We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat elsewhere, stay here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Coaster Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added West Coaster Motel to your Saves list
West Coaster Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere, stay here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The beds are comfortable, the water hot and the room warm (essential when the snow and rain dominate the landscape).

However, the food has definitely goon backwards. My medium rare steak became a well dome, dry steak. Fish was straight out of a box, as were the entrées. Given the food is priced at the fresh end (I.e. high), the value was not there. You are better off eating in town at one of the pubs.

Stay here, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Since purchasing the Motel in September 2011 the menu has had an over-haul and now delivers a variety of home cooked and wholesome meals. We have room service, pizzas available, carvery nights and as mentioned a new menu with lots of choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
27
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Something out of the eighties...dark room..............brown water in the bathroom.........rationed drinking water jugs as too many people were staying that night (so we were told) but did not see the crowd!!!
Cannot tell about the food as we weren't game enough after the water experience.
Hated it....could not wait to leave in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Property has new owners since this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

As one of a handful of the highest rating 3 1/2 star properties in Queenstown, this hotel was surprisingly comfortable, quiet and well-appointed. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean. Decor was a tad on the old side (looked like 80s furniture). The hotel is reasonably central and was in walking distance to most facilities around town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Property has new owners since this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie NSW
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed here overnight and would suggest this is probably the best place to stay in Queenstown overnight. Having said that I should also add we hated Quenestown and thought it was a truly ugly town with no features and nothing to do worth doing - other than drive out and would recommend to ANYONE to avoid the town completely.

The hotel was clean and has a nice bar and when we arrived we were shown a menu for a buffet which looked pretty good so after checking out the town and realising our options for eating and surviving the experience were limited, we booked for the buffet at the motel. It was, sadly, disappointing.

The soup starter was nice and the desserts were also fine, but the main course was pretty ordinary with food overcooked and generally tasteless, so if you ARE forced to stay in Queenstown overnight by all means stay at the Chancellor but take a picnic or go on a diet!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Property has new owners since this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We have stayed at this motel twice and both times have enjoyed the stay. The bubbling creek behind is a nice way to fall asleep and wake up to. Have not eaten at the motel due to the restaurant not being open and we like the pub down the road for a meal which has had a great write up by a food critic and breakfast is always in a nice cafe up the main st. You need to understand this is a mining town with dongas being some of the typical homes and flannelette shirts the norm. The motel is clean and yes the tap water is not great so take your own for drinking (we buy 5 litres in Hobart before the trip) and use wet ones if you don't want to shower as this is all you get in Queesntown.

The receptionist was great and on one trip we had a 18month old and they ensured a cot was there for him. Linen, room and fridge all clean and tidy and we will always stay there as bubbling water is relaxing and after that road into the town you need relaxation as you know you have to go back up that road.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Property has new owners since this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Queenstown is an old mining town and it seems as if it hasn't changed since I came here nearly 40 years ago. I told my wife I am sure the same woman served me in the take away shop when we visited again but I don't think she remembered me.

The motel is within easy walking distance to the town's main street.

The motel is getting old like everything else in the town but it is functional and neat and the man at the reception was helpful when we arrived to claim our pre booked room at 4pm . He told me he had been here three years. It was starting to get dark already and the rain was consistent. Our room was just over from reception area and we parked right outside the door to our room. Parking was undercover so we didn't get wet. The room was large, had 1 queen size bed and 1 single bed - everything was clean albeit a bit old. The bedding was older than I would have preferred and needed replacement but it was clean. The ensuite-bathroom had a shower in the bath and this could present a problem for older people who may have difficulty climbing in and out . The rain pelted down all night on the tin roof and was so heavy at one stage it woke us up. However, no leaks in our room. The tap water is brown from the mining in the area and is drinkable if boiled- filtered water is provided in a jug at no charge and we used this to make a cup of tea and have a biscuit which were provided free of charge as is milk if required..

Continental breakfast is available at $16.50 and a cooked breakfast is $22.50 per head. For room service add another $5. I thought this was a bit pricey. Dining room is open from 5.30-7.30 pm . We were asked to come at 6.30pm as I think they wanted an early night and they were only 2 more cars at the motel this night. Wine in the restaurant is generally overpriced, but you can get a bottle of Lindemans for $25.50 or by the glass at $5.50 for the same brand but its a lower end of the market bottle. Food was good and big serves provided- Sirloin steak 300 gm with nice crisp, non fatty chips cooked perfectly to order.Seafood basket at $22.50 was a generous serve of a variety of fried seafood, deserts were $7 - we declined. The restaurant prices compared well with the other limited choices available for eating in the town. If you are passing through and staying the night this is as good as you will get for the price and there is nothing really to complain about except its getting oldish. I would be happy to stay again if I was travelling through Queenstown again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Property has new owners since this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

This is Queenstown, a mining town. This hotel is not thrilling but certainly is functional. There is nothing to thrill in Queenstown but if you require a clean and comfortable bed for the night and a bathroom then it will do. We wanted to stay in Strahan but with five of us that was difficult to achieve at short notice at this time in the (busy) season. So Queenstown had to suffice. There are a lot of motels in Queenstown, none really looked any better than th other. Most would not choose to stay here but if you do stay here the Chancellor Inn is adequate for a sleep and a shower before you move on to the next destination.

  • Liked — The stream outside the room window
  • Disliked — The township
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Property has new owners since this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#3 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
12.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
13.0 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#1 of 4 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mt Lyell Anchorage
Mt Lyell Anchorage
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coaster Motel

Address: Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coaster Motel, situated in Queenstown on Tasmania's West Coast, is a 60 room, recently purchased, family run property and a perfect base to come back to after exploring the rich history of this unique part of Tasmania. 5 minutes walk to the ABT Wilderness Train Station, the Galley museum and the centre of town, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms from the modern Superior rooms with ipod docking clocks, to the warm Deluxe ground floor rooms, the convenient kitchenettes and the spacious 2 Bedroom Suite complete with king bed. All rooms have new linen and bedding, flat screen TV and DVD players, Mini bars & Room Service, Tea & Coffee, hairdryers. Queenstown has also had a complete overhaul of the water system and now delivers clean, clear water to all its residents and visitors alike (we have purchased white linen to prove this!). Enjoy a beer or wine in front of the fire in our Lounge/Bar then settle in to either the buffet dinner or select from the a la carte menu for a delicious home cooked, affordable meal. Book your train or Gordon River cruise direct with us and see what else our region has to offer from our helpful staff and brochure stand. We welcome you to the West Coaster and hope you have a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your West Coaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coaster Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coaster Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.