We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only place to stay in airlie beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portside Whitsunday

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Portside Whitsunday to your Saves list
Portside Whitsunday
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nambour
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the only place to stay in airlie beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

the apartments are exellently maintainted with everything you need or want in then. we have stayed here several times and wouldn't stay anywhere else. colleen and john are very freindly and helpful which also adds to the experience. very short walk to restaruants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Anja, it was an absolute pleasure seeing you both again :-) We wish you all the very best in your work relocation and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    20
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
55
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Portside Whitsunday. The managers, John and Colleen, were hospitable, friendly and frankly a joy to visit with. Apartments were spotless, spacious and reasonably price. Located near (2 minute level walk) but not in the touristy, backpacker town was a plus. Only complaint was some daytime traffic noise, but at night peaceful. Pool was overlooking the yacht basin and we had a spacious balcony with same view. Got internet and kitchen was fully equipped. Right across form fave restaurant in town-Fish D'vine.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Joe and Karen for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting such well travelled, fun people! Thank you also for returning your room keys so promptly :-) I am still awaiting the "Maggie Creamy Seafood Soup" to test drive your amasing Seafood Chowder recipe.. it appears to have gotten lost betweem NZ and Airlie..... not to worry, our son is flying over on the 16th November and is under instruction to bring as many packets as he can fit in his bag! Thank you again and we look forward to catching up with you both - in either of our wonderful countries .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Portside Airlie Beach is a great place the stay. We stayed in a 2bedroom apartment with our own outdoor spa and super ocean and town views. Apartments where very spacious and clean. Two minute walk into town. Colleen & John (Managers) where ever so helpful booking all our tours and transfers. Nothing was any problem. If there is a better place to stay in Airlie we haven't found it.
Thank-you Colleen & John for a wonderful holiday from DI Robyn & Di
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Absolute pleasure having 3 such lovely ladies staying with us!!! Really missing our daily chats ... so many laughs ! We do hope you are able to visit us again with your families, then you will be able to check out our awesome new King Beds ! Thank you for being such fun, wonderful people :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Husband and i stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for a week in August .The apartment had it's own rooftop sundeck and juccuzzi .
The apartment and sundeck had spectacular views over both the harbour and the ocean. The main shopping precinct is a short 3 minute stroll.
The owners, John & Colleen make you feel very welcomed and the apartments are spacious, modern and very private. Also the beautiful horizon pool is heated.
We will be booking here again real soon

Room Tip: Ask for a room that comes with a rooftop as they can close off bedrooms to suit the number of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Portside. The Whitsundays really did turn fantastic weather on for your stay so you could enjoy your lovely rooftop & Jacuzzi. We look forward to seeing you both again, to enjoy more of Airlie Beach and the beautiful Whitsundays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is the perfect holiday location. Relaxing, clean, and a great location. I was a solo traveller on this trip but felt safe and comfortable the whole time. Colleen and John, the managers of this resort, made me feel so welcome, and were ridiculously friendly and helpful. It was a delight to chat with them each day. The location of Portside is ideal, being close to everything, without being right amongst it, with gorgeous sea views. The apartments have everything you will need, including a gorgeous heated pool and a lovely sense of a home away from home within close proximity of the extremely beautiful Whitsundays. I can't wait to get back to Airlie and in particular Portside. Brilliant trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Was an absolute pleasure meeting you Karissa!! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Portside is an excellent place to chill-out and if you wish to be more active (Ocean Rafting!!) everything is right at our door step. It is great seeing guests enjoying the heated pool, which is a hit during the cooler months. We look forward to your return, hopefully with your family next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent location. Owners very friendly and helpful. The pool is heated and I mostly had it to myself. My apartment had a beautiful seaview and good facilities. I had a studio apartment so no washing machine but there is a laundromat closeby. Recommend the Sushi place on the Esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
It was a pleasure assisting you during your stay with us. Yes, our location is great! No hills to climb, 50m to restaurants and lovely Marina and Coral sea views. Our heated pool is a wonderful asset, especially with the unseasonal cooler weather North Queensland has been experiencing . We do hope you are enjoying your continued travels around Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Portside Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside Whitsunday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.