We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Excellent View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Airlie Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Airlie Beach to your Saves list
Peninsula Airlie Beach
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Stay, Excellent View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a bunch of friends we headed down to the Whitsundays to enjoy some sun and sand. The Peninsula Airlie Beach Apartments were the icing on the cake of an amazing holiday. The apartment was spacious, new and comfortable.

Waking up to an amazing view was definitely a large perk of this place. Staff was extremely helpful both at check in and check out, filling us in on the area.

One recommendation would be to hire a car while you stay at Peninsula, it is quite far to walk to anywhere other than Abel Point Marina, and the taxis aren't as reliable as we thought.

Overall had a great stay at Peninsula and would definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Sim K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments on Trip Advisor.

Yes, the majority of our previous guests would agree with you, If you are looking for a Great Stay & Excellent Views - The Peninsula is definitely the best place to chill out with friends & families in The Whitsundays, Peninsula has the best location as well being positioned in the middle between the shopping centre & the town of Airlie Beach! Free Wi fi, privacy, tranquillity & secured car parks are also some of the facilities we offer our guests.

Our apartments are built for long term stays as most have been occupied by its owners for lengthy period of times before they've decided to use them for holiday lettings therefore these apartments are made to have the comfort & luxury surroundings that everybody would expect from a 5 Star Luxury Self Contained Apartments. These are the reasons that made us the number one Travellers Choice on Trip Advisor for 2 years in a row - 2012 & 2013.

We would like to encourage future guests to sample everything we are offering at The Peninsula from its beautiful surroundings to the most magnificent water views from the mainland.

Please note that we always have special rates for all direct bookings.

Please come & visit us again in the future.

Best regards
Dorothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
50
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were really impressed by the quality of our apartment. It was finished to a very high standard with a very well equipped kitchen.  The view from the large balcony over the marina was superb.  The pool was great.  We received friendly and helpful advice on arrival and throughout our stay.

The apartments are conveniently located about 10 minutes from the Abell Point Marina where most of the activities and tours depart from. It is a slightly longer but very pleasant walk into Airlie Beach itself or in the other direction to Cannonvale where the supermarket is located.

We would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi wiggyh,

We are glad that you've found our location superb & our apartments the best in the area.

Most of our guests couldn't get enough of how nice it is to stay at The Peninsula...the luxurious finishes in our apartments plus the water views are definitely something that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime!

As for our very helpful staff, we are always willing to provide you with the best advise we can offer. We are all locals therefore we've also experienced most of the tours we recommend and we always keep an eye out for the best experiences we can offer our guests during their stay in The Whitsundays. We keep close contacts with local operators and we usually find the best value for money tours for our guests.

We are only 20 minutes flat walk away on either direction for the convenient of the restaurants & cafes of the town of Airlie Beach & the Whitsunday Shopping Centre. On-Line shopping for your grocery items are encouraged for all our guests & their groceries can be delivered on the day of their arrival.

We hope you'll come back again to The Peninsula.

Best regards from
Dorothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Have just returned from our second stay with Peninsula @ Airlie Beach - we just love this place.
Stayed in a 2bd Penthouse 3 years ago and it was fabulous but this time 2bd Superior Corner Apartment was just the BEST - 180 degree views of the Whitsundays and Abel Point Marina.
This huge size ultra modern accomodation is further enhanced by the Resort managers John, Sandy and Dorothy - to whom nothing is too much trouble. Quiet location on immaculately kept grounds, walking distance to the Marina and all the day Cruises. Thank You again ! We will back for a 3rd stay guaranteed !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Jackson22Brisbane,

Its been a real pleasure for all of our management & staff to hear that you've rated us as your favourite accommodation ever! We are all so happy about it as we pride ourselves of our fabulous & quiet location plus the convenience of our close proximity to the marina.

Our Superior Apartments are the most luxurious in the area as nothing could beat its wide open balconies, the luxurious surroundings, modern facilities & that awesome waterfront view!!! These apartments are usually allocated to VIP regulars & we are so glad to have had the chance to offer you this luxury accommodation on your recent stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay & wish you the best for the rest of the year!

Best regards from
Dorothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our Daughter had her wedding ceremony on the grass area with the rotunda at the Penninsula last weekend at 3pm with the reception at Peppers Resort.
From the moment I checked in I thought the lady in reception was very unwelcoming, thinking it was just me I shrugged it off.
The wedding ceremony was at 3pm Saturday which was the same time our Daughter arranged and paid for late checkout of the bridal parties 2- 3 bedroom penthouses. Giving our Daughter her last kiss in the room we were given the room keys to return to reception. Running to do this at the last minute, I handed the keys into reception and l was one key short. The lady told me I would need to get the key. l quickly explained that my daughter's wedding ceremony was about to start, she still replied l would need to get the key. When I stated this is ridiculous she made the comment that most people stay another night.
Holding up the wedding, one of the guests returned the key to the office and told her what he thought!!!! It was quite upsetting!!
Apart from that, the views were beautiful and the rooms were nice, but considering the price they should be!!

