We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming break at Airlie Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Island View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Island View Bed and Breakfast
19 Nara Avenue, Airlie Beach, Queensland QLD 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Airlie Beach B&B and Inns
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most welcoming break at Airlie Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After along 2 night stop from Brisbane to the Barrier Reef I was delighted to have found the 'Island View' B&B, (more like a 5* UK Hotel room). Found on Nara Avenue, the property sits high up on the side of a steep hill offering views to the ocean and the Whitsundays. Accomodation was 1st class. Island view is a modern private family house with 3 rooms to rent, a swimming pool for use. A short walk down the hill finds you in the centre of Airlie Beach amidst the many restaurants and bars. I had organised a trip to the barrier reef and the organisers collect from the accomodation so no problem there. Highly recommended for a most comfortable and short stay. (sadly I can't seem to upload photos)

Room Tip: All rooms (3 only) face the ocean and overlook the pool which is available for customer use. Breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very happy with this beautiful B&B. The views over the bay were incredible! Our room was spotless and very spacious. Breakfasts on the deck were very tasty. Wifi was also a welcome addition. Karen was very generous in allowing us to store our luggage with her while we went on a sailing trip in the Whitsundays and then letting us stay in the apartment across the road when we returned. Views were spectacular from the deck up there! The pool was a very nice retreat. We walked into town each evening for dinner but took a taxi back, which was not very expensive. It is up a steep hill, but that is what you get when you have the fantastic views! No regrets!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

great place to stay can see Airlie beach from the bed, big room, air con, ceiling fan, bar fridge, shower a bit small, ( i am 6ft tall so most people wouldn't have a problem ) pool area was nice, walk into town is good as it is down hill coming back was not so easy, very short steep hills.
Had pizza delivered to the B & B ( Beagle pizza wasn't too bad, good value for $20 delivered to your door. )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

By Airlie Beach holiday prices, this place was reasonably priced ($140/night), but certainly not budget accommodation. The room was spacious, well furnished and with a great view over over Airlie Beach waterfront. Bed was comfortable. Large ensuite bathroom. All very clean. Guests also have use of a large sitting room and an outside deck (with more great views) on which breakfast is served.
The breakfast was the only slight disappointment. It was continental style, but without any choice of fruit juice, cereal or condiments. Luckily, between my wife and I, we found something to suit each of our tastes, but there should really have been some variety/choice provided - particularly at this price.
The host was very friendly and helpful.
We would be happy to stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We found this BnB before we travelled to Australia via TripAdvisor (thanks guys!) and it was lovely! The owners were really friendly and we were lucky to get a room as they had just returned from their own holidays. They accommodated us with ease and we were presented with the King Suite which had a fantastic view of the coast! The bed was huge and very comfy (there was a large mark on one side of the sheets although the sheets appeared to freshly washed)! We also had a/c, a spacious bathroom, flat screen TV, and good storage facilities, along with tea/coffee making facilities and a well stocked mini bar with drinks and snacks. As we had been travelling all day we quickly dropped our bags to explore Airlie Beach and enjoy a meal. On our return we settled in for the night only to find two geckos which had taken residence in our room! Try as we might we couldn’t get them out of the room (the room had many screen windows so we think they came in under the room door as there was a gap at the bottom of it). They didn’t bother us but others guests who have a phobia of reptiles might be uncomfortable with this. We also had a visit from a number of ants as well, including in our kettle :(, and we didn’t see an ant station in our room which would’ve solved this issue.
The next morning a rap at the door made us aware that our breakfast was ready – and what a breakfast! We exited our room to the communal breakfast balcony with the most awe inspiring view! We both had the places set with the following - muesli, orange juice, percolated coffee or tea, croissants (warm), assorted jams, and butter. After we had finished we loaded up the car to continue our journey and Karen gave us great advice on the next leg of our journey which was greatly appreciated as it was a very boring drive! : ) Only minor issues tainted our stay, but we would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend this BnB to anyone staying in Airlie Beach!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed one night recently as a solo female and enjoyed the stay. My room was very well appointed and comfortable (very comfy king size bed)and had lovely views from my window and also the balcony next door in the sitting room. Breakfast on the balcony the next morning was lovely looking out to the island. There is a swimming pool on the grounds. The staff I encountered were extremely obliging and welcoming. Walking distance to the Esplanade for restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: I had a "king suite" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This stay was organised as a brief stop-over en route to Hamilton Island. We just had one night, but would have liked more, both for the B&B itself which was clean, comfortable and well appointed and also for the friendly welcome and good advice of our hosts. Also Airlie Beach had so much more to offer than an overnight stay could do justice to. An interestingly steep drive on which to park!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Nara Avenue, Airlie Beach, Queensland QLD 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Bed And Breakfast Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.