We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, comfortable, delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solberge Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Solberge Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Solberge Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegant, comfortable, delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to stay at Solberge Hall for four times in the past three years. It is my favourite hotel in the UK: every single time I've been there, I have found the staff to be as professional and attentive as they are welcoming.

Refurbishment isn't quite finished; there are some corridors that are still on the "to do" list, but the bedrooms are lovely (ask for Room 2), as are the public areas.

The food is above and beyond expectation, and hasn't disappointed in three years! On the contrary, it has surprised and delighted me on every occasion, and the service has been impeccable without fail.

Solberge Hall seems to take the trouble to employ staff who are good at what they do and who enjoy it. Their attention to detail is extremely impressive, and yet they still manage to be as warm as old friends. I absolutely LOVE it here.

Room Tip: ROOM 2, ROOM 2!! Best room in the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    86
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
184
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped for one night on Wednesday 7th August. There was a warm welcome at reception before we were shown to our room. The room was clean and well decorated and had a four poster bed. The bathroom was spotless. It was a beautiful day which enabled us to relax in the grounds enjoying the evening sunshine. The evening meal in the restaurant was well presented and tasted good. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty to suit all needs. The staff were polite at all times, this was our second visit and would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: The first time we stopped in room 2 and this time room 1 both were excellent with a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here for 4 nights on business.

I cannot stress how fantastic this beautiful hotel is. In order to do it justice I have broken the review down into areas.

Hotel and Grounds:

The hotel is a beautiful old hall, which has been refurbished with tasteful, comforting and elegant decor. The grounds are well kept and immaculate. It would really make a perfect wedding venue.

Accommodation:

I had a double room which again was tastefully decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the toiletries provided were lovely.

Food:

Where to start?! The food in this hotel is a gastronomic delight! My compliments to the chef who consistently produced fantastic food every night. Each evening began with a selection of homemade breads and olives. A personal favourite was the black pudding loaf.
The main courses were delicate yet filling with a variety of elements each cooked to perfection. Whilst there I sampled three wonderful desserts. The food was as appealing to the eye as it was in taste.

Staff:
I travel a lot on business and I can honestly say I have never encountered such friendly and attentive members of staff in any hotel I have stayed. Everyone I met seemed genuinely interested in making sure I was ok and had everything I needed. I would like to have mention names but it would have been the entire nominal roll!

My compliments to the management team at Solberge Hall as the place is run like a well oiled ship.

I will definitely be staying here again.

Thanks to everyone at Solberge Hall for making my week a really enjoyable one.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having stayed in a couple of the hotels around the North Yorkshire Dales we have been generally let down by one of the following points, service, food, accommodation or surroundings.

Well...Solberge gets five stars on all counts. The food was incredible; we had a fantastic Sunday Lunch and couldn't fault a thing.

The service was outstanding and when there was one minor problem it was sorted out without any fuss and very efficiently.

The rooms are lovely; we stayed in room 1 which had a four poster bed. The views are incredible, and there are countless local attractions to visit with a nice town near by.

In summary if you get the opportunity and would like to dine and sleep like royalty, snap it up.

This is a hidden Gem and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at the Solberge Hall Hotel from Thursday 8th August to Sat 10th August, the question is !!
Is this a quality Historic Boutique type hotel or is it a function Hotel. The original old Building is lovely, the large function rooms at the rear are characterless and could be in any of 100's or Hotels across the country.It quotes freshly cooked breakfasts as one of its many attractions, and on our first morning the breakfast was excellent on the 2nd morning as we had attended a wedding the day before we where ushered down to the function area and into a large room with 4 large tables all set for 10 like a function and offered breakfast from a make shift table with chafing dishes of pre cooked breakfast items keeping warm, it was dreadful, prior to this experience of a dreadful breakfast we did talk about returning but I think not now. The staff are rudder less, young , keen (most) and hard working, and things seem !!! to get done but no sign of a captain in charge. It needs to decide what it is and then steer it accordingly rather than continue in its present path.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After four and a half hours drive, we were in need of a warm welcome. We got it. The impressive entrance promised much. No brochure forthcoming, we discovered the hotel had very recently changed hands which explained the tasteful redecoration of some public rooms and an inspired reorganisation of dining room to lounge. The dining room has a new intimacy and the lounge now enjoys a spaciousness and good views of the beautiful surrounding sheep-filled countryside. Our bedrooms were freshly decorated and the large bathrooms though stark were clean, new and the only thing missing was a magnifying mirror & fluffy bathrobe. However, the white towels were fluffy, the bed sheets crisp and white, the beds well sprung and comfortable. The water trickled a bit in the shower but the bath was long enough for a tall person to stretch out and enjoy a good soak with expensive smelling bath salts provided. The young efficient staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and their charm, enthusiasm,skill and prompt attention to our requests impressed three weary travellers. The pre-supper drinks arrived promptly. We all chose scallops as a starter which did not disappoint and the main course of either pork or lamb was cooked perfectly - the meat tender, the crackling crisp and the veg al dente. Just what we wanted - with many years of fine dining around the world between us, we are not easy to please! A cheese course provided a generous and varied selection but the lemon sorbet/lemon soufflé/lemon-curd-filled meringues to finish our meal was a divine choice. All was served with style and a smile by a jolly waiter who though young, was well trained and seemed to understand the fine line between friendliness and discreet efficiency. After a good night's sleep we ate a copious breakfast - generous portions again and cooked to order. It was obvious this had been cooked freshly and our coffee was strong and expensive, not weak and brown as is so often the case in British hotels. The bills were reasonable. We resumed our journey reluctantly and agreed Solberge Hall will definitely be our stopover again same time next year

Room Tip: Ask for either room 7 or 8 - we loved them, even though our view was mostly of greenery rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

As we lived away we decided to stay over night after our friends Daughters Wedding,we stayed in what they classed as a "better room" Room No.9.
The room looked ok on first impressions. As it was on the first floor we had an opening outside door to a fire escape....but this meant we could not leave the window open to allow fresh air in as anyone could have entered the room from outside! I know they have to have fire escapes but a little thought to cooling the room might help.Also this room is at he front of the Hotel and at night is beautifully lit by spot lights......however due to ill fitting curtains and no blackouts so is you room plus at this time of year the morning sun lights the room at about 0600hrs!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 9 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solberge Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solberge Hall Hotel

Address: Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Newby Wiske
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solberge Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solberge Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solberge Hall Northallerton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solberge Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.