Room Tip: If travelling in a group, stay on the same floor, keys only access the floor you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Judy,

Firstly we'd like to Thank You for your Trip Advisor Review as this is one way you are helping us in ensuring we stay on top of our business.

Secondly we'd like to apologise for the unpleasant experience you had with our temporary receptionist. Unfortunately she was given strict instructions to make sure she gets the keys back upon checkout therefore she is just following instructions when she insisted on getting the keys back right away not considering the delay she has created during the wedding ceremony. We are now reviewing this particular procedure after your review & hope that nobody else would experience the same incident at Peninsula.

Thirdly, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in our luxurious apartments & that you liked our absolute waterfront views.

Lastly, we do hope that you'll consider coming back to The Peninsula another time.

Once again, many thanks for staying with us.

Best regards from
Dorothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at a 2 Bedroom apartment at Peninsula though only one room was available to us and that's all we required. Not sure about 5 star as we were disappointed with the kitchen area hygiene - it really wasn't pristine clean as there was dried food around the cupboards and a little greasy. There was a badly broken glass in one cupboard which was somehow missed by house-keeping. For a 5 star the floor was badly marked and could have done with a clean which may have reduced the apartments attraction for ants! The balcony glass was grubby and lots of bird poo which could have been easily cleaned. However it has to be said the apartment has a most spectacular view over the marina and we thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing location. There is a little walking required but we didn't mind this as we really wanted some exercise. A BBQ on such a great balcony area would have been nice but all in all this is a lovely location and the negatives which are important could be resolved with good management and especially good house-keeping. Disappointing standard to our tourism when we really need to be boosting the Queensland economy and we opted to holiday here as opposed to Fiji.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi snoopyntommy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us.

We are indeed very lucky to be located in such a convenient yet relaxing & peaceful location. The wonderful flat board walk that connects us to the main streets of Airlie Beach with all its cafes /restaurants plus our proximity to Abell Point Marina & on the other side to the shopping centre is only a short stroll from us.

It is certainly disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the kitchen area in your apartment. We will make a note of your comment and discuss this with our Housekeeping Department to see what we can do to improve it and ensure that no one experiences the same thing ever again.

We’ve also forwarded a request to management to have a BBQ available to our guests upon requests. This is one thing that no one has mentioned to us previously therefore hasn't been addressed.

Please note that all these negatives could have been resolved if only management was informed about it as soon as you’ve encountered these issues i.e. having an absolute waterfront location for all our balconies pose an attractive location for the cockatoos & kookaburras to sometimes hang around to see if the tourists will take photos & feed them or for them to check out the water for some great fishing. If you could have notified the onsite management team as soon as you’ve discovered that there had been bird poo on your balcony floor, they would have organised the cleaners to attend to it immediately.

Nevertheless we are so grateful for your feedback as we can use this information to improve our ways of servicing our apartments and ensure future guests have the most memorable & pleasant stay at The Peninsula.

Best regards from
Dorothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I guess the title really summarises what we thought about our holiday. The views and the rooms were realy great, but it is quite a walk to everything , especially in the evenings. I have to say the confort of the rooms and the value for money paid for the accomodation might tempt us ot return but we will look into a few more other options next time round. The furnishing was also nice and thoughtful/practical

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi adventuroustravel...

Many thanks for doing a review on Trip Advisor on your thoughts about your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the accommodation and its luxurious surroundings. And yes we do have very comfortable furnishings and great competitive rates.

As for the location, we are only a short taxi ride around $10.00 from most places in Airlie Beach therefore there was really no need for you to walk 20 minutes at night unless you chose to, especially after a meal. In fact some restaurants even offer free transport to and from the accommodation places within the area.

Anyway, we hope to see you again soon in the not so distant future.

Best regards from
The Peninsula Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment at the Peninsula. It had stunning views over the Abel Point marina and a gorgeous balcony to enjoy them from. The apartment was very spacious with a large open plan living/dining area, upstairs bedroom with it's own large ensuite and walk in robe and downstairs bedroom with another bathroom. It was a great walk into town along the boardwalk. We did this at least once every day. No complaints here. What a lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Megan C,

The team at Peninsula are glad to hear that you had a terrific stay with us recently.

Our proximity to town, the bicentennial boardwalk that hugs the coastline with its magnificent view plus our luxurious apartments are a real treat for all our guests to enjoy.

The Penthouses are a great way to enjoy being in one of the most wonderfully designed apartments with its spacious balconies & great surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peninsula.

Our best regards
Dorothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Airlie Beach

Address: 144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Airlie Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peninsula Airlie Beach is a five star absolute water front apartment complex, complete with their own individual marina berths. All apartment balconies which are large have expansive views over the marina and out to the Coral Sea and northern Whitsunday Islands. Choice is from 1 - 4 bedroom apartments with fully ducted air conditioning, large balconies, with elevator access to all floors. Free marina berth and internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peninsula Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Peninsula
Peninsula Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.