We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality and Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Airlie Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Airlie Beach to your Saves list
Peninsula Airlie Beach
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High Quality and Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent a week at The Peninsula in September. It is clean, modern and the 2 bedroom penthouse we rented had everything you could want. It is located near Able Point Marina , about 20 minutes by footpath to the main drag of Airlie Beach, well away from the pubs etc. we had a great bacony which overlooked the marina, and you could see loads of fish & rays from it each day. The staff were really helpful & can book trips etc for you, but you are left pretty much to yourself which is great for us. Only negatives were no WiFi which is a pain although you can get a cable for Broadband and a BBQ would be great too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Negatives: Click Clack Lounges. Management hard to contact - we had a fire alarm go off due to burnt toast & were not able to get through to anyone to let them know everthing was ok. We did leave a message but there was no response. Lots of dirty dishes we had to clean before we could use them. $500 bond charge which was not mentioned when booking - that was a big surprise! No BBQ Area.
Positives: Views - stunning. Location - quiet and only a 20min walk to town. Room - very spacious with an awesome balcony which we could fish off and very private - comfortable beds - great laundry - bathrooms were great - plenty of towels provided. Pool - lovely.
The positives did outweigh the negatives and we would stay again & recommend to friends and colleagues. I would just suggest management try and make themselves more accessible and let people know on booking about the bond fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hello Julie

Firstly thanks for taking the time to write your review and thanks for your kind words and concerns. I would like to address your concerns. I'm not sure why we were hard to contact as our after hours number is in all compendiums in all apartments, my mobile is located in two positions at reception along with the entry to Peninsula and Peninsula's main number is diverted to my mobile after hours.

Regarding the lounges, and the noise, they were sofa's which open and close and did make a clicky noise when used,new lounges were on order and unfortunatly were delivered just after your stay.

Your comment about the dishes /cultery, the water marks are due to high calcium levels in our water leaving what sometimes appears to look like they are not cleaned properly.This has been addressed with our cleaning staff.

Because we ajoin Shingley Beach Park (a 20 mtr walk from our gate to the first BBQ site) which is beautifully kept by our local council and has three BBQ covered sites we decided not to have a BBQ on site.

Regarding our policy to do a Pre-auth of $500.00 which only puts a hold on this amount, it's not actually paid or taken off your card unless required, a Pre-auth is a Peninsula standard procedue, this is stated in your booking confirmation.

So Julie again thanks for your review and we do look forward to your return to Peninsula and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic outlook over the Marina, we saw fish, turtle and stingray from our balcony. Apartment was lovely, very spacious and modern with shutters on windows/doors to control light & heat. Great location with lovely walk around boardwalk into Airlie Beach or Cannonvale. The location is what really made our holiday - we had 6 days of walks, breakfast on balcony, swimming in pool and Airlie lagoon, sunbathing, reading, snoozing and watching movies, eating and drinking before we realized we had not actually 'done' anything! Only one complaint - dishwasher did not clean properly so ended up washing dishes by hand.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hello Penny

Thank you for the positive comments and your time to wrtite this review. We are glad you had a great stay at Peninsula and look forward to your next visit.

Peninsula is a self catering apartment complex and there is enough provisioning for a day to get you through untill you shop. eg soaps,shampoo's, tea, coffee, sugar, washing deturgent and dishwashing machine powder etc etc.

Dishwashing machines require a special tablet or powder to work correctly, we did find after you left half a cake of soap in the dishwasher, this is why the machine didn't wash correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked the 4 bedroom penthouse over looing the fabulous Marina.. The accomadation was second to none.. Absolutely fabulous.. My father loves to fish and he would go downstairs and fish off the rocks and catch large cod, snapper and brim.. He is a hard man to please at the best of times.. He said it was the best holiday he has had.. My brother and his girfriend also had an amazing time.. The decor, beds ect at the penthouse are amazing.. The beds in particular are incredible.. We had the best nights sleep and now are trying desperately to contact the provider of the matresses.. Dorothy the manager is also extremely helpful..

A definate must stay.. Don't bother looking elsewhere as nothing will beat the Peninsula.. We will be booking again at xmas..

Room Tip: Second level is perfet to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
431 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a 4 bedroom penthouse which has on-the-water views of the adjacent marina with its luxury yacht finery and Hayman and Hook Islands in the distance. The picturesque Airlie to Cannonvale walking trail goes right by the Peninsula entrance and is adjacent to the Shingley Beach Park - this must be Airlie Beach’s number 1 position. It has a mix of private residences and rooms for rent or lease and has impressive grounds, a nice pool, full electronic card security and spotlessly clean. We took heed of other Trip Advisor comments - It is not a bed and breakfast or hotel, so you need to order in or buy your food and drinks or eat at good quality restaurants within easy walking distance.
Our apartment was tastefully equipped with original art work, plush luxury furniture, latest HD TV, quiet air conditioning, spotless bathrooms, soft beds and a fully equipped kitchen with European appliances and all the utensils and crockery you could need. We decided on a 5 star occasional splurge and were delighted by our choice, sipping bubbly as the sun set and then awakening to the sound of sea birds and pristine Coral Sea views, dotted with islands in the Whitsundays. Our apartment also had views down the Cannonvale coast line from the back and was very quiet, away from the Airlie night club scene.
It would be wonderful to live there permanently and there is no doubt to its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Splurge on a penthouse - the view and luxury is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed at many places in our travels around the world and have to say that the Peninsula at Airlie Beach comes out on top!
We spent 5 nights in Apartment 33 which aforded us total luxury. The apartment is beautifully furnished and the kitchen is very well equipped with top quality appliances and plenty of cookware and tableware. We took full advantage of this and cooked some lovely meals which we ate out on the balcony, overlooking the marina and Pioneer Bay.
As the Peninsula is situated at the tip of Abel Point, there is no passing traffic and the only sound to be heard at night is the lapping of the waves on the rocks! It is also a treat to stand on the balcony at night and look up at the stars.
Security and car parking are also top class. The entire complex has been created with an eye for detail and no expense has been spared. There is even an office in the apartment with internet access at no extra charge!
We received a very warm welcome from Sandy and Dorothy and would like to say a big "Thankyou" to them for a wonderful stay ............ we shall definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms at the northern end have all day sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Would recommend you use the apartment as if you at home. Stock up the fridge and pantry sit back and relish in your newfound paradise. You truly do not even need to leave your beautiful abode as every room envelopes you with the outside beauty of the glorious Whitsundays.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#2 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#10 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#22 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#5 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Airlie Beach

Address: 144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Airlie Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peninsula Airlie Beach is a five star absolute water front apartment complex, complete with their own individual marina berths. All apartment balconies which are large have expansive views over the marina and out to the Coral Sea and northern Whitsunday Islands. Choice is from 1 - 4 bedroom apartments with fully ducted air conditioning, large balconies, with elevator access to all floors. Free marina berth and internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Peninsula Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Peninsula
Peninsula Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.