We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incorrect Directions on TripAdvisor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson Falls

Nelson Falls
Lyell Highway | Between Queenstown and Derwent Bridge, Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Melbourne
1 review
“Incorrect Directions on TripAdvisor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The map details for Nelson Falls are incorrect on TripAdvisor! The address details are correct, but when switching to the map it pins the wrong location. I recommend using Google or the parks section on the Tasmanian Government website.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good trek and beautiful waterfall.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Is a beautiful waterfall (although Tasmania has waterfalls in all shapes, colours and sizes) and the trek is incredibly easy to do.

Along the path to the waterfall you will find lots of informative posts giving you a little bit of context about the different eras Tasmania has been through.

I loved the TARDIS teamed pictures of each of the posts.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what was expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have seen quite a few falls around the state.. but all I can say that the trekking to reach this fall is quite nice.. but for some .. the fall may not be up to what they had on their mind.. so be prepared to be blown away..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A genuinely picturesque waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It had been raining the morning we visited the falls so they were in full flow and certainly lived up to my expectations. Taking a few minutes to just absorb the scenery and sounds as well as the beauty of the waterfall itself was one of the special moments on our trip to Tasmania.
Given that this is 5minute walk from the carpark and is entirely free, if you happen to be nearby make sure that you stop off and take a good look at the falls.
Certainly worth the stroll!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A good accessable stopoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped here on the way to Hobart with young kids. We had our 7 month old in a carrier, although you could easily do the walk in a pram. There is only one small side part which has about 2 steps to go down, or you can bypass this. There had been allot of rain when we were visiting so the waterfall was running strongly. It took us only about 20mins to walk even with kids. Most time is spent taking photos! You need your national parks pass here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Falls also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Nelson Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.