We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have a cheek renting it out, don't even consider staying!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Empire Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Empire Hotel
Save
You added The Empire Hotel to your Saves list
2 Orr Street, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They have a cheek renting it out, don't even consider staying!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We unfortunately checked reviews prior to the last one and booked and paid for 2 nights. Everything the previous reviewer says is true and we can add more!!! Wiring obviously faulty - individual lights took turns in working, sometimes yes and sometimes no. No dowel in wardrobe to hang anything on, space for drawers but no drawers, just gaps, sliding door not attached at bottom, bad luck if two rooms wanted to use shower at same time, everything that needed power had to use one power board on floor. Dining room very pleasant and good food. Staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Friends and I stayed here a few days. We were not advised place was undergoing renovations and were requested to pay for room before viewing it and with good reason. Were aghast at accommodation conditions. I had to wear thongs in the shower due to the mould. Daylight could be seen between dado board & floor board. Rooms were very drab and dreary and on first sight appeared grubby. Windows held open with help of wooden block. Carpet in some rooms had so many ripples in it there was no smooth surface at all! Door knobs removed from exterior of doors. Despite all of this, bed was comfortable and the linen crisp and clean.
Dining room was terrific as was the meals. Could not find elevator - this is not suitable for disabled people as staff leave you to drag your suitcase up the stairs to your room. Hospitality not a big issue here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

The Empire Hotel is for the budget conscious. My mum and I stayed two nights in No. 4, which has an ensuite and sleeps three people. Two can sleep in the main area, which also contains a little refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities, and one can sleep in the smaller adjoining room. I would have loved a door to separate the two rooms but this is not a problem if everyone goes to sleep at the same time.

The price was fantastic - only $65 a night for two people in our particular setup. If you're willing to take a room without an ensuite, and share the bathrooms and toilets instead, then it becomes even cheaper.

Our rooms were small and very clean. The only fault I could find was the toe-grabbing threads of carpet, which we had to watch out for. I'd forgotten to mention it to the staff but on all the occasions I spoke to them I found them very friendly.

The hotel location was excellent. Very easy to find, opposite the West Coast Wilderness Railway Station. Queenstown is also very close to Strahan and the Gordon RIver Cruise (only 41km) and I found it a much better option to stay in the Empire Hotel and drive the 41km to get to the Gordon River Cruise than to stay in Strahan itself.

  • Liked — The price and location
  • Disliked — The toe-grabbing carpet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Perfect location in Queenstown.

Gentleman on check-in was extremely helpful & friendly.

Room was basic, fittings dodgy, but very clean & liveable.

Not a fan of shared bathrooms but they had hot water and seemed to be enough for everyone (no queueing) even though the hotel was at capacity.

Dining room menu was delicious although there are several other dining choices just a stroll away.

All-in-all, considering the price, it was pretty good.

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — Apart from the light - no electricity in room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

A small, old Australian hotel with its unique character. The hotel is just opposite Queenstown railway station whereby most tourists who come to Queentown would want to experience the West Coast Wilderness railway.

Our room is clean, big and with simple amenities. With the price of $A60 a night, we have no complaint. However, the only drawback is that there is no lift in the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, big & affordable price
  • Disliked — No Lift, service staff not friendly & helpful
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,161 reviews 1,161 reviews
291 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
2,737 helpful votes 2,737 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

I paid the 'princely' sum of about A$30 (cheap in anyone's language) to stay in a single room on a pleasant winter's night: perhaps I was lucky with the weather on Tasmania's west coast.

The barman/ proprietor was friendly but not too intrusive: after all, he had a bar to run.

The room was typically old Australian-hotel style: a single bed, and not much else.

However I slept adequately and there were no noise problems.

It was also clean, and many overseas visitors might enioy this wonderful century-old building. I am a local, but could still see the beauty in it.

  • Liked — Great location and good value
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel

Address: 2 Orr Street, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel Queenstown, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.