We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of at Water's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added at Water's Edge Resort to your Saves list
at Water's Edge Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Airlie Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had 3 nights at Waters Edge and we thought they were pretty good. The service was very warm and friendly and we were given fantastic advice about tours. The room was clean and tidy and spacious for two. It wasn't super busy when we stayed and having 3 pools meant that I could choose an empty pool to swim in - the pools are not large so I would imagine that they could get crowded pretty quickly. I didn't like the spa but I'm not a good judge as its pretty rare that I find a spa pool that doesn't look a bit dirty to me.

One strange thing we noticed was that the bed was on rollers so if you sat down quickly on the bed it swung away from the wall ( bit weird). If you are going to use the in room washer and dryer be warned that they are super noisy - we did a load of washing at night and I was expecting the neighbours to complain it was so loud! Lastly - the location is awesome! It's a two minute walk to all the shops in Airlie so those who don't like the sound of climbing the hill to other properties in Orchid Drive will like that Waters Edge sits right at the bottom of the hill ( its only a tiny trek up the drive of the resort and then they have a lift).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    135
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
134
172
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, Victoria. au
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Views were great, the rooms were tidy and clean, main was wonderful suite, second was great however the bed takes up a lot of room, third was two singles, the spa on our deck was leaking and in poor condition; could not use it as it would not heat up, aircon in one room did not work, only enough washing powder/liquid for two days and we were staying 4, nowhere to hang 4 towels in bathroom, nowhere to hang pool towels either, venue pool were cold however were very inviting and had a wonderful view. Venue bbq was hard to start and then burnt everything.

Reception staff were rude at all times and then they would not let the bride and groom have a late checkout

It is mountian goat country to walk from the main street to Waters Edge, however it is close to all the shops.

they were painting when we were leaving, so maybe there is some upgradeing being done now, i would consider this venue for our next stay in the area.

As a wedding venue it was totally wonderful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for a week in a room with a wonderful view.The room was clean and spacious with a midweek surprise room service. Our soft furnishings were a bit tired and needed to be recovered.
We found the staff to be very understated;not unfriendly ;just uninvolved.We soon realized that we were lucky to stay close to the town in such a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at waters edge for our 30th wedding anniversary. Had a wonderful time. Great area. Very neat & tidy with spacios rooms. Great views of both sunrise & sunset. Wild turkeys roaming. Central location to everything. Very friendly & helpful staff. Booked any where we wanted to go, advised the best options to take etc.
Fantastic. We will back again.

Room Tip: Book facing east to get the sunrise & boat harbour at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose Waters Edge as part of a package deal for our honeymoon. We absolutely LOVED staying there and hated the day we had to leave! The concierge was fabulous and EXTREMELY helpful when we arrived. My husband had chipped a tooth before our flight and suffered immensly during the flight because of the cabin pressure. Upon arriving at the hotel, we asked the concierge if he knew where the nearest dentist was, and he sat and rang around all the dentists in the area until he got my hubby into one close by the next day.
He also helped us be ready for the daytrips we had included in our package, letting us know where we'd be picked up by the bus etc
The room was great. Beautiful view out over Airlie Beach and the room was clean and well presented.The pools were fabulous and loved the infinity pool which we swam in everyday.The only thing that is worth mentioning is that its a bit of a walk down a hill (and back up again)to the main strip of Airlie so perhaps something to consider if older traveller or in a wheelchair etc. However, because it is a little further away from the main strip, it is also quieter and away from the backpackers hostels.
We would definitely stay here if we ever went to Airlie again.

Room Tip: Water views from higher rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Waters Edge for our last night of our holiday. We were pleasantly surprised at the space in our 1 bedroom unit and enjoyed the great view of Airlie Beach and the wonderful sunset from the balcony. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful as we had to depart early in the morning to catch our plane. The fabulous food, ambience and poolside location of the restaurant also added to an enjoyable stay at Waters Edge. Earlier in our holiday we had stayed 4 days at another resort higher up the hill but wished that we had spent that time at Waters Edge instead! Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very clean tidy rooms. Very spacious. Kitchen is equipped well. Great views. Great service. Nicely themed entrance into reception; gardens and pool areas. Best of the best location!!! I will be staying there again. Paid the extra $25 for a late checkout, well worth it for a nice sleepin.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
15.8 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#2 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#10 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#5 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage at Water's Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.