We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain View Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motel

Mountain View Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain View Motel to your Saves list
Mountain View Motel
1 Penghana Road, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mountain View Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this motel on numerous occasions and always enjoyed my stay. The rooms are clean and tidy and very comfortable. Bob and Maxine are very congenial hosts and go that extra mile to be helpful . I would recommned the motel and always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: The ones nearest reception . Close to road but I never found them noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Despite what others say I thought this was a great place to stay. Nice and clean and very helpful owners. It's not 5 star, but what do you expect in this town were Accomodation is expensive.

I would happily stay here again. It's close to town, reasonably priced, clean and very helpful owners. What more can you ask for.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A nice change from the town motels & a little easier on the budget when staying for several nights. I have stayed at Mountain View Motel almost twice a year for the past 4 years while visiting family in Queenstown. The hosts (Bob & Maxine) are very pleasant & helpful. There is a selection of accommodation types from "backpacker-style" with shared facilities, to rooms for singles & family units. There is also a children's play area & family BBQ area. I have stayed in en-suite units with kitchen facilities including small oven & cooktop, microwave, fridge, electric jug, toaster etc., with heating & cooling from air-conditioning unit. The property is well situated within a couple minutes walk to the station for the West Coast Wilderness Railway, with the town facilities just a little further on. Maintenence & improvements are continually taking place & the buildings have a freshly painted look.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eningen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Okay, so this is propably the most filthy and disgusting place I ever stayed at! The rooms are mouldy and smell gros. The "kitchen" truly doesn't deserve it's name. There are no plates,the stove is a joke, it doesn't even work properly. Everything's been dirty, they didn't even provide warm water, towels or dishwashing liquid. Our food's been stolen overnight, even our juice and everything we had to drink. The bathroom facilities were about a billion years old and after taking a shower you felt even more dirty. I definately should have taken pictures to show everyone that the ones on the homepage are just a lie. This place is not worth a cent! Without a doubt a place i would never ever recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: 1 Penghana Road, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.