We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the Whitsundays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portside Whitsunday

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Portside Whitsunday to your Saves list
Portside Whitsunday
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
1 review
“Best place to stay in the Whitsundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had such a great experience staying at Portside Whitsunday during our recent girls trip to Airlie Beach. The location relative to the shops and lagoon was perfect, no hills to climb & the managers of Portside, Colleen and John, were welcoming and helpful during our entire stay. Our apartment was also spotless and everything was in working order. Having previously stayed in February, I am now assured that the standards and service at Portside Whitsunday are consistent and dependable. Huge thanks to Colleen and John for another fantastic stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Josie. It was wonderful seeing your smiling faces again! So pleased you enjoyed your return visit, as we too enjoyed your company :-) John & I look forward to extending our Portside hospitality to all you lovely ladies again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
54
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Portside encompasses a series of beautifully designed and decorated holiday apartments located just outside the town centre of Airlie Beach (close enough to walk, but far enough that the resort is feels exclusive). John and Colleen, the managers, were wonderfully hospitable and genuinely cared for each and every guest. The managers were able to book activities/trips at reception and advised on some fantastic restaurants and tours.
Beyond the exceptional service were the beautiful amenities, granite beach tops complementing the beautiful furniture and the stunning views. The pool was a standout; a 16 metre salt water, wet edge pool offering spectacular views of the marina and ocean. With a small number of apartments located on the property, the pool was almost always secluded.

I definitely recommend people visit Portside and experience it, reasonably priced, award winning and simply a delight. I know that I will definitely be a repeat guest at Portside.

Room Tip: All rooms (as far as I knew) offer oceanic/marina views and most offer views of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
What a pleasure it was having two such lovely young ladies stay with us. We love seeing our wonderful amenities being utilised.Totally enjoyed our chats and hearing your reports back on the fun tours you experience - definately think you will be up for Sky diving next visit!! (sorry won't be joining you - that height thing being a problem lol) John and I wish you all the very best in your new employment and very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nambour
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

the apartments are exellently maintainted with everything you need or want in then. we have stayed here several times and wouldn't stay anywhere else. colleen and john are very freindly and helpful which also adds to the experience. very short walk to restaruants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Anja, it was an absolute pleasure seeing you both again :-) We wish you all the very best in your work relocation and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Portside Whitsunday. The managers, John and Colleen, were hospitable, friendly and frankly a joy to visit with. Apartments were spotless, spacious and reasonably price. Located near (2 minute level walk) but not in the touristy, backpacker town was a plus. Only complaint was some daytime traffic noise, but at night peaceful. Pool was overlooking the yacht basin and we had a spacious balcony with same view. Got internet and kitchen was fully equipped. Right across form fave restaurant in town-Fish D'vine.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Joe and Karen for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting such well travelled, fun people! Thank you also for returning your room keys so promptly :-) I am still awaiting the "Maggie Creamy Seafood Soup" to test drive your amasing Seafood Chowder recipe.. it appears to have gotten lost betweem NZ and Airlie..... not to worry, our son is flying over on the 16th November and is under instruction to bring as many packets as he can fit in his bag! Thank you again and we look forward to catching up with you both - in either of our wonderful countries .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Portside Airlie Beach is a great place the stay. We stayed in a 2bedroom apartment with our own outdoor spa and super ocean and town views. Apartments where very spacious and clean. Two minute walk into town. Colleen & John (Managers) where ever so helpful booking all our tours and transfers. Nothing was any problem. If there is a better place to stay in Airlie we haven't found it.
Thank-you Colleen & John for a wonderful holiday from DI Robyn & Di
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Absolute pleasure having 3 such lovely ladies staying with us!!! Really missing our daily chats ... so many laughs ! We do hope you are able to visit us again with your families, then you will be able to check out our awesome new King Beds ! Thank you for being such fun, wonderful people :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Husband and i stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for a week in August .The apartment had it's own rooftop sundeck and juccuzzi .
The apartment and sundeck had spectacular views over both the harbour and the ocean. The main shopping precinct is a short 3 minute stroll.
The owners, John & Colleen make you feel very welcomed and the apartments are spacious, modern and very private. Also the beautiful horizon pool is heated.
We will be booking here again real soon

Room Tip: Ask for a room that comes with a rooftop as they can close off bedrooms to suit the number of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Portside. The Whitsundays really did turn fantastic weather on for your stay so you could enjoy your lovely rooftop & Jacuzzi. We look forward to seeing you both again, to enjoy more of Airlie Beach and the beautiful Whitsundays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Portside Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside Whitsunday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.