We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, clean accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Hills Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Hills Motel to your Saves list
Silver Hills Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Penghana Road, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good, clean accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

well priced, my room was on the smallish side but was immaculately clean. Staff were lovely

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    41
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
12
41
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NSW
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Just stayed the one night at the Silver Hills and in some respects was pretty impressed. The property is ( like all Queenstown motels ) a little dated, and it is only 3 star but the rooms were immaculately clean, the food was good quality pub-style food and very friendly staff. Compared to prices the other places in Queenstown are charging, this is probably the best value for money...I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days while exploring Queenstown and Strahan. The rooms were clean and well maintained, not at all like the photos in other reviews here. The new owners clearly have worked hard to improve cleanliness and service. The rooms are a little tired, sure, but everything worked and the beds were comfortable.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, assisting with directions, bookings and advice about local sights to see etc.

Breakfast was excellent value for money. There was a choice of cooked or continental and it was all of a high quality. We dined in Strahan in the evenings, but on the last night of our stay we decided to eat in the restaurant on site, as we had to make an early start the next day. How we wished we had tried it earlier! The menu was impressively varied and all the dishes we tried (we were a party of 6, and we all ordered something different) were fantastic. There were several local diners in the restaurant as well, which has got to be a good sign!

Location was good, just a short walk into town. Despite being right on the road there was no problem with traffic noise (and if you get a room at the front you have the bonus of a spectacular view).

Yes, it's old and tired, but this motel is clean, functional and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

When we arrived late evening after a long drive from the Cradle Mountain N.P. this property was the only available option. However we should have considered sleeping in our car instead of taking the risk to try to sleep in this dump ! Avoid in all cases and se why looking at our pictures !!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Manager at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Showing by your pictures you must be right. However we, the new owners, have over this property inlate April 2010 and we are proud to display this property. It has been cleaned from top to bottom, undergone some modifactions and the service from staff and management is up to a very good standard. We have an excellent report from the Wotif Group and are ranking very high on their Tasmanian chart. We are here to please you and we as hosts are here to make sure you do. All rooms are clean and all equipment in it is working. If..... their might be a problem we are only to happy to solve it and that is a promise.
Our restaurant is of top class and the locals are returning frequently which must be a good sign. The motel is still old but please don't forget that this motel is the oldest motel in Tasmania and has therefore a certain charisma. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloncurry, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This motel is cheap and deservedly so. The radiator appeared old and took a age to warm up...so the room was quite cold for a long time. The bathroom remained wet with vapour running down the walls after a shower as there was no real ventilation. The electric blanket on one bed did not work correctly and so we had to pile blankets on to it. If someone moved in the room tv reception was lost, which wasn't great to begin with. The motel matches what Queenstown has become sad, old and rundown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hills Motel

Address: 3 Penghana Road, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hills Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic Queenstown motel is not only the oldest on the Tasmanian West Coast, but also one of the largest. Featuring 57 motel rooms all with en-suites, heating and queen sized beds...as well as the largest restaurant in Queenstown with a fantastic fireplace and views over the ranges. An ideal (and well priced!) base to explore Queenstown, Strahan and the Western Wilderness.Now with free WiFi internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hills Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Hills Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.