We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitsunday Vista Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added at Whitsunday Vista Resort to your Saves list
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New South Wales Australia
1 review
“Whitsunday Vista Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

This Resort was a level walk to Airlie Beach town, we even had the bus at the door if you didn't want the 7 minute walk, the resort is very convenient. Level walk in the other direction is the Tavern for cheap pub meals there is also an onsite Thai restaurant.
(Beware that 90% of the other apartments in Arilie Beach are a walk up the hill side with no transport to get to them unless you take a taxi. (the others don't tell you that when you book)).

This resort had accommodation for families with separate bedrooms (two bathrooms) and views that are unbelievable. The separate 1 bedroom apts are the best, plus you get the extra sofa in each for additional people. Or if you have a big group like us we had co-joined 1 bedroom apts with fantastic views from the front units. Ask for the front rooms with views.

The rooms are spacious, clean & modern, beautiful views out over the Whitsundays from the balconies. We relaxed and read around the pool when we were exhaused after boats trips.

Highly recommended for location, views, accommodation and cost.

  • Liked — Separate 1 Bedroom apts
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    66
    33
    22
    21
See reviews for
31
109
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

Totally agree with last review which i read!
looked so so lovely on the web but in reality was not so good.

From the outside this place looks lovely but inside is not as good and right next to it they are developing a new hotel.

The room was quite small and cramped and we were on a
3 week holiday and had 2 big cases and a holdall, we struggled to move round the room.

The bathroom was quite dirty considering we had to wait before checking into our room because it was being "cleaned".

The bathroom was quite grubby and when you turned the spa bath on some kind of black grim came out of the jets! not very romantic!!!!

I must say out of all of this negativity there are some posotives. Airlie beach is beautiful and such an amazing place man made lagoon is 2nd to none and the view the hotel offers are fantastic post card like!

You must take a trip to whitsunday island (dont bother with the others)as it is the most beautiful island and we totally loved it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

My fiance and I stayed here for 5 nights towards the end of December and were dissapointed. We were told it has a four star rating but personally it would bearly rate it a 3 star in my books.
It is bearly 4 years old and is showing signs of deterioration on the interior. The curtains were comming off their tracks and we had to climb up and down on a chair to open and close them each day and they had mildew on them through lack of ventilation in the bathroom. We had a bayview spa suite. The bathroom windows had curtains that were roughly cut off so they were much to short and fraying and people could see in from the other side of the road. There was no ventilation in the bathroom so it became like a sauna and you were sweating as soon as you got out of the shower. The shower was over the spa so you had to climb into the spa to stand and have a shower(next to the window with the uneven and the way to short curtains. The shower curtain that separated the shower/spa with the bathroom that also contained the toilet was missing, the hooks were there but no curtain, so the floor became a huge puddle of water and soaked your clothes that you had on the floor because there was no where to put them while you were in the shower/spa. The water from the shower also splashed onto all the dry towels on the rail and soaked them, so nothing was safe from the water in the bathroom.
We requested a shower curtain 3 times during our stay and was told each time that it will be put up for us but it never did and we were given extra towels to soak up the big puddles on the floor, instead of having the curtain we needed. There was a liquid soap dispenser above the shower/spa which was hard to apply to your body without a flannel or face washer. A cake of soap would have been better.
The toiletries were cheap, small and very basic, bearly enough quantity for two people to use. Not what I would expect from a 4 star resort. Minimum amount of towels except to soak up puddles on floor. Kitchenette facilities extremely minimal and basic and there was hardly enough room for the table and chairs in the room that it blocked the access to the wardrobe. There was also lots of some kind of wasp nests or cocoons on many room doors.
The only good point of the room was the balcony and the view, which we did enjoy in the evenings.
Don't be fooled by the exterior of the resort. It does look impressive from the outside but not good on the inside. Not really a resort at all. The construction was still happening next door but never disturbed us at all.
Next time we visit Airlie Beach we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

Please note that this hotel is right next to a construction site where they were drilling blasting and digging the rock face. The noise was terrible and we couldnt hear ourselves talk so we checked out after 1st night. We had a Bayview spa suite which was tiny. The spa tub was tiny (more like a shub) two people could not sit in it without legs dangling over the sides. Also no ventillation in bathroom so you had to open windows which allowed you to hear the constant stream of truck and heavy traffic that whizzed by from 6.30am to 6pm. also it was a bit of a walking distance to the main airlie centre. it took us about 15 mins not the 7 suggested from their web site. The construction was noted on several tourisim sites as being over late July but we arrived in early Sept and it seemed to be just started.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

My husband and I stayed at this resort last summer.

The caretakers of the resort were friendly and great to chat to organising our tours and nothing being too much trouble.

The only downside was our room had a terrible droning noise - probably spa pumps echoing in our room most evenings. Our bedroom window was facing a walkway and people walking past would bang on the glass at all hours of the morning.

I did however love lying on the couch under the fan just looking at the gorgeous view.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2004

We had a stunning view across the bay from our living room. The rooms are spacious, well-presented and modern.

The only downside was the location, a five minute walk from Airlie Beach along the side of a desolate stretch of busy main road. It is definitely not a pleasant walk into the resort, although it is possible to drive as there is plenty of parking.

This is a good value hotel which is very well-presented.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2004

Found this resort by chance. The rooms are spacious, clean & modern, beautiful views out over the Whitsundays from the balconies (and in our case from the living room too!) The managers were exceptionally friendly and helpful and they took pride in the standard of their apartments. They offered us an excellent rate to boot! Highly recommend this one if you are visiting Airlie...you will not be disappointed. In our opinion probably the best hotel at the best price. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#29 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#30 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#8 of 16 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airlie Apartments
Airlie Apartments
#7 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Address: 1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage at Whitsunday Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.