We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions do matter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Airlie Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Airlie Beach to your Saves list
Peppers Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First impressions do matter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

First impressions do matter and upon checking in to this resort, we were greeted with a room that had not been serviced (ie. used wine glasses on the coffee table, a bag of rubbish, used towels on the floor etc).

However, a quick call to reception and a new room was organised for the night with the option of either staying in the new room, or moving back to our original room the following morning once housekeeping had done their thing.

Apart from the above, overall the hotel/resort is quite pleasant. The housekeeping can be a very inconsistent (ie. bath mat left one day, then no bath mat the following or washing detergent left one day but none the next). This isn't do or die, but consistency would be nice.

The other major issue from this hotel is the mobile reception. My partner and I are both with Vodafone and had major issues with coverage, so do beware of this if you are reliant on your phone for anything urgent.

The rooms are also supposed to have Hotspot access through Azure, but the coverage for this was almost non existant. We found it easier to connect to a Hotspot at another hotel down the road.

One last thing, if you like a nice shower then you will be disappointed with the water pressure at this hotel and I mean 'disappointed'. The pressure in the shower is so weak that's it's virtually impossible to look forward to a nice shower after a day at the beach. My advice - shower at the beach instead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. It is pleasing to note that overall you had a pleasant stay at Peppers Coral Coast.
I was disappointed to hear you experienced housekeeping and water pressure issues and am regretful that these issues were not brought to my attention during your stay, as there are processes in place to quickly remedy any issues that may arise.
I have passed your feedback onto our internet provider Azure in regards to the wireless coverage for this to be tested. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Peppers Coral Coast.
Kind Regards,
Leonie Lohrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    150
    66
    20
    5
See reviews for
84
285
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We are leaving Peppers Coral Coast tomorrow, so I thought I would write my review today. We decided to stay on the Airlie beach mainland since the cost of rooms was much less than on one of the islands. We were able to get a deal of stay 3 nights get one free. We spent our money on excursions to the Great Barrier Reef (Cruise Whitsunday outer reef tour AMAZING!!, AirWhitsunday panarma plane tour AMAZING!!) I am very happy with our choice. The hotel is fairly new, it seems more of a beach condo community than a hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and have their own kitchen, balcony and washer and dryer. I have to say the washer and dryer were great. We have been traveling for a week when we got here, and we did all our laundry. The rooms are well equipped. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, (but why would you when you have Fish Divine and Capers just a cab ride away) We even ordered take out and it was delivered to our room one night. The room is nice, It is a one bedroom apartment. Separate bedroom, with bathroom (HUGE TUB, tiny shower) then a kitchen/living room combo and a large balcony you can eat on. It is perfect for a home base when visiting the reef. The hotel is situated on a hill about 2mins by taxi from the main street of Airlie beach. This is good and bad. Good since you are away from all the backpackers of Airlie Beach, bad that you need to take a $6.00 taxi to and from town for dinner and getting to get to your tour starting point. They do offer a shuttle to town, however it only runs on odd hours (9,11,1,3....) They have a beautiful infinity pool, with great drinks. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have just returned from 4 nights stay at Peppers in Airlie Beach and had a wonderful time. Our 1 bedroom apartment was spacious and well equipted which was serviced daily. Reception staff Danielle and Kurt were very helpful as were resturant staff. There's a shuttle bus that leaves every 2 hours starting around 9am to get you up and down the hill if you don't feel like walking. Otherwise a cab from town is no more than $10 which isn't to expensive.
The only small gripe I have is the size of the meals in the resturant. As delicious as the food was, the serves for dinner were small and myself and my husband did leave still feeling a little hungry. I'm not a big person and I did find myself still hungry afterwards.
Otherwise it was a fantastic time and we'll be looking to stay at more Peppers resorts in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed here for 8 nights and the first impression of the resort is look at the stunning view! However, to get that stunning view you will soon discover that you need to climb a huge hill! The resort does have a bus that goes into town every 2 hours but we always seemed to miss it!

The walk into town takes about 10 minutes and is mostly downhill but the walk home is not quite so pleasant. Would recommend catching a cab which cost around $6.

