We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Apartments, Location could be nearer Airlie Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of at Marina Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added at Marina Shores to your Saves list
at Marina Shores
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Shingley Drive | Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“5* Apartments, Location could be nearer Airlie Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Cannot fault the accommodation or service at the Marina Shores, but 2kms to the centre was not our expectation. Lovely 2 bedroom executive apartment, with 2 double beds, 1 with en-suite, kitchen, washing m/c, dryer etc, plus plenty of storage. Nice view from our room over-looking the Marina. A little noisy sometimes due to turning vehicles, esp the coaches doing 20-point turns. Staff Service was excellent, knowledgeable and friendly. We used the 'pool' car once which is a bit costly ($20-2hrs), but flexibility wins here. (Car hire is $64/day which we also did). Our only small negativity is about the distance from Airlie Beach centre. The Flight Centre brochure stated 'a short stroll to Abel Point Marina' (agree it is), 'and Airlie Beach'. Do not agree a 2kms walk (shortest route) should be classified as a 'stroll', and this stroll is 2.5-3.0kms is you take the boardwalk (and my Strava Walking app supports this). We did walk in a few times and back, sometimes taking taxi. ($5-10 one way). We found the buses too infrequent, and was told it is cheaper by taxi when you have 4 people. Lastly Airlie Beach itself - currently undergoing extensive road/pavement works to pedestrianize the high street. It will be nice when completed. But, check out Airlie Beach resort itself before booking, as we found there is not much to do. (compared to our visit to Port Douglas the previous year, where we found some nice quality shops and restaurants)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    52
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
79
107
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

What a find! The apartments were clean, fully equipped and very stylish with a fantastic view of the ocean.

We hired the pool car which was a great touch and the staff were very helpful and friendly. These apartments really are 5* and definitely worth the money!

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in a Two Bed-room Apartment, very clean & comfortable - Full size kitchen & dining areas, great lounge area & brilliant view from our huge balcony. We were visited by a friendly cockatoo, who hung around for a few hours...great unexpected guest. Enjoyed the position & easy walk to the boardwalk & Abel Point Marina. Highly recommend this Hotel, the staff are very good, & helpful with Barrier Reef bookings & Local Info.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment and we couldn't have asked for more! Beds were comfortable, kitchen and living room were spacious kids were happy to run around. Balcony was huge and the view over the gardens and water was spectacular. Easy walk along the boardwalk to a bus stop that took us into Airlie. No steep hills to drive up to or walk up/down. You will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a spectacular view. Stayed in a two bedroom two level penthouse. Floor to ceiling glass to enjoy the view. Classy furnishings. Very comfortable beds. Computerised lighting was amazing. Plenty of fridge space with a full size fridge in the living area and another full size fridge on the upper balcony. Beautifully manicured lawns and gardens. Sparkling clean pool. Very friendly staff. I couldn't find the rubbish bins and a young male employee took my rubbish to the bins for me. Very pleasant. Absolutely loved our stay there and will be back in the future. Fully self contained and everything you need. There was even a seafood set in the drawers which came in handy as we had some lovely mud crabs given to us. Nick was very effecient and very pleasant. Booking was easy and for a small fee we got a late checkout of 12pm and enjoyed another breakfast on the balcony with that spectacular view without having to rush to pack up. Enjoyed watching all the walkers and joggers on the boardwalk too. Very memorable. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the little bit more to get the penthouse. Works out more economical if you have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very impressed with the location, price (got a great deal) and the service. The view over Abel Point marina was perfect. We will be back and have already decided there is no need to stay on the islands as you can stay at Marina Shores and take day trips to the islands and reef. Short walks to the shopping centre at Cannonvale, Abel Point Marina and into Airlie Beach. The service provided by Nick and the team was first class. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the moment you walk on the property, you are made feel welcome by fun loving team. The accommodation is set in a beautiful setting. The suite (more than just a room) is extremely beautiful and comfortable. There is a wonderfully kept pool and gardens are a dream. I could not fault this beautiful accommodation. Easy to get to, great walking trek, close to town but far enough away not to be bothered by others. I can’t wait to come back. Actually I didn’t want to leave. THANKYOU!!

Room Tip: OMG just wonderful. Just give it a go, you will not regret it..... P.S take a loved one..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to at Marina Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Marina Shores

Address: 159 Shingley Drive | Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — at Marina Shores 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Shores absolute waterfront living is positioned in a prestigious oceanfront location in Airlie Beach. Consisting of 50 luxurious fully self contained apartments with views overlooking Abel Point Marina, the Coral Sea and to the Whitsunday Islands this is certainly a new standard of fashionable accommodation in Airlie Beach.The variety of rooms include, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom spa apartments and incredible 2 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses. Marina Shores has been designed to be totally different in space, light and colour with vogue interiors, spacious balconies, state of the art lighting and a heated 30 metre pool with lush gardens ensuring each guests enjoys an oasis of luxury and tranquility. Just a 5 minute stroll along the seaside boardwalk to Abel Point Marina where tours depart for the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and the Whitsunday Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your at Marina Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Shores Hotel Airlie Beach
At Marina Shores Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage at Marina Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.