We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Azure Sea

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Azure Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Azure Sea
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   26-34 Raintree Place, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

This place is absolutely amazing. The view is to die for. The cooking facilities are excellent - all Miele. We cooked a barbie a few nights which was great also. It was so lovely and relaxing sitting on the beautiful spacious balcony overlooking Airlie Beach and the Whitsundays. The worst thing about the Azure Sea was having to leave. This resort should definitely be rated 5 stars. I've noticed some people disliked the walk back up the hill to the Azure Sea but on a beautiful night it is really not that bad. A good way to work off a little bit of over indulgence!! We would definitely go back there again. We could not fault the place.

  • Liked — The Views and the Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to leave.......
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    26
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
73
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff Wales
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

I am not sure what words to use to describe the Azure Sea Whitsunday apartments. When we entered the apartment we were not just delighted but amazed, yes it really is worth a visit.

The apartment we had on the second floor was fitted out to a very high standard including the gigantic TV. The kitchen facilities were more than you could require for a holiday. The view from the balcony was spectacular and the pool area is very inviting. We had the pool to ourselves every time we used it.

The management at the apartments were very helpful and assisted us to rearrange a boat trip after we found out the Jazz2 company we had booked with had gone bust two weeks before.

This is definitely the place to stay in Airlie Beach.

The only bad point is the apartments are at the top of a hill, alright to walk down to the town,about 5 to10 minutes but get a $4 to $5 taxi back up .

A trip out to the islands is a must they are beautiful. We went one day on an island /snorkeling trip, then caught the ferry to Hamilton Island well worth it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The hill upto the building
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

Found this gem on a website when we (Husband & I & friends) arrived in Airlie Beach, only planed on staying 2 nights & stayed 4.
The 2 Bed apartment was well equiped, spacious & the views were fantastic. One of the bedroomed was ensuite ( you could have a bath & admire the views of the ocean.
The only negative is that the apartment is a bit of a walk from the town a good 15min uphill, but there are taxis about.
I would recommend this to anyone. It was one of the best apartments we stayed in, during our month trip to Oz.

  • Liked — The View.
  • Disliked — The walk from town - but it was good to walk off the Fab Fish & Chips
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

I spent 3 nights here after catching the overnight Greyhound bus from Cairns. WOW! The apartment was awesome, kitchen/dinner/lounge open plan with large bedroom and on suite bathroom. There was just so much space. The view from the balcony was amazing. The walk into town is a downhill 10-15mins, a cab back was $5. The town is a gateway to the Islands, take advantage of this, as most backpackers are based in Airlie Beach!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Large, spacious well appointed unit. Great verandah and sensational views. Nice and quiet and close enough to town to walk. Going down hill is fine - uphill a little more difficult and recommend a taxi if you have been shopping.
The cleanliness of the apartment was the biggest dissapointment. Every thing that you took out of the kitchen cupboards had to be washed. There was only one wine glass and upon request - 6 hours later more glasses arrived. They only supplied 2 towels and 1 t-towel- not enough for a 4 night stay. The toilet in the second bathroom had NOT been cleaned at all!
For the price and rating of this accomodation the cleanliness was extremly dissappointing and because of this would not stay there again, even though the rest of the facilities were first class. Managment really need to spot check there cleaners from time to time.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuremanager, General Manager at Grand Mercure Azure Sea, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Our housekeeping staff are some of the very best. Under our tenure, all cleanliness issues from the past have been rectified and no longer occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Arrived in Airlie Beach for 3 nights and absolutley loved this accommodation - probably the best we stayed in during our drip down the east coast. We stayed in a penthouse and the views are spectacular. Property is really quiet and the standard of accommodation is really excellent - it's pure luxury, modern, spotless and with every conceivable appliance you could possibly want. If you're looking for a decent place to eat in Airlie Beach, check out Verandah at the end of Shute Harbour Road along the seafront - great food, service and prices.

  • Liked — Size of apartment
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Our group of three couples spent two nights in the three bedroom penthouse after 7 nights out sailing the Whitsundays. We were looking forward to the air conditioning and the chance to dry off all our clothes (monsoon season). The Mercure did not disappoint - it felt like the apartment was brand new, there was plenty of room and the views were spectacular. Pool was stunning, town centre was an easy walk down the hill and around $5 in a cab home. We were all very happy with the high standard of this hotel, modern, new decor, cathedral ceilings, big tele, the crisp thick sheets and the beautiful sea view from our enormous terrace!

  • Liked — Pool, view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Azure Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Azure Sea

Address: 26-34 Raintree Place, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Specialty lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Azure Sea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Azure Sea is located at Airlie Beach, gateway to the famous Whitsunday Islands. This four star resort features 30 self catering apartments, fully equipped with the latest European appliances, surrounded by landscaped tropical gardens and only 15 minutes walk from the main beach or shopping centre. Guests enjoy stunning 180 degree views over the Coral Sea to Hayman Island and a spectacular infinity edge waterfall swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Azure Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Azure Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Grand Mercure Azure Sea Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Azure Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.