We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT a 5 star property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Airlie Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Airlie Beach to your Saves list
Peppers Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
1 review
“This is NOT a 5 star property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is NOT a 5 star property – they are self–rated and it is barely 4 star. There ought to be a law in Australia that any property that wants to call itself 4 stars or more should be properly rated by an official organisation.
The problems were obvious immediately we arrived – there is a tiny reception area – no real lobby/lounge area. There are steep steps up to reception – we had to leave our bags down in the street while checking in. So there is very little seating, and if more than 4 people were waiting for a bus/taxi, everybody else had to sit on the stone steps or stand in the street!

Accommodation is in several separate buildings so we were relieved to be told that we would be driven there with our luggage but it was a rather crummy bus with a broken seat and a woman driver swearing about not being able to fix it properly!
The entrance to the apartments reminded me of slum flats – all bare concrete, only lacking in graffiti! The metal stairs were very noisy (quite annoying when trying to sleep-in!)

The apartments are not ‘magnificently appointed’ – they are minimalist to be polite!
There is nowhere to store luggage, barely enough room to unpack clothes, you had to walk sideways in the bathroom to pass each other. There was no microwave in the kitchen despite what their website says. It has the smallest shower I have ever seen, and it was only half screened so the bathroom floor was always flooding (and no drain for it to run away) – we were forever walking in water!
There were no international shaver points – only Australian electrical outlets. The room safe was never fixed even though I asked reception on the 2nd day.
The apartments are not ‘overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage’ - most overlook the mud flats.
Even a mountain goat would be challenged by the hilly terrain you had to walk every day to and from the apartments – it was so bad that tour buses that normally picked up at other resorts, refused to come to Peppers, so you had to meet them at the bottom of the very steep hill (Mount).

The restaurant service was appalling. We booked a table for 8.15pm and when we arrived on time we were asked to sit at the bar. Nobody attended us until nearly half an hour later when I asked when we would be seated. Then we were fobbed off again with some water for another while. After our initial order, we asked for a side of chips. We agreed with the waiter that they should ‘bring with the meal’ – they arrived a full twenty minutes before the rest of the meal. Also, we asked for tomato sauce and vinegar which never arrived. (interestingly, the same happened when we ordered room-service!)

I requested a DVD Player and tourist compendium (they only have a few between 100 apartments, despite claiming to have a tourist desk, which they do not!). Instead of saying something like ‘I will bring them to your room’ as you would assume from a 4-5 star hotel, they expected me to take it myself. Since we were leaving straight away, I asked for it to wait at the desk for our return. The items then disappeared – reception had already closed when we got back about 11pm and the night porter had no idea…..

The servicing of the room was hardly much better – One day, the room was cleaned but no towels changed (not even picked up from the floor where they were mopping up water from the shower!). Toilet paper was not replenished until it actually ran out. The bath was not cleaned even though room service had to empty it because it was impossible to remove the plug!

This property is NOT a ‘resort’ – is has almost no facilities that you would expect from such a designation. The ‘stunning resort pool’ was smaller than mine at home (and smaller than any 2-bit motel). There was barely enough room to cram 10 loungers next to each other. There is a spa on the premises but it is not owned or managed by Peppers.
The Spa rang and left a message the evening before our next day appointment to delay our massage. They said they would ring in the morning but never did. We arrived 15 minutes early as requested to fill-in forms but the place was locked up and we had to wait nearly half an hour for anybody to turn up. Pepper’s Reception had no idea where they were and as they explained ‘they have nothing to do with us!’

By the way, if you are thinking of going to the Whitsunday area, I suggest you pick an island not Airlie Beach unless you are a twenty-something backpacker –the only evening entertainment is geared towards them.

I suggest Peppers checkout some real 5-star properties even in Australia let alone those in Asia – no wonder the Australian tourist industry is having troubles!

Room Tip: Most apartments are not ‘overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage’ - most overlook the mud flats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear HighStandard 2011,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your
recent stay at Peppers Coral Coast. I regret the shortcomings you have noted regarding
the resort and Airlie Beach in its self and sincerely apologise for your less than ideal
experience. I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can
address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.

PH: 07 4962 5100

Kind Regards,

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    134
    54
    18
    3
See reviews for
77
257
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Thank you SO much for making our wedding reception so perfect! Words cannot describe how happy and stress free we were on our wedding day thanks to the wonderful staff at Peppers! We chose Peppers Coral Coast due to wonderful service when we were looking at venues we went there first and then no other venue lived up to it in our eyes!

For the week that we and our guests stayed for our wedding day we can not fault the service by all staff members! Every staff member was helpful from asking things of reception staff through to the wait and bar staff! Sandi the weddings coordinator was truly wonderful through out the whole planning process and made our reception room look AMAZING! Did not have to stress about anything as she had it all under control! We regularly ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent every time! Our reception food was delicious, all our guests were raving about the food! Can not fault one thing! It is situated on a big hill, but the rooms and views make the trip up it worthwhile!

Peppers Coral Coast looked after our guests with discounted room rates for our wedding and pricing for our reception was very reasonable when comparing it with other places that we looked at. Could continue raving about it and am recommending to everyone I know!! Will be back for anniversaries for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear tmt124,

I was extremely pleased reading through your review. It sounds as though you had a wonderful time with us and we able to assist in making your wedding day perfect.

