We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portside Whitsunday

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Portside Whitsunday to your Saves list
Portside Whitsunday
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had an amazing time didn't want to leave our room as it was so nice. The pool had a great view and even had a BBQ area for public use. Great room, Great location, Great customer service, Great holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us ! So please we were able to assist you on your visit to the beautiful Whitsundays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    20
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
55
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few days and it was fantastic. Colleen and John are so friendly and loved the rooftop spas. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here, I know I'll be back for sure. It is within walking distance of all the best bars, restaurants and beaches

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

stayed here for a few days.found the appartments very clean and spacious .colleen spent time showing us round .very attractive appartments with lovely view,we shared this 2 bedroomed with friends .all amenities covered which is important when traveling round,boasted a pool that overlooked road,but still high enough to be private.highly recommended.!

Room Tip: would say everyone would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Portside. Thank you for your kind review and yes, I have to agree, we do have a wonderful, heated swimming pool !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

A really nice stay. No complaints. The owner took us up to the room and everything was clean and tidy. The wet edge pool was beautiful. So close to everything and a really good price. I would recommend other people to stay there. View isn't as nice because of the Port of Airlie but much nicer than my everyday view.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We cant add much to the previous reviews, this is a professionally run establishment with friendly staff yet with a sense that they run a tight ship. SInce we were travelling with two children we felt secure and homely.
The google earth image I assure you is very misleading as what is pictured as a large hole is now a green park and remarkable new marina with shops and eateries.
We had a large two bedroom apartment with separate rooftop area with a spa and dining table.
The spa was a treat in-itself.
This gave us a massive amount of space for less $$ compared to having to rent two rooms on one of the islands (as most rooms on the islands are restricted to max 3 occupancy due fire regulations)
So plenty of room for the kids to find their own space to chill/text/social media after a days activities. Wifi was variable but managment are aware. The kids undertook a scuba course at a local school so we initially booked for 6 nights. We extended our stay as we felt relaxed and at home.
A (luxury) home away from home in a locale that was safe enough for kids to wander into town, a good view that you didn't have to climb to the point of exhaustion to enjoy...the day-trips provided a smorgasbord of eye candy anyway! A helpful supply of DVDs from the front office on the nights the kids were tired.

The road noise is the only negative, but a fair trade-off for having an ice cream parlour, bottleshop, dominos pizza and rum bar within 120 seconds stroll of the front door!

Mike B

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was wonderul seeing you and your family experience the wonders of the Whitsundays. I am sure the children will have amasing memories of attaining their dive Certificates in the lovely Coral Sea - where better to do it!! It was an absoute pleasure meeting such a lovely family. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Aus :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter and I loved our stay at PORTSIDE Whitsunday. We Would definitely stay there again. Our apartment was spotless and we had an incredible view. Colleen and John were welcoming and helpful and are truly amazing people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Thank you, Colleen and John for our lovely week at Portside Whitsunday. It was perfect.

The apartments are in a great location, a short stroll from the shops, restaurants, lagoon and bus stop with no steep climb involved.

Our apartment, No.10 was situated on the top floor, with an amazing view and its own private terrace and jacuzzi. The apartment was spotless and furnished to a high standard throughout.
The pool was gorgeous, perfect temperature and cleaned regularly.

Colleen gave us a warm, friendly welcome and both her and John were always willing to help and advise us whenever we needed them.

We enjoyed the trips that Colleen recommended, Manta Ray Diving and Crocodile Safari .

We hope to return to Airlie Beach, and will definitely stay at Portside Whitsunday again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Portside Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside Whitsunday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.