The apartment was very clean and modern with a great view. The only negative about the rooms was to tv reception in the lounge room and the fact that cable was only available in the lounge room and not on the tv in the bedroom.

The pool area is somewhat small for the amount of apartments with only approximately 10 chairs, so you need to be early if you want to get a chair for the day.

The restaurant was absolutely amazing and would recommend going. It was a little pricey but worth every cent. One of the best meals my Husband and i have ever had!

All in all a really good resort that we would stay at again if ever coming back to Airlie!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

My 21-mth old daughter and I went to the Whitsundays for a few days of R&R. I would rate this Peppers hotel as average. I haven't stayed at a Peppers resort before so my review is based on other hotels with the same star rating.

When I checked in, the front desk staff asked if I could fix up the bill. I did, but then I thought that was odd because I thought I'd already paid in full when I booked online. Anyway, I had a cranky toddler and just went to the room. I received a call shortly thereafter to tell me I had already paid in full and they'd refund my credit card. They couldn't contact the manager for the password for the refund (???) so they asked if they could mail me a cheque. This is so silly. So, the duty manager or supervisor of the day can't have this password?? In the end, they finally did get hold of the manager and my card was refunded. Partly my fault as I should've said something initially.

I booked an ocean view room in a quiet area with a cot. The view was average, a small bay area, and no cot in the room. I asked for another room with a view; the front desk staff said they gave us that room because it was likely the quietest room available. Fair enough. I said I'd try the other room anyway. Shortly after arriving in the other room, the front desk called to let me know the microwave didn't work in that room. So back we went to the first room. There are no bell boys or luggage carts in this hotel, which really should be changed. It was not fun moving all the luggage with a toddler because it involved driving to the new room and back. That being said, the staff (Jillian, Kurt) were wonderful and helped with our bags. We went out for a bit that evening and when we came back, I found $50 worth of food vouchers under the door for the room inconvenience. Very much appreciated. The room we finally stayed in was not overly quiet; it overlooked the garbage area so garbage trucks arrived at 7am and staff bring garbage there throughout the day. It also overlooks Whitsunday Drive, which is a pretty steep hill; cars must rev pretty hard to get up the hill so that was a bit of an issue.

We stayed in a 1-bdrm suite which was spacious enough for the two of us. The ensuite bthrm was huge, the biggest jetted tub I've ever seen! The room design is very puzzling. The bthrm doors are tempered glass, so the light shines right into the bdrm. Not great. I used the runners from the end of the bed to block the light. There's only one light switch in the bthrm, for the tub, toilet, and shower, and no dimmer. So at night, you can't turn the light on because the light goes right into the bdrm. Housekeeping staff told me all the rooms are designed this way. The toilet and shower lights were burnt out; I chose not to have the bulbs replaced due to the light.

Tides Restaurant is pretty good. The food is quite tasty and good size portions. It's a bit pricey but on par with other hotels I'm guessing. Kids' meals are $16 which is too expensive in my opinion.

I think it's a good hotel but not well-suited for us. I think we'd stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

It appears to be hanging on this side of a hill but wow what a view!

The stunning open air (under cover) reception, restaurant and bar gives the first hint of the casualness of this resort. The staff are warm and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. They're quietly attentive around the pool and lounge area, whilst not being intrusive. There was a good choice on the menu and the food was great. The only small problem was squeezing through the bar to get to the restaurant.

The apartments are beautifully appointed and the view from our apartment was magnificient particularly early in the morning. The huge balconies and bifold doors make the apartments seem much larger and are perfect for relaxing with a drink and a book.

And for a special treat I finished off my break with a relaxing treatment at the endota day spa.

The resort is just out of town but within walking distance or a quick bus ride. Couldn't find anything to fault. Just a shame I wasn't there for a romantic break because it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Our stay at Peppers didn't get off to a good start. We transferred from Proserpine Airport on a Whitsunday Transit coach. Due to the size of the bus, we were dropped off at the bottom of the hill – the driver phoned the resort when we were about 3 minutes away to let them know we were being dropped off, however we waited nearly 10 minutes in the hot sun and nobody from the resort came down to collect us! We had to haul our luggage up the extremely steep road to the resort reception – I was not in a good mood by the time we checked in!

