We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & warm hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Airlie Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments
Save
You added Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments to your Saves list
20 Airlie Crescent, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service & warm hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lisa and Stuart honestly made our stay at Sunlit Waters easily one of the most memorable, not only because of the amazing hill-top views and sunlit vistas (as the name says), but also because their hospitality completely blew us away. We had forgotten our umbrella, and a towel for our sailing trip and they lent theirs to us without any hesitation. Then when the thunderstorm hit on Sunday night, Stuart helped us to order pizza, without any fuss. I believe the epitome of their excellent service can be seen here - when we had called the airport transfer company too late to arrange for a bus shuttle to the airport, Stuart woke up especially early to personally drive around the neighborhood to catch the shuttle, so it would pick me up instead of me having to take a cab to the airport. And later i found out that if i had really missed the bus, Stuart would have been willing to personally drive me down to the airport (a good 30 minutes away by car).

thanks Lisa & Stuart for being such tremendously amazing hosts! u guys made our Whitsundays trip a beautiful memory!

cheers,
felicia from Singapore (currently living in Argentina)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
156
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a small studio apartment for a few nights. From Abel Point Marina you can catch a shuttle bus for $3. It is only a few minute walk into town where you can buy groceries. Lisa was really helpful in re-arranging our day tours after one had been cancelled. Her husband drove us back to the marina when it was time to go. We couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The view of the marina from the patio and pool area is lovely. Wifi was free but it wouldn't work in our room (room number 1) so we needed to sit outside to use it. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here! It was just wonderful! This was by far the best value accommodation we had in Australia. We did not know what to expect and enetered our room with trepidation. We need not have worried. It was perfect. Far away from the action to get a good nights sleep. Close enough to be in the tick of it.

Having our own pool was just the Cherry on a well iced cake! The view was second to non being high up and above the houses. I wouldn't worry about the hill. The eating in Airlie can be a little unhealthy, so I think we could all do with a little bit of exercise!

The washing facilities there also helped immensely. A really friendly place to be. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Airlie!

Room Tip: They are all superb! You cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very clean and compact self contained apartment. The units each have a balcony (but it is in the shared walkway) that overlooks the marina. The view is superb!

Lisa and her husband are nice and helpful people and made the stay even nicer with their humor and golden advice what to do on a rainy day.

The apartments are only a short walk to town and the marina, from where all the aquatic tours are taking off.

Sunlit waters is a gem among the other overpriced studios!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay just a few minutes walk from town (up a steep hill!). Hosts were very welcoming and more than willing to go the extra mile. Only the basics provided for self catering but there are a few cheap eateries in town. Nice views from the shared balcony area and a small pool in which to cool off at the end of the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is priced only a few bucks over backpackers private room rates but is probably the best self contained apartment I've ever stayed in. Your a fool not to stay here. 5 min walk to the main street in Airlie too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Compact self contained apartment, only a double bed however. Everything clean and modern. The units each have a balcony (but it is in the shared walkway) that overlooks the marina. There is a pool and a larger balcony common area. The host was very pleasant and helpful. We only stayed one night but this would be a good base for longer stays. The apartments are only a short walk to town, but it is high up the hill so coming home is a bit more of an effort. We arranged to book the unit via the tourist information in the Main Street of Airlie, the website seems to suggest they prefer longer stays, but obviously overnight can be achieved. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#1 of 50 in Airlie Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#2 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#4 of 50 in Airlie Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments

Address: 20 Airlie Crescent, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.