We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waters Edge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort

Save Saved
You added Waters Edge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Waters Edge Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Airlie Beach
Ayr
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waters Edge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at waters edge for 5 nights. Everything was just great, the view fabulous, the staff friendly and helpful. Close to absolutely everything, yet quiet and relaxing. The most enjoyable and relaxing holiday I have had.

Room Tip: Top floor, best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    101
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
103
147
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morwell, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What an AMAZING" view!!! We have the spa room and it's wonderfull everything plus xxx our bed is so so comfortable we have been sleeping in a lot :) transfers to and from all the Islands are fantastic, air conditioned and comfortable !!! A very relaxing fun filled holiday.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room a must :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in a two room apartment. It was just what the Dr ordered; a very large spacious dwelling with sensational views from the balcony of the water. The pool area is a great and the staff are all friendly. A very central location as everything we wanted was a short walk away.
I would like to revisit at some stage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at 2 resorts at Airlie Beach and this one was our faviourite. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with friends. The location was very close to all the shopping and restaurants, and the swimming pool area was great. Shopping, markets, swim in the pool then out for dinner....fantastic stay...would reccommend Waters Edge Resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Absoloutly loved the hotel. arrived early, offered early check in for $25 so chose to do that.
The rooms and balcony were huge with amazing views of the ocean. Air conditioning, washing machine, dryer and toiletries provided.
Close to the main street and the beach which is full of bars, places to eat and shops. lots of places to book trips if you havnet already booked, can book through the hotel too. The only negative is the steep driveway/ hill up to the hotel. This could create problems in accessibility for families with children in buggies and also wheelchair users. Other than that it was fantastic, the best hotel we stayed in in Australia :)
we went during schoolies, didnt create any problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our family of 5 booked 2 nights at Waters Edge Resort in early November after reading excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We chose a lower level apartment and were on the second floor, which still provides a good water view over palm trees. The room was great, a good internal layout, contemporary furnishings, a nice sized balcony and very clean. We did however find the apartment very noisy with the traffic from one of the main roads leading into Airlie Beach, Waterson Way, so close by. On the weekend we were staying at the resort, they were hosting a wedding, and the ceremony/reception etc were held outside around the pools. This was unfortunate for us, as although there was always a pool available to swim in, because they are all located so close to each other and aren’t particularly large, we felt we were encroaching on the celebrations – I was conscious I would not want a stranger’s 3 young kids noisily frolicking around at my wedding so we tried to stay out of their way as much as possible.
I should also mention that I booked our room by emailing a request for a quote via the hotel’s website. A very thorough and professional quote was provided with various options and we booked two nights over a Sat and Sun. Leading up to our stay I attempted to cancel our Sunday night, and only have the one night’s accommodation on the Saturday night – it was at this point that I was told Waters Edge do not accept a one night’s booking for a Saturday night. I went back to our thorough quote, and there was no mention whatsoever that the rate being offered was a ‘two night minimum rate’. There were details regarding standard penalties for cancellations within x number of days etc, however no mention of a two night minimum rate. I went onto the Water’s Edge website, no mention of this either. Numerous frustrating conversations with the reception staff member failed to get us anywhere. In the end we let it go – we didn’t want to spoil our holiday, but I think this, combined with the fact that if you wanted an early check-in in, be prepared to pay an extra $25; if you wanted a late check-out, be prepared to pay an extra $50 - yet there was no flexibility or good will whatsoever when the pools and restaurant were unavailable at times for guests due to a wedding, and certainly a very disappointing level of customer service in regards to the ‘two night minimum’ issue we encountered, for a resort which proudly promotes itself as a 4.5 star “premier holiday location”.

Room Tip: Request a room as far away as possible from Waterson Way. Lower levels still provide good water vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Checked into the Waters Edge Accommodation in Airlie beach last week and I could not fault the room, location and overall experience we had. Reception staff were excellent and the Restaurant on site was very good.

Great Stay.

Room Tip: First Floor has direct access to the pool level from your balcony. Rooms higher up have excellent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Address: 4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waters Edge Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquility and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.