We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facilities however breakfast and dinner a disappointment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Airlie Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Airlie Beach to your Saves list
Peppers Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic facilities however breakfast and dinner a disappointment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights just after Christmas. We were so impressed with the resort facilities including the pool area and the fantastic 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in. Our view was breathtaking as we were on the third (top) floor apartment. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

However, we were extremely disappointed with breakfast on the first and second days. (The third day they seemed to have their act together) and our dinner on the third night.

At breakfast, staff were completely unorganized and for a five star resort breakfast there was hardly anything to choose from! Bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage and hash browns. Boxed cereal, small muffins and bananas. There was no other fruit, no yoghurt and to get a piece of toast was ridiculous. You had to find a waitress and order it only to be forgotten and have to remind them. The third morning they had fruit salad available.

On the last night we decided to splash out and have dinner at Tides restaurant which is part of the resort. Because of the weather we ended up having it up in our room. For the price of our meals + a room service fee to say we were dissapointed is an understatement.

Our meals cost between $27 and $42 and believe me the meal that cost $27 had more on the plate. Taste wise it was like a home cooked meal not a fine dining a la carte restaurant. Our son chose the children's fish and chips with a huge bowl of ice cream for $16 and we would have been happy with that.

Beautiful location, great facilities, dissapointed with food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    150
    66
    20
    5
See reviews for
84
285
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall we were pleased with our stay here and we would come again.

The good:
They were very friendly and helpful at all times. There is a HUGE bath, the biggest I have ever seen inside (which does take a long time to fill but we never ran out of hot water filling it. I don't think you could have more than one a day but there is plenty of room in it for several people). The kitchen has everything you need (oven hot top, dishwasher, fridge, electric cooker) except for a microwave. They provide very classy teas and there are gourmet tasty things in the fridge that are a cut above the average mini bar (but you do have to pay for them). There are ipod docks and speakers everywhere. Overall you felt that they had given you everything you need and there were thoughtful details like a clothes horse, a clothes dryer and a wash basket. It's a really great combination of luxury resort that you can have a fully functional apartment with everything you need. Rooms cleaned every day.

The not so good:
The pool is not heated and is much too cold. The shower in the bathroom is quite small, and while it looks elegant it has a very short glass screen such that whenever you have a shower, no matter how careful you are, you get water all over the bathroom, which is pretty annoying. The pressure and temperature are ok however. The king size bed is two twin beds pushed together, which was a tad disappointing. Fine to sleep on though. Don't leave anything on the balcony overnight as the scrub turkeys fly up to them (even a few stories up) and eat/mess up anything you have left out. If I had not seen this happen every morning I would not have believed it. They even drink your alcohol….

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Once in the beautiful huge 1 bedroom apartment, there was not a lot to do except relax, which was perfect because that is what we wanted to do. The outlook is not the best view that you can get from Airlie Beach but we were fortunate enough to secure a reasonable view, especially if you stood up on the balcony to look out. Sitting at the table was not so good for the view. The spa bath is huge and square - just beautiful. You can arrange for the meals to be delivered to your room for a $5 charge. We chose to do this several times and it was always prompt and hot. The staff were all lovely and very accommodating. They have a shuttle bus running every 2 hours that will take you to Airlie Beach township and bring you back to the hotel. This is a great idea because as the hotel is built on the side of a mountain, it is a very steep walk down to town. It's a very steep walk to anywhere, including the pool and reception. They do offer to pick you up in the golf buggy to take you to and from dinner, pool or day spa. The pool is an infinity pool but unfortunately from most areas you can only see the rooftop of the block of units in front of you from the pool, rather than the bay area. The restaurant is outside which is lovely on a breezy hot day. I'm not so taken with the dinner meals as I do prefer something without chilli or curry and am anxious about ordering steak for fear I will ask for medium and have blood running out of it. This goes for any restaurant I eat at so is not a reflection on Peppers as such. To find something "plainer" I chose the risotto and it was divine. There is not a lot to do at the resort due to where it is situated but that was fine for us as we just wanted to chill out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a sailing trip from Airlie Beach and it more than served our requirements. It does feel like a large, newly finished multi-apartment complex, which I would have found a little impersonal if I'd stayed for much longer, however it was clean and enormous (dining area for 6 people, fully serviced kitchen, two sofas in lounge, with terrace seating for a further 6 people), so much of the space went unused for just the two of us!