A tip: Whitsunday Shuttles operate smaller minivans and they will drop you off at the reception area of the hillside resorts, rather than at the bottom of the steep driveways.

Peppers is in a good location, however the complex could have been better designed. There is a building right in front of the restaurant and pool, so the bay views are over a rooftop. The Port of Airlie construction site on the foreshore doesn't really distract from the view, and we didn't encounter any noise either.

Unless you are staying in the building behind the restaurant (‘Armit’), or in the building directly in front of the restaurant (‘Dungarra’), you have another steep hill to climb to reach your apartment. The first floor of Armit is level with the reception/restaurant rooftop, so ask for a room on level 2 or 3 if you want a better view.

The apartment was smaller than most 2 bedroom apartments we have stayed in previously. Very compact kitchen, lounge and dining area – but the bedrooms are spacious and have everything you need, right down to bathrobes. The spa tub in the master ensuite is huge, and takes up most of the bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped, and there was even a small packet of Vittoria coffee for the plunger, which was a nice touch.

The TV in the lounge area was cable channels only (mainly sport), and the TV in the master bedroom was free to air channels. There is an iPod dock too.

A compendium detailing restaurant hours/menu, resort information and local phone numbers etc. would have been handy.

The pool area is lovely, well maintained, and pool towels are provided. It’s only quite small, however most people are out all day so it would not be often that the 10 or so chairs are all being used.

The restaurant is al fresco, and the water feature adds to the ambience. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Prices were quite reasonable, but portion size was on the small side. The chefs did a great job baking the coral trout caught on my husband's fishing charter, but expect to pay $35 for this, in addition to the entrees, desserts, drinks etc. you purchase at the restaurant.

There is a shuttle bus which goes into town every 2 hours from 9am, with the last one at 7pm. However, if you want to go to Whitsunday Shopping Centre for groceries , you will have to catch a cab. Having said that, if the staff are heading that way, they don’t mind dropping you off, but won’t make a special trip.

Staff at reception booked numerous tours for us (which I have reviewed separately), and promptly fixed a couple of minor maintenance issues in our room. Our request for a late checkout was also accommodated, and this made our last day so much easier – relaxing by the pool.

Peppers isn’t as close to town as many other resorts, but it is in a very quiet location and most of the tour operators pick up/drop off at the resort, so you don’t really need a car.

Airlie is a great spot to be able to choose from a multitude of tour operators - leaving from Able Point or Shute Harbour. We did a floatplane day trip to Hayman Island with Air Whitsunday, visited the Reef, Whitehaven and Daydream Island with Cruise Whitsundays and my husband enjoyed a fishing charter on Jillian 2. Definitely worth staying on the mainland to have so many choices!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#10 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#2 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#5 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#8 of 16 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill top overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage, Peppers Airlie Beach, offers stylish and elegant accommodation in the heart of Airlie Beach. At the resort you are perfectly positioned to experience the wonders of the spectacular Whitsunday islands and the vibrant seaside village of Airlie Beach. Accommodation includes beautifully appointed One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with majestic views of the Whitsunday passage and wide breezy verandas maximising the tropical lifestyle experience. All apartments feature bathrobes, free WiFi, clothes dryer, daily room service, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV with cable, in-house movies, hair dryer, in-room safe, in-room pay for view movie system, mini bar, air conditioning, spa bath, self contained kitchen including cook top, oven, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, freezer, microwave and dishwasher. They also feature separate lounge and dining area, iPod docking station, washing machine, ironing facilities and One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers a multitude of leisure options including the culinary delights of the exceptional Tides Restaurant & Bar, pure pampering and relaxation at the onsite endota spa or you can revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of things to do including sailing, day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, scenic flights over Whitehaven Beach, skydiving, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. In the town of Airlie Beach you will discover a selection of shops and boutiques intertwined amongst a variety of dining and entertainment venues. The Whitsunday's protected waterways, myriad of islands and Great Barrier Reef are all at your fingertips when holidaying at Peppers Airlie Beach. From 1 Feb until 31 April reception hours are Sun-Thur 7am to 7pm, Fri & Sat 7am to 9pm. For the rest of the year reception will be open 7am to 11pm daily. If you expect to arrive outside reception opening hours, please inform the property 1 day in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.