We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Airlie Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Airlie Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Second time staying here, found it good the first time so booked again. We got a good deal on a stay for 3 nights, pay for 2. That made it a good enough price compared to lot of hotels in the area. We stayed in an executive twin room which was clean and spacious and had a lovely big balcony. We only ate at the Mexican restaurant on site, which was quite good and relatively reasonably priced. The Thai restaurant on the main road was lovely, and good value!! The pool was a little disappointing, but then we were using the hotel as a base for boat trips etc, so it wasnt a great problem. Reception was functional and worked well, on-site parking included free for the hotel rooms. Overall I would recommend for the price we paid, however - if we had paid the full price for 3 nights, I might have expected a little bit more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    88
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
96
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently & had a great time.

Reception staff at check in were really friendly & helpful. They seemed to be able to anticipate every question & told us before we had to ask. Just wonderful.

Our room faced the beach, which was brilliant. Cleanliness was great, bed was comfortable, air conditioning worked well. There was plenty of coffee, tea & sugar put out. And cold milk in the fridge.

There is free undercover parking. The only issue I had was the WiFi, it didn't seem to be able to connect. We had our own WiFi stick so it wasn't a problem. But take note, if it's important to you. We ate at Capers & Mangrove Jacks (which belong to the hotel) and the staff were just as friendly as the reception staff.

All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Booked on the spot as we suddenly needed an extra night in Airlie Beach and we were told this was e best hotel around and was 4-5*.... It wasnt at all.
Room was pleasant enough but not exactly amazing and not as clean as I wound have liked. The room did its job and we slept well.
The staff at reception weren't attentive and I was quite distressed when they said they'd "hold" our bags for us for the rest of day after we checked out but then proceeded to leave them on full show right by the front door of th hotel whilst they were in the back room and bobbing about. Maybe it's my mentality and fear of losing my luggage but I wasn't very happy about their lack of concern for all my suitcases!
Also we werent made aware of the early checkout time (10am) until we checked at 10:50 if it was 11.... Woops! Luckily they didn't seem to mind that we were an hour late!
Good location for a few bars/restaurants/shop & the beach but perhaps being spoilt by actual 4/5* hotels has tainted my view on this one...

Room Tip: Watch the sunset wit a room on the front overlooking the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was central although Airlie is a small town but you dont have far to walk to catch the bus outa town. The hotel was very clean if a little dated but exceptional value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had lost my engagement ring on this leg of our trip and the girl at reception was very helpful at giving me information on were the neareast police station was and the telephone number.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The rooms were exceptional for the price, and the hotel convenient for all needs during a holiday. We will return but next time will get a room that makes the most of the location and provides a view to enjoy. The staff were welcoming and very helpful - all you could ask for!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for one night prior to our yacht trip; the time of day and the hotels central location were the main factors for staying there. I felt the rooms were over-priced for what they were. However, the hotel was clean, the staff efficient and parking was ample. Overall it was functional but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlie Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airlie Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Hotel Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.