We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Airlie Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Airlie Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Without doubt the best hotel in Airlie Beach. Location superb ample off road parking. very good bars and restaurants, I would recommend this hotel to anyone..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
102
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Airlie beach hotel has a motel with real hotel standards. We just wanted a quite reasonable place to sleep after out sailing trip and before leaving the next morning for a early flight from Hamilton Island. After checking a few B&B's that were full and overpriced, we landed on the motel section of Arilie beach hotel, stated to be basic in standard, but turned out to be quite modern and well equiped. We checked our luggage in prior to departing on our sailing trip, days ahead of our booked night. Nothing was charged for this, and we were even lent complimentary towles from the hotel to bring on the trip. Back from the boat, we found a delicious room, with a huge bathroom, nice AC, fridge with cold water and cold glasses in it, a water boiler and an iron. The hotel also offers their own coin operated washing machines and dryers on their premises.

Friendly staff and nice relaxed atmosphere. Great bed.

Busses to Shute harboar leaved from just outside the hotel connecting to all departing transfer-ferries connected to all departing flights from Hamilton Island airport.

Only dissapointment was the connected 'award winning' restaurant 'Capers'. I guess we should have leaned that 'award winning' means stay away.

  • Liked — Modern, clean and afforable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

A great, clean hotel. I stayed in the motel part but it was a great deal for what I got. The room was huge and clean. It is in a great part of Airlie beach, although it is a little far from the Lagoon. But in this town, that only means a 10-15 min walk. Some of the staff were not great, but the hotel itself is a great place to stay, especially considering the other options I saw in Airlie Beach.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Distance from lagoon
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Of all the hotels I stayed at in Australia, this was the only one that disppointed. The location -- right in downtown Airlie Beach -- was great, but the hotel interior was dated and run-down, and the staff was fairly unaccomodating, although generally friendly about their unwillingness to help us out.

If you expect this to be much nicer than a standard, basic motel, you are going to be disappointed. If you're looking for quality accomodation, the hotels and resorts in the Whitsundays are probably more promising.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Asbolutely loved this hotel! The staff were friendly, it had a luggage store (free of charge) for when we went on a 3 days boat trip. The rooms and beds are spacious, and views are great - try and ask for an ocean view on 3rd floor if possible! There are 3 restaurants close to the hotel which are afilliated with them and are reasonably priced with massive meals! Airlie Beach is lovely, and it was well worth paying $179 per night for this lovely hotel. It was very clean, fresh towels each day with a tv and hairdryer in each room. Best hotel we stayed in in 3 weeks!

  • Liked — the location and views and cleanliness
  • Disliked — truthfully nothing - really couldn't fault a thing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

we were booked into the motel section and when we arrived were extremely disappointed the room was supposed to be 3.5 star wouldn't give it 2 the room was dingey, had an odour of cocroach spray the beds were ancient. The did upgrade us to the hotel which was alot better but i would not recommend the motel section,

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

I was originally booked to stay in the Motel part (3 star) of the Airlie Beach Hotel, which looked quite clean and comfortable, but chose to upgrade to the 4 star Hotel on a special and couldn't have been happier - fantastic views, fabulously clean rooms, and all the amenities one could ask for! The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in helping me set up my Whitsunday tours. And, the hotel in conveniently located at the end of the main road in Airlie Beach (no big hill to walk up like some of the other hotels in the area), easily five minutes walking distance to all restaurants and nightlife. The hotel is a bit more on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for! I would recommend it for those trying to avoid backpacker accomodations, but still wanting access to the fun night life (20's-30's) of Airlie Beach. Stay in the islands for more calm, quiet...and overpriced accomodations.

  • Liked — Hotel Views and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlie Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Airlie Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Hotel Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.