We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Hills Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Hills Motel to your Saves list
Silver Hills Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Penghana Road, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very good family base for West Coast.
Retro style Motel. Told my son it was just like in the "Cars" Disney movie.
Knowledgeable and friendly host.
Decent restaurant with a proper Chef.
Superb mountain views and warm fire place in restaurant and lounge bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
35
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our visit was brief but long enough to enjoy comfortable, clean and obviously refurbished accommodation. We dined in the restaurant and found the service, quality and quantity of food to be above average. We will most certainly recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Host was very nice but standard queen rooms were a bit too small we only stayed one night but wouldn't recommend a long stay in this one.local houses opposite motel played loud headbanging music full bore till well past 3am with no respect for motel guests which starved us of sleep . probably wouldn't recommend this one.there is closer ones to town but didnt get prices as this was cheap enough for one night but lack of sleep told me I got what I paid for budget noisy accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning and thanks for your review.
Am very sorry your sleep was disturbed from noise off the property, and trust me all the houses in the area were impacted by this noise, including mine. For a very very quiet place, this was out of character, and also out of my control. I actually don't think that respect for the guests of two nearby motels ( one is mine ) entered the heads of the revellers, or that of the sleep of the mining shift workers that reside in this town.
We do have a well priced property, warm rooms, great beds and excellent food, and we do our best to ensure the comfort of guests, but that oversight extends to our motel boundaries. As I said...this is a very quiet area, and the disturbance was a once off ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Appears to be the best of all the motels we saw in Queenstown, very basic low end rooms, but if all you want is a bed to sleep in it is ok
Definitely need the electric blankets as only heating is an oil filled heater.
Attached restaurant meals were good but at the top of the price range for this level of restaurant.
Would not like to spend more than one or two days

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review ! The rooms are very warm and comfortable. The heater is a delonghi fan forced unit that was rated #2 in choice magazine last year. It is powerful, fan forced with thermostat, so it comes up to heat quickly, then maintains it for you without the heat becoming oppresive...and yes there are elctric blankets as well.

We are also proud to announce a couple of new menu items, Malaysian butter prawns; and Sticky Beef Ribs. A guest last week described the ribs as the best beef he had ever eaten !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed there for a night and was happy with the service provided by staff. You can imagine how friendly and helpful people are when you go in country areas. Town itself is in beautiful location in the middle of mountains. Reasonable price and nice service. Staff at check in was helpful. Loved the town and stay in the hotel. Wouldn't expect too much if you are in a small country town.
Will stay there again if I am visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday around 2pm, as I had been warned about Tasmania no one works on a Sunday. Only had a brief phone conversation with Motel reception and told key was on door.

Room was comfortable but dated, TV was half decent size, bathroom a fair bit dated but all clean and comfortable. Luckily as it was a cold night heaters were in the room plus an electric blanket if required.

Restaurant was closed - a real shame as we had stayed here specifically for it. Luckily the pizza shop in town was open but would of been decent for reception when inquiring to suggest alternatives for dinner.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your positive review Wadeal. I am sorry I wasnt able to personally greet you on arrival as I was out on an errand. Being a Sunday, with a lower occupancy, penalty rates for staff preclude the full manning of reception in my absence, as well as the restaurant on a quieter night. Penalty rates are not a Tasmanian challenge, but with costs escalating in a lot of areas, my focus is to continue to offer comfortable and affordable accommodation in this great part of the state. Hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Wifi here is fast. There is a lovely view of the surrounding mountainss especially in the late afternoon sun. The room has all the usual tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, ipod dock, hair dryer and small fridge. We didn't dine at the restaurant - mains were mid $30s- found a local pub that had roast lamb on the menu. I would recomment that hotel remove the shelf over the basin in the bathroom - It is positioned poorly and easily bumped with one's head when cleaning teeth!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Marilyn, many thanks for your positive review, and we agree that some of the amenity shelves in some of the bathroom are in a silly spot and these are flagged for relocation ! I thought I might also take a moment to list our main courses and prices. Our restaurant recieves a lot of comment, almost all very positive, but the question seems to be at the moment, are we expensive or not ? Following is a list of our current main courses, with prices. Please do remember that the serves are generous, the scotch fillet for example is 350gms+,and all items are house made by a French trained chef with 40 years experience ...

Smoked Chicken Salad $29
Salt & Pepper Calamari $28
Twice cooked Pork Belly $28
BBQ'd Tiger Prawns $32
600gm+ Rib Eye $45
Scotch Fillet $30
Seafood harvest $28
Chicken Parmigiana $26.50
Pumpkin Gnocchi $26.00
Beef Madras $28
Fresh Fish of the Day POA - usually $28

We also change our menu regularly !
Thanks again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hills Motel

Address: 3 Penghana Road, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hills Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic Queenstown motel is not only the oldest on the Tasmanian West Coast, but also one of the largest. Featuring 57 motel rooms all with en-suites, heating and queen sized beds...as well as the largest restaurant in Queenstown with a fantastic fireplace and views over the ranges. An ideal (and well priced!) base to explore Queenstown, Strahan and the Western Wilderness.Now with free WiFi internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hills Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Hills Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.