 6pm and other noisy equipment being used.
No restaurant open again, facilities at the hotel not in use, if you liked toast, jam and very bad coffee for $15.00 pp you were set or pizza only as room service.
The hotel front manager is always offish and bordering on rude its the last time for me I have found equal if not better accommodation within Queenstown and much friendlier reception.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level less traffic noise but stairs a problem and narrow if you have lots of bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are sorry you have found your second visit to our Motel unsatisfactory. As a family run and owned Motel with limited staff in a particularly tough time in the tourism market we must assure our guests we try to do our best at all time are it is unfortunate this site seems to be easier for guests to comment on than to come to us directly. Firstly reception was open at 1.30pm for this one day, as our normal check-in time is always from 2pm, and the arrival time for our only 2 guests that day was 2pm and 5pm as stated on thier paperwork. It was a Saturday, and yes, we had tree fellers here as they were all week, on council land and orders at the back of the Motel removing dangerous, large trees that were a hazard to our rooms and potential guests. We would much rather had this done than a tree fall through our building. We were informed by these guests that they were attending a function for dinner which is why we chose to close the restaurant and just offer pizzas for the night. We hope your next stay in Queenstown is more to your liking and we hope in future our guests will address their issues when they arrise with us in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a first floor room and found the stairs hard going with luggage. The room was large and clean but dated with only tea making facilities. Plenty of off street parking. We had a good sleep for the price. Close to town. We had trouble filling the kettle from the sink in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay at the West Coaster Motel and appreciate your positive review. Yes, our first floor rooms do have a flight of stairs to them which is why they are at lower price than our ground floor rooms and find travellers appreciate the lower cost and usualy don't mind the stairs. Assistance is also available with luggage if required. We are pleased to know that you found your room spacious and clean although all our rooms have tea AND coffee making facilities with milk daily and complimentary biscuits as well a a well stocked mini bar. Pizza and room service is also available most nights. As stated before, Queenstown is a historic mining town and it would be difficult to find a modern hotel in the town! We continue to update and refresh our rooms and are making progress to make all rooms as comfortable as posssible. Thanks again for you review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been staying here for years and have always been impressed with the constant improvements. it is still the only place to stay in queenstown as it delivers every time.
it is managed by a husband and wife team who are enthusiastic( how rare is that !) experienced and friendly.

while the place isnt a modern glass and steel resort. Queenstown isnt a resort town either. The rooms are clean, staff happy, food tasty, and most of all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tired furniture and carpets, the manager gave instructions about the times to eat and be punctual he added, and mentioned twice that we musn't forget to hand in the room keys on leaving. But worst of all, he charged Au$2.50 for 24 hours wifi, It didn't work when I tried to get online. He gave back the money and said the roeters would need to be reset but he didn't have time that evening (it was 6pm!) so I would have to do without!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response. Again it is very difficult to address and explain over a review as to why you may have found a few aspects unsatisfactory to your stay but I would like to try. The reasons we recommend a certain time to eat in our restaurant is because we have a lot of large groups on bus tours and we like our guests to be able to enjoy the buffet at their leisure. You are quite welcome to eat with the tours if you like but we find most people like to avoid the rush. On handing in the room key, it is extremely hard to keep track of 60 plus individual keys and, as there isn't a locksmith in Queenstown, if a key is lost or taken with the guest, we cannot use the room until a replacement is made. We have found that it is best just to remind the guest to bring the key with them on checkout. We do have difficulties with our WiFi on occasion particularly as Queenstown is set in a deep valley. With 10 routers to reset and being right on dinner time with a large group in it was unrealistic to offer this service at the time so you were given a refund and told it was not available. We do offer our apologies for this but sometimes, due to our remote location, this happens. We do believe the West Coaster is ONE of the best motels in the area and as a family run business we do try to give ALL our guests the best service we can offer, which in this unique and rugged part of Tassie does have its challenges! Again, it is much easier, and guests are usually more understanding, if these issues are brought to us at the time, face to face so we can offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and were apparently upgraded to a delux room. It was something from the 70's and completely outdated. the website said new carpets, matresses linen ect and I can honestly say it was not. Nothing like the website. I didn't sleep a wink the matress was so uncomfortable, the bathroom was old & dark and all I can say is we clearly were not in one of the new modern rooms, we must have been shoved out of the way. The hotel was quite and its a shame that our stay was not nicer as we are always on the west coast.

Room Tip: Advice - ask for a new modernised room, otherwise you'll get crap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed this is the first we have heard of your concerns about your stay with us and apologise that you did not enjoy it. We have had many satisfied guest over this busy time during the festival week and would like any issues to be brought to our attention at the time so we can rectify them. We can assure you, and all of our guests that we will endevour to continue to improve our rooms along with the rest of the property and have done considerable work over the last 12 months that we have purchased the motel to do so. Thank you again for your review and we hope if you choose to stay with us again we can make yor stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Have stayed here before and must say they have made some big improvements, totally enjoyed the food and the rooms were clean and comfortable and have been updated a lot. At both stays the atmosphere was friendly and the service good.

Room Tip: a room facing the rivulette and back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have been working hard to improve all aspects of the Motel with upgrades in the rooms, restaurant, grounds and looking giving what guests value most when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coaster Motel

Address: Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coaster Motel, situated in Queenstown on Tasmania's West Coast, is a 60 room, recently purchased, family run property and a perfect base to come back to after exploring the rich history of this unique part of Tasmania. 5 minutes walk to the ABT Wilderness Train Station, the Galley museum and the centre of town, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms from the modern Superior rooms with ipod docking clocks, to the warm Deluxe ground floor rooms, the convenient kitchenettes and the spacious 2 Bedroom Suite complete with king bed. All rooms have new linen and bedding, flat screen TV and DVD players, Mini bars & Room Service, Tea & Coffee, hairdryers. Queenstown has also had a complete overhaul of the water system and now delivers clean, clear water to all its residents and visitors alike (we have purchased white linen to prove this!). Enjoy a beer or wine in front of the fire in our Lounge/Bar then settle in to either the buffet dinner or select from the a la carte menu for a delicious home cooked, affordable meal. Book your train or Gordon River cruise direct with us and see what else our region has to offer from our helpful staff and brochure stand. We welcome you to the West Coaster and hope you have a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West Coaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coaster Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coaster Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.