We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   156 Parramatta Road, Ashfield, New South Wales 2131, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 15%!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ashfield
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The place is a little dated but the rooms are modern and clean.

The pool is not very big. They do have a restaurant on site but unfortunately it was closed during my stay.

The people are very friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
24
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Philip Lodge Motel was clean, tidy and well presented, though a little dated. Staff could not have been more helpful, which coupled cleanliness, are my main criteria for a good-value motel.

While not located convenient to Sydney's attractions, it has a bus from directly across the road direct to down-town Syndey. The train was approx 15 mins walk from the hotel, but the bus is the recommended option. We used this as a cheap option for staying in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharatpur, null, Nepal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my parents in a big room, there was a double bed and single bed. The bus to sydney city is right outside the motel. I asked for toaster and microwave and was given it instantly! Such a nice motel with friendly staff and even a nice tv in the room! I tried to give a tip but wouldn't accept it, the staff were so genuine! loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We recently stayed for one night at Philip Lodge and knew we had made the right choice from our first phone call to make a booking, restoring our faith that good old fashioned friendly service still exists.
The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and offer a good night sleep, but the standout of this place is the genuine friendliness of the staff. A great choice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stopped in here before flying home, the service was above and beyond helpful, especially whilst traveling with a disabled mother.

The room was spacious, the beds were the best I've slept on in a motel, and for a main arterial road the room so silent!

Super easy access to the airport. And, no hassle to send my iphone charger to me after I left it there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton NSW Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this facility. While I was admitted to hospital, my wife was cared for in a manner which blew me away. Extreamely kind and caring staff, excellent food and service from the resturant. I cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This an old style motel that is well run. It's clean and the rooms have good bed quite air conditioner good size bathroom and shower. It's not too far from the Strathfield hospital and although its on a main road the rooms at the back are quite. Parking is free a bonus in Sydney. Well priced I recommend it as I spent 2 nights there and has no complaints. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel

Address: 156 Parramatta Road, Ashfield, New South Wales 2131, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ashfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 Unit Motel with Restaurant and Bar. 2 Conference rooms with catering if Needed.All rooms are non smoking and of a high standard.We offer many types of rooms from Single Queen bedded rooms.Standard and Deluxe. Also Spa Rooms.Family suites and our 2 Roomed family units.The Motel has direct access to the City with a Bus at our door. 461 bus to and from Town Hall Sydney.We have a pool on site for a refreshing dip.Laundry on site for personal use and also a business centre and all rooms have Wifi acess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ashfield
Ashfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ashfields Philip Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.