We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view - great stay for family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Star Apartments to your Saves list
Sea Star Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2 Nara Avenue, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - great stay for family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Sea Star. The view was wonderful especially the sun rise. The apartment was clean and spacious and we enjoyed walking down to the town daily and survived without a car. We liked the quietness being away from the main street and you can see the stars at night. There is a BBQ that you can use and the kitchen had all the stuff we needed to make simple meals. Julie and Alan were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We were glad to read you had such a wonderful time and that you got home safely.
Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Regards
Julie & Alan
Resident Managers
Sea Star Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
75
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Yes, it's a steep climb up the hill but it's a short walk, really, from the Town Centre. We had a spacious 1 bedroom apartment and it was clean and the bed was comfy. The view from the verandah is breathtaking. The kitchen was well-equipped but I was disappointed that there wasn't so much as complimentary salt and pepper to accommodate vacationing guests, i.e., be prepared to bring/purchase absolutely everything you'll need for your stay. Airlie Beach is a great place to depart from to explore the Whitsundays and Sea Star Apartments is expert at recommending and booking tours, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi, thank you very much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
When guests arrive they have a starter pack in their apartment with tea, sugar, coffee, dishwashing liquid and cubes for the dish washer, laundry powder, soaps, shampoo, to name but a few items which normally suffices when they are here for a couple of days. Salt and pepper are readily available from the office, along with tin foil for the BBQ and f there is anything else that a guests requires, all they have to do is ask and we will do our best to accommodate them.
We look forward to seeing you back at Sea Star Apartments.
Regards
Julie & Alan
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a ball here, only downside is the walk home up the hill. But hey it's exercise after dinner. Wow views I rate this place... Close to great walk. Management also very helpful and good value.The views over the islands and marina are wonderful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Paul,
Thanks for the lovely review and we're glad you enjoyed the exercise, it makes that meal and drink in the evening more enjoyable.
Hope to see you again
Regards
Julie & Alan
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had an overall good stay at these apartments. They are spacious, have a great view and the beds are very comfortable. They were also very good at providing bedding and high chairs for the kids.

The main thing we weren't warned about was how far up the hill from the town centre it is, and to stay here you really need a rental car. Only other things were a poorly equipped kitchen (ie very small pots and pans, terrible knives, no bottle opener, etc) and in our apartment there were uncomfortable leather couches, but I saw another apartment that had more comfortable fabric lounges.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bed Appartment last week. Location up on the hill gives the most amazing views over Airlie Beach. Spacious, modern, clean and very well equipped. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Claire,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. You can't have the views that we have without being up this high and away from the noise in town.
We look forward to having you back.
Regards
Julie & Alan
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

we stayed here in February and once again in march 2012 after a disastrous stay at a resort in Cairns Julie and Allan were very helpful and fitted us in even though they were pretty much fully booked nothing was ever to much trouble.can arrange any tours for you .The apartments were the cleanest we had come across on our two month trip .The view from our apartment was so amazing we just wanted to stay forever .We will definitely stay here next time we return to Airlie Beach .

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was the first place we stayed on a month long tour of Australia, New Zealand and Fiji and we couldn't have asked for a better start. Of all the places we stayed it was our joint favourite. The manager Julie was really helpful and got us sorted with a couple of different day trips that we really enjoyed. The apartment was very spacious and would be a great place to spend an extended period, we were sad we were only there for 3 nights. It is a little bit of a walk to the main street but it isn't too far and the taxi up the hill is cheap. The views are spectacular and the infinity pool is a real plus.

Room Tip: If you got one near reception you could probably pick-up the wifi they have in reception, ours was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Apartments

Address: 2 Nara Avenue, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Star Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Star Apartments is conveniently located in Airlie Beach enjoying breathtaking total island and ocean views from every terraced apartment. Come and enjoy yourself in one of our self contained apartments all with large balconies, full kitchens, laundries and uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, Hayman Island and Hook Island yet nestled close to Airlie Beach Village. Perfectly positioned to command unparalleled views of the 74 island Whitsunday Islands region, yet offering complete privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Star Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.