We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shingley Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shingley Beach Resort to your Saves list
Shingley Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 1/2 year old and 12 month old. The rooms were cool and clean with a self contained kitchen - it was equipped with everything we needed, dryer and washer. The pools were lovely and a clear 'selling' point for us. We loved that it was across the road from a beach and a scenic walk to Airlie Beach. The added bonuses of toys for hire, movies and books available was wonderful. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Glad we were able to provide items for the children , we try and cater for all , we think it's a great spot with the pleasant walks around and the beach side park .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
67
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Clean establishment with lovely view. good air-conditioning and fans. comfortable beds and linen. Steep climb to apartments (rather ask for apartment lower down). Average service. I would have thought that they would at least supply toilet paper for the amount you pay per night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Lovely little place to rest and recuperate after a Whitsunday boat trip!

Our standard studio was well equipped and really comfortable. View from balcony across Abell Point marina very pleasant. Staff really friendly and made for a more personal stay. Two pools are a nice touch and guest laundry free to use.

Only downside is the walk into town which can be a bit unbearable in the midday heat, but as others have mentioned, nicely situated away from the hustle and bustle. However we stayed at another, more central hotel before our boat trip which wasn't noisy at all, so swings and roundabouts.

Overall a great stay in extremely pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Sandra our reception manager was delighted with your comments , she is an excellent part of our Team.

We have had a few comments about the distance into Airlie Village ALONG THE WATERFRONT BOARDWALK, a pleasant 15 minute walk plenty of scenery as you watch the marina activity, a few watering holes for those who need sustenance along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for five nights in a studio apartment. It had a good size balcony overlooking the Able point marina, excellent if you are doing a jetski tour or travelling out to the islands on the ferry. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. the view was lovely and it is pleasant 15 to 20 minute leasurely boardwalk to the lagoon or a ten minute walk to the shopping centre. We found this accomodation to be perfect as it is nestled in a quiet bay away from the hussle and bussel of the centre of town but close enough that we didn't need to drive to get there. Highly recommend this accommodation and we will definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding and we were very happy with the size of the apartments, we had a one bedroom apartment. We also loved the balcony that overlooked the pool and harbour. The first night we arrived the air con was not working in the lounge room which was very upsetting as it was quite a hot night but Nigel the manager assured us that someone would be in the next day to fix it and he was true to his word as it was fixed the next morning so that was a relief!
The apartments are a bit older but they are still very well looked after and the pool area is also nice with a BBQ set up there too.
I feel that they should replace the towels every day but I also understand that they are not serviced apartments. I just think for the price they should have this as an option free of charge.
It is quite a walk into town but when not too hot it is a nice walk on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you don't mind stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is ok, but it is about a 20 minute walk from everythinG: shops, restaurants etc, at night it feels very secluded. However, it is right at the Able Point Marina, so if you are planning a trip around the islands, it is a quite good starting point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I thought this place was really poor value for money!
It is a 20 minute walk into- fine during the day as it is a nice walk past the marina. However at night there is no lighting and feels isolated and scary! Therefore I would say this is not good for elderly people or girls without transport!
We were on holiday from the uk and Shingley beach felt like a total let down. It felt like you were staying in someone's house and not apartments/ hotel. It feels quite run down/ musty.
The accommodation was unserviceable. This ruined the holiday feel a bit for me as it was disappointing to not have beds made/ rubbish taken out etc. if you didn't clean up on departure you would be charged a cleaning fee! This was disappointing and made our check out quite stressful.
When we were there there were no bar/restaurant facilities available. There was no atmosphere to this place at all. We didn't see any other guests and we stayed there for two nights!!!
Service was poor. Unfriendly staff and not offered an early check in or much assistance.
Really do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We’re sorry you seem very disappointed in our complex and Airlie Beach in general.

The Council waterfront boardwalk is well lit at night; I ride my bike along it most evenings. We checked the records and there has not been any incident recorded on the boardwalk in the past 7 years.
We are not serviced apartments, like the majority of self contained apartment blocks on the Eastern Australian Seaboard. We can provide this service but at an extra cost to the guest.
As a senior contributor you would have checked the past review headings on Trip Advisor , more recent ones ; “ Serenity with a view”, “ Close enough for the action and far enough away for peace and quiet” , “ Good Spot” . We are located at the quiet end of town, we don’t have a Rowdy Bar or Restaurant the closet one is Sorrento’s an 8 minute leisurely walk on the Marina. A better location it seems would have been in the main street near the back packer bars and night clubs right where the action is!
We and the majority of our guests prefer some peace and quiet in the evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shingley Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingley Beach Resort

Address: Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shingley Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shingley Beach Resort offers a large variety of affordable accommodation overlooking the Abel Point Marina and magical Whitsunday islands. Located less than 50 metres from the waterfront, adjacent to Abel Point Marina, nestled in a natural amphitheatre of trees and parkland. Shingley Beach Resort is serene and the perfect Resort for your next Whitsunday Holiday, Function or Wedding. The resort is close enough to walk to the Main Village of Airlie Beach yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night. Shingley Beach Resort specialises in self-contained holiday apartments, which feature private balconies overlooking Shingley Beach, The Whitsunday Islands and Abel Point Marina, the hub of all the Reef and Island tours leaving almost from your doorstep. You can relax in the spacious comfort of one of the 32 self-contained holiday apartments for either a short or long stay, an ideal base to explore the Whitsunday Islands and The Great Barrier Reef. The facilities at Shingley Beach Resort include a large 18 metre lap/ diving pool, 2 small plunge pools both with poolside BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shingley Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingley Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shingley Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.