We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to have your wedding night or Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Resort to your Saves list
Waters Edge Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Airlie Beach B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location to have your wedding night or Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Holding a wedding on an island in North Queensland in the wet season has slight risks, however what's the chances that a cyclone will actually be predicted for your wedding day? When planning our dream wedding, this was a risk we took. 48 hours from our wedding day, the ferries were stopping at 6pm and many of our guests were still to arrive on the mainland the following day. With the support of the Airlie Beach community, we organised our entire day in 24 hours, the one area that you don't generally need to take into consideration when planning your wedding is the individual accommodation needs of your guests. Many of the local accommodation providers were extremely helpful to our guests at such short notice, however the help and support of the at Hotel Group went above and beyond anything we could have hoped for. You always hope that your guests are treated with the respect and service that you are treated with when they are coming to your event, and we can say for certain, our guests were. From extending guests bookings; keeping rooms aside for guests who needed new bookings; collecting some guests with their chauffeur service; and blocking a penthouse out for our wedding suite went above and beyond the call of duty. The at Hotel Group has 5 properties which are all ranges, so it was perfect for our guests. The Penthouse that had been set aside for our wedding night and night before the wedding was AMAZING! When we look back now at what we ended up staying in for our wedding night, we could not be happier. It was on the top level at Waters Edge Resort, right in Airlie Beach and had an outside jacuzzi, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (which came in handy the night before the wedding as my 5 beautiful bridesmaids stayed with me), and it was the most perfect location to get ready with hair & make up the morning of the wedding. We have been speechless for the last 2 weeks as trying to find the words that express the heartfelt thanks we want to express to those local businesses who helped us have our dream wedding has been hard. What could have been a disaster to look back on and wish went differently, was turned into something so very special that we will remember forever, and it's because of local businesses like the at Hotel Group who are passionate about what they do and helping their community. Thank you so much.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    121
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
124
163
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay in this wonderful resort. We stayed in a two bed apartment, with our two teenagers. It was huge! Great Balcony and sensational views. Comfortable beds meant a good nights sleep. So easy to get to town from here, less than 5 minutes down the hill. We were in Airlie for a wedding so we didn't do the touristy things - this time. We can't wait to come back to explore it all and will definitely be staying at Waters Edge Resort on our return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed in 3br apt with kids 2&4. Plenty of room, very spacious, full kitchen facilities. Bed was quite comfortable and wonderful views. Apt was clean but had ant issues in the kitchen. Staff were wonderful, loved the guy on reception, very welcoming and friendly. Interacted with our children too. Even offered us a pool toy for the kids. Pools were wonderful, clean and great views. Great location, easy walk to main road and lagoon. NEEDS that supermarket accross the road that will be open soon as we had to hire a car to drive to the next suburb to shop.
Really felt at home here, would def stay again.

Room Tip: Higher you are the better the view. 5th floor was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived for our week in Airlie at the start of a cyclone, it was horrid! All water activities were cancelled due to bad weather and we had to stay in our room or wonder Airlies Main Street in the rain. But thank god our location was convenient, great view, close to everything and the staff were really helpful and accommodating. Shame about the weather as we came for the reef activities but would love to stay again with waters edge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at Waters Edge in March 2014.
Arrival check in was easy and staff were helpful.
Rooms and Balcony were big and views were amazing from the third floor apartment.
Everything was clean and self contained apartment was fully stocked with everything we needed, we also made use of the BBQ and Pool areas which were decent in size.
We also hired the hotel car and went to the shops, the process was simple for the car hire.
Best bit was that it was close to town. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on the 12 PM check out and pay the extra for the higher levels, the view is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a lovely 4 night stay at Waters Edge in February 2014 with my new husband who is an lower limb amputee. I chose Waters Edge because it was close to town and only a little way up the hill and even though the driveway gets you puffing it was manageable by myself and hubby.
We were upgrade to a private swimming pool access apartment and this was very nice. People were smoking on their veranda below the original unit allocated and we are both non smokers so asked to be moved. Thank you for accomodating us. The pool access unit turned out to be so much better for my husband. The three pools were clean and have a lovely outlook. We even went into the spa even though it was hot outside and in.

Reception were very helpful and arranged taxi pick up on our departures. Only think I would suggest is maybe some more cooking utensils in the unit as i did cook breakfast and one dinner. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pool Access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good stay during the Airlie Beach Regatta. Close to the action and the staff were very friendly.
Room was clean and spacious, nice balcony with a great view. Self-contained room, so service was at a minimum, but we knew that.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waters Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquility and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.