You have certainly highlighted just about all there is to say about Peppers Coral Coast. We are thrilled that you are so passionate about the property and the service. I am so lucky to have such a loyal, friendly, genuine and caring team. In true Peppers style, we will always go out of our way to assist our guests whenever possible.

Thank you so much for taking time out to post this lovely review. We greatly appreciate you giving future guests an insight of what to expect when they do stay with us.

We look forward to your first anniversary with us and hope that we can make it
as special and memorable as your wedding day.

Once again Congratulations,

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Difficult to find but well worth the steep climb.From check in to check out felt like a Queen. Staff amazing bar staff very good. Enjoyed so much booked for Christmas. Room had everything good kitchen well defined areas amazing bedroom and bathroom out of this world, spa bath was so relaxing.Cannot recommend it highly enough it was just what we needed.Ask for room on top floors for views,Just remember its built in to steep hills and needs some mobility, ask if you need easy access staff are very helpful. Cant wait to go back.What to fault ..............nothing. We have the whole of Australia to experience and I need to go back here. Next time we try the spa cant wait. Keep up the good work. Every email and telephone enquiry for our next visit was promptly returned if the could not answer at the time (questioned Christmas dinner menu in September) whoever does there customer service training deserves a gold star the staff are spot on

Room Tip: Go high for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Deservepampuring,

I’m chuffed to read that we made you feel like royalty and that you enjoyed your experience
so much that you have already booked your next stay with us. Your high recommendations
are truly inspiring which makes us even more excited & determined to continue delivering exceptional service.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely review, we look forward
to your arrival over the festive season.

Warm Regards,

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Cant really fault the staff or accomodation. The driveway might phase you the first time you drive up to the property but the view you get then makes it worhwhile. Hope they can continue to maintain the standads we experiencd. Not sure how it would be in the peak of holiday session as we stayed at the end of the school holidays. My two teenagers were also impressed and that is not easy to achieve

Room Tip: Some of the balconies may have the view obstructed by other units Im not sure. My view was picture p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and let others know about Peppers Coral Coast. Our driveway certainly has it challenges however I concur, once your here it makes it all worthwhile. We are glad that you had relaxing time with us and we able to appease your teenagers; albeit the challenge.. We hope to welcome you & your family back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a 7 night stay which was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, all staff were friendly and helpful and the accommodation was superb. I loved the fact that I could lie on the bed and watch TV or sit on the balcony and read or lie by the pool with a cocktail or coffee.The spa bath was easily big enough for two as was the bathroom and the outlook from our apartment was great.Definitely worth the trip.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room on the 3rd floor which was great but you do need to let hotel know of any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Trish,

I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay
at Peppers Coral Coast and loved the options to be able to completely
relax. We pride ourselves on delivering quality service for all our valued guests and your feedback inspires us to continue to exceed guest expectations. We hope you will visit us again next time you holiday here in Queensland.

Warm Regards,

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The facilities, room, food and staff are fantastic.They made our night perfect.
Thanks again Peppers

Room Tip: Top floor with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled
we made your wedding night perfect and you found all the facilities
fantastic. We hope to see you back for your 1st wedding anniversary
so we can make this just as memorable.
Wishing you all the best in your new life together.

Congratulations

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was intended to just be a bed for the night, we were to go out for the evening. From the moment of our arrival, we did not want to leave, we cancelled our dinner arrangements a 'stayed in'. It was beautiful, the staff were extraordinary, the apartment superb, the view breath taking, I can simply imagine people being emotional not wanting to leave here. So glad ours was only 1 night, as if we stayed any longer my husband would have had trouble in getting me to go. We stay at alot of 5 star, this is simply up there with the best of them!
Cougratulations on what will, in my opinion, obviously be Airlies best accomodation. :)
Trish & Jeff

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Trish & Jeff,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us at Peppers Coral Coast. I get so excited when we receive reviews such as yours. It reassures me that we are delivering excellent service and a quality product to seasoned five star guests...
Thank you for your very complimentary review and we hope to see you back again soon for a night in.

Warm Regards,

Leonie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill top overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage, Peppers Airlie Beach, offers stylish and elegant accommodation in the heart of Airlie Beach. At the resort you are perfectly positioned to experience the wonders of the spectacular Whitsunday islands and the vibrant seaside village of Airlie Beach. Accommodation includes beautifully appointed One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with majestic views of the Whitsunday passage and wide breezy verandas maximising the tropical lifestyle experience. All apartments feature bathrobes, free WiFi, clothes dryer, daily room service, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV with cable, in-house movies, hair dryer, in-room safe, in-room pay for view movie system, mini bar, air conditioning, spa bath, self contained kitchen including cook top, oven, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, freezer, microwave and dishwasher. They also feature separate lounge and dining area, iPod docking station, washing machine, ironing facilities and One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers a multitude of leisure options including the culinary delights of the exceptional Tides Restaurant & Bar, pure pampering and relaxation at the onsite endota spa or you can revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of things to do including sailing, day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, scenic flights over Whitehaven Beach, skydiving, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. In the town of Airlie Beach you will discover a selection of shops and boutiques intertwined amongst a variety of dining and entertainment venues. The Whitsunday's protected waterways, myriad of islands and Great Barrier Reef are all at your fingertips when holidaying at Peppers Airlie Beach. From 1 Feb until 31 April reception hours are Sun-Thur 7am to 7pm, Fri & Sat 7am to 9pm. For the rest of the year reception will be open 7am to 11pm daily. If you expect to arrive outside reception opening hours, please inform the property 1 day in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.