There didn't sem to be that many staff around, but then it's fully self catering, so equally there shouldn't be as much need. We did once need the hair dryer to be replaced as the one in the room didnt work - the member of staff never turned up, so we gave up in the end.

The parrots are fantastic that land on the terrace at dusk.

Two less positive things - restaurant food was very average and pool was just ok - it overlooked a road and nearby roof (although an infinity pool), there's no bar and the restaurant took ages to deliver drinks. We also had a lot of people walking through, and were sat right next to the restaurant with people having business meetings which felt a little odd. Although the pool is there, it didn't feel like a focal part of the complex.

Would recommend for anyone wanting clean, comortable space as a stop over in the area. Avoid if you have difficulty walking as some parts are steep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Peppers is fantastic. The apartment is huge with open plan entertainment area. The atmosphere and view from the balcony is amazing. The 3 bedroom apartment is massive and clean. Each bedroom has an air conditioner and ensuite. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. The steep hill to walk (climb) up and down into town is exhausting but doable. This is a great hotel to stay at and highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for my birthday and loved everything about this beautiful resort. Spacious comfortable stylish self-contained rooms with great water views. Huge spa bath was a nice surprise. Restaurant served the most amazing duck at dinner, so good that I ordered it to our room the following night. Fabulous friendly staff. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I love Peppers and have stayed at several across Australia and have never been disappointed, until now. If you love Peppers and are choosing this hotel based on past Peppers' experiences, I'd do a bit more research and make an informed choice. It's not what you would expect.
So - the good stuff first:
Large room, great views, Tides restaurant is excellent, one of the best we've been to of late, the reception and pool area are lovely. The staff are friendly and the restaurant staff exceptional.
The not so good:
The water pressure is terrible, no lovely showers here and the spa bath is sooooo huge it would take ages to fill it and I just hate wasting that much water. It's a 6 seater in a 1 bedder, makes no sense.
The bed was two king singles stuck together, was very hard and the doona didn't have a cover on it, it was just sandwiched between 2 sheets which was very odd.
The cleaning and maintenance isn't great - our couch was filthy, as was the rug and the outside table had food stuck under the glass, our dryer didn't work and the bin had been snapped off the door. The room was generally just a bit grotty. Someone vomited outside the lift (obviously not the hotel's fault!) but instead of cleaning it properly it had just been hosed under the stairs and was still visible, yuk!
The pool area is stunning but tiny for such a huge hotel. There were tiles missing in the spa and the seat cushions on the few seats available had holes and/or were stained.
It's not within easy walking distance of town. The walk down isn't too bad if you've got decent knees but the walk back in tropical heat is too much (we are pretty fit but no match for the hill!) The hotel offers a shuttle but its only every 2 hours and finishes at 7pm. If you stay here, get a hire car or be prepared to get a taxi.
I can honestly say that this is the only Peppers I am not keen to revisit. That said, it was be good for a family holiday as there are 3 bedroom apartments but if you are looking to have a true 5 star hotel experience, give this one a miss.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#10 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#2 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#5 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#8 of 16 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill top overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage, Peppers Airlie Beach, offers stylish and elegant accommodation in the heart of Airlie Beach. At the resort you are perfectly positioned to experience the wonders of the spectacular Whitsunday islands and the vibrant seaside village of Airlie Beach. Accommodation includes beautifully appointed One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with majestic views of the Whitsunday passage and wide breezy verandas maximising the tropical lifestyle experience. All apartments feature bathrobes, free WiFi, clothes dryer, daily room service, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV with cable, in-house movies, hair dryer, in-room safe, in-room pay for view movie system, mini bar, air conditioning, spa bath, self contained kitchen including cook top, oven, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, freezer, microwave and dishwasher. They also feature separate lounge and dining area, iPod docking station, washing machine, ironing facilities and One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers a multitude of leisure options including the culinary delights of the exceptional Tides Restaurant & Bar, pure pampering and relaxation at the onsite endota spa or you can revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of things to do including sailing, day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, scenic flights over Whitehaven Beach, skydiving, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. In the town of Airlie Beach you will discover a selection of shops and boutiques intertwined amongst a variety of dining and entertainment venues. The Whitsunday's protected waterways, myriad of islands and Great Barrier Reef are all at your fingertips when holidaying at Peppers Airlie Beach. From 1 Feb until 31 April reception hours are Sun-Thur 7am to 7pm, Fri & Sat 7am to 9pm. For the rest of the year reception will be open 7am to 11pm daily. If you expect to arrive outside reception opening hours, please inform the property 1 